Is it too late to become a police officer?
Short answer: no force says so.
No Australian police force publishes an upper age limit for new recruits. Several say so outright: Victoria, Tasmania, the NT and the AFP all state there is no maximum age. Your age matters in other ways, though. It affects how long a career you can have before a compulsory retirement age, how hard the fitness test feels, and how big a pay cut you can carry through training.
- Age rule as published
- Aged 18 or over (no maximum age stated).
- Age rule as published
- Aged 18 or over, no upper age limit.
- Age rule as published
- Age: at least 17.5 to apply and 18 to start recruit training. No upper age limit found (compulsory retirement is at 60).
- Age rule as published
- Aged 17 years 6 months to apply (18 on appointment).
- Age rule as published
- Aged 17 or over at application (from the job ad and public summaries; not verified on the SAPOL eligibility page).
- Age rule as published
- Apply from 17.5 years; must be 18 before starting the recruit course; no upper age limit (compulsory retirement at 65).
- Age rule as published
- At least 18 at commencement of training; no upper age limit.
- Age rule as published
- Age 18 or over, with no upper age limit (must pass health checks).
| Force | Age rule as published |
|---|---|
| NSW Police | Aged 18 or over (no maximum age stated). |
| Victoria Police | Aged 18 or over, no upper age limit. |
| QPS | Age: at least 17.5 to apply and 18 to start recruit training. No upper age limit found (compulsory retirement is at 60). |
| WA Police | Aged 17 years 6 months to apply (18 on appointment). |
| SAPOL | Aged 17 or over at application (from the job ad and public summaries; not verified on the SAPOL eligibility page). |
| Tasmania Police | Apply from 17.5 years; must be 18 before starting the recruit course; no upper age limit (compulsory retirement at 65). |
| NT Police | At least 18 at commencement of training; no upper age limit. |
| AFP | Age 18 or over, with no upper age limit (must pass health checks). |
SA's age rule comes from a job advert and search summaries; it is not confirmed on SAPOL's eligibility page.
Recruiters in several forces actively say they want life experience. What they mean is maturity, people skills and judgement, which you may have built in another career. Our police age limit guide covers the minimum ages and retirement rules in detail.
The standards are the same at every age
Joining at 45 doesn't change the bar. You'll sit the same entrance exam, the same fitness test, the same medical and psych assessment, and the same academy course as a school leaver.
How long a career can you have if you join later?
Three forces have a compulsory retirement age we could confirm: Queensland at 60, Tasmania at 65 and the NT at 67. The NT raised its age from 65 in December 2023. The AFP's current Act has no compulsory retirement age, and we found no age-based rule in NSW's current Police Act. Victoria, WA and SA have not been confirmed either way.
Join at 30
- QLD (retire at 60)
- 30 years
- Tasmania (65)
- 35 years
- NT (67)
- 37 years
- AFP
- No compulsory age found
Join at 40
- QLD (retire at 60)
- 20 years
- Tasmania (65)
- 25 years
- NT (67)
- 27 years
- AFP
- No compulsory age found
Join at 50
- QLD (retire at 60)
- 10 years
- Tasmania (65)
- 15 years
- NT (67)
- 17 years
- AFP
- No compulsory age found
Join at 55
- QLD (retire at 60)
- 5 years
- Tasmania (65)
- 10 years
- NT (67)
- 12 years
- AFP
- No compulsory age found
| Age when you join | QLD (retire at 60) | Tasmania (65) | NT (67) | AFP |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Join at 30 | 30 years | 35 years | 37 years | No compulsory age found |
| Join at 40 | 20 years | 25 years | 27 years | No compulsory age found |
| Join at 50 | 10 years | 15 years | 17 years | No compulsory age found |
| Join at 55 | 5 years | 10 years | 12 years | No compulsory age found |
Calculated by us: retirement age minus joining age. It ignores time in the academy and any break in service. Victoria, WA, SA and NSW are not shown because no compulsory age is confirmed for them.
Career length matters for promotion and for super. In most forces you need several years of service before you can sit for Sergeant, so someone joining at 50 in Queensland has a shorter runway to reach a supervisory rank. If retirement age is a deciding factor, ask the force's recruiting team to confirm the current rule in writing.
Will you take a pay cut to join the police?
Almost certainly during training, and possibly not after it. Recruit pay is set below the constable rate, and the step up when you're sworn in is large. Here are the 2026 rates for each force, taken from each force's pay instrument or recruiting site.
- Recruit pay while training
- Session 1 unpaid; then a weekly Academy rate
- First-year constable (base)
- $92,576
- Top of Senior Constable
- $139,688
- Recruit pay while training
- $61,187
- First-year constable (base)
- $84,060
- Top of Senior Constable
- $118,945
- Recruit pay while training
- $59,728 calc
- First-year constable (base)
- $78,505
- Top of Senior Constable
- $118,127
- Recruit pay while training
- $74,309
- First-year constable (base)
- $94,651
- Top of Senior Constable
- $124,558
- Recruit pay while training
- $71,872
- First-year constable (base)
- $83,398
- Top of Senior Constable
- $117,542
- Recruit pay while training
- $61,801
- First-year constable (base)
- $73,518
- Top of Senior Constable
- $107,420
- Recruit pay while training
- $74,619
- First-year constable (base)
- $87,005
- Top of Senior Constable
- $120,539 calc
- Recruit pay while training
- $69,698
- First-year constable (base)
- $72,317
- Top of Senior Constable
- $111,861 calc
| Force | Recruit pay while training | First-year constable (base) | Top of Senior Constable |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Session 1 unpaid; then a weekly Academy rate | $92,576 | $139,688 |
| Victoria Police | $61,187 | $84,060 | $118,945 |
| QPS | $59,728 calc | $78,505 | $118,127 |
| WA Police | $74,309 | $94,651 | $124,558 |
| SAPOL | $71,872 | $83,398 | $117,542 |
| Tasmania Police | $61,801 | $73,518 | $107,420 |
| NT Police | $74,619 | $87,005 | $120,539 calc |
| AFP | $69,698 | $72,317 | $111,861 calc |
'calc' marks figures calculated by us from the agreement rule. NSW's first-year figure includes the 11.5% loading paid as salary. Queensland and the NT pay large shift or consolidated allowances on top of base once you're posted.
If you're on an average professional salary now, the first year is where it pinches. Most forces then pay annual increments as a constable, and shift allowances, weekend penalties and overtime come on top in most forces. Our national police pay comparison shows every rank.
Training pay is the pinch point. Once you're sworn in, the gap with many mid-career salaries closes quickly.
A worked example: leaving a $100,000 job
Say you currently earn $100,000 a year before tax and you're weighing Victoria Police or WA Police. This is an example salary, not a statistic. The table compares fortnightly take-home pay using 2026-27 tax rates, the Medicare levy and no HELP debt, before super and salary packaging.
Your current job (example)
- Gross a year
- $100,000
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,980
Victoria Police recruit (weeks 1–12)
- Gross a year
- $61,187
- Take-home a fortnight
- $1,968
- Change a fortnight
- -$1,012
Victoria Police Constable 1
- Gross a year
- $84,060
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,563
- Change a fortnight
- -$417
WA Police recruit in training
- Gross a year
- $74,309
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,308
- Change a fortnight
- -$672
WA Police Constable, 1st year
- Gross a year
- $94,651
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,840
- Change a fortnight
- -$140
| Job | Gross a year | Take-home a fortnight | Change a fortnight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Your current job (example) | $100,000 | $2,980 | – |
| Victoria Police recruit (weeks 1–12) | $61,187 | $1,968 | -$1,012 |
| Victoria Police Constable 1 | $84,060 | $2,563 | -$417 |
| WA Police recruit in training | $74,309 | $2,308 | -$672 |
| WA Police Constable, 1st year | $94,651 | $2,840 | -$140 |
Calculated by us with 2026-27 resident tax rates and the 2% Medicare levy. Excludes shift allowances, overtime and allowances, which most constables earn on top. Victoria's Constable 1 rate already includes the 13% commuted penalty.
In this example, you'd bring home about $1,012 less each fortnight during Victoria's 12 weeks on the recruit rate, a total gap of roughly $6,072 before you're sworn in. After that, the gap narrows sharply and, once allowances are added, can disappear.
Run your own figures with our calculator before you hand in your notice. Remember to include anything you'd lose, such as a car allowance, bonus or salary packaging, and anything you'd gain, such as free academy accommodation.
Compare your take-home pay
Enter any force, rank and roster to see your fortnightly take-home pay with 2026-27 tax, HELP, shift allowances and overtime.
How do you fund the training period?
Training is where career changers need a plan. Every force except NSW pays you from the first day of the academy. NSW is different: Session 1 of its Associate Degree in Applied Policing is 16 weeks of online study with no pay, and you pay university fees (or take a HECS-HELP loan). During the 16-week Academy session you're paid $1,360 a week, rising to $92,576 a year with loading once you attest.
- Academy and training
- Associate Degree in Applied Policing (ADAP) with Western Sydney University: Session 1 is 16 weeks online (unpaid), Session 2 is 16 weeks full-time at Goulburn, then 12 months as a Probationary Constable with 3 online part-time sessions.
- Probation
- 12 months as a Probationary Constable, then confirmed as Constable.
- Academy and training
- Police Foundation Training Program, weeks 1-25 (cut from 31 weeks). Recruits are sworn in as Probationary Constables at the end of week 12; probation runs to week 116 (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing.
- Probation
- Through week 116 of training (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing.
- Academy and training
- About 8 months for mainstream recruits (the 2023 ministerial statement says 'almost eight month'; exact weeks not verified). PACE for current or recent (within 5 years) frontline police is 20 weeks, with 3-4 intakes a year.
- Probation
- Graduates are sworn in as First Year Constables (Constable 1.1). The First Year Constable Program is about 12 months of station-based training under Field Training Officers and an Education and Training Officer; finishing it moves the officer to pay point 1.2. Probation is at least 12 months.
- Academy and training
- 28 weeks for entry-level recruits, followed by 18 months as a Probationary Constable.
- Probation
- 18 months as a Probationary Constable after graduation; transitional (interstate and international) officers serve 6 months.
- Academy and training
- SAPOL's current Training page describes 9 to 11 months of recruit training (an earlier SAPOL notice described about six months at the Academy after a 2020 change), 8:30am-5pm Monday to Friday, then graduation as a Probationary Constable within a 2.5-year Constable Development Program; graduates receive a Diploma of Policing on permanent appointment.
- Probation
- About 2 years in total for domestic recruits: 3 months operational after graduation as part of continuous training, then permanent appointment as Constable after a further 18 months (from a public summaries; not verified). Transition recruits serve 6, 9 or 12 months depending on recognised service.
- Academy and training
- 28 weeks, including 6 weeks' practical training at a station. Recruits complete 15 of the 24 units of the UTAS Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies). Listed 2026-27 start dates: 12 Jan 2026, 16 Mar 2026, 1 Jun 2026 (Academy and Launceston), 5 Oct 2026, 11 Jan 2027 (Academy and Launceston), 22 Mar 2027, a date printed as '31 June 2027' (Academy and Launceston; invalid date on the source), 9 Aug 2027, 18 Oct 2027.
- Probation
- Recruits serve their first year on probation (recruitment site); under the Police Service Act 2003, non-commissioned appointment/promotion probation is up to 12 months as the Commissioner determines (extendable). Graduates are posted to a 24/7 station (Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport, Burnie) for at least 2 years.
- Academy and training
- 30 weeks for Constables (the PPSO FAQ calls it 'the 32-week Constable course'); ACPO 24 weeks; PPSO 18 weeks; JESCC Auxiliary 12 weeks. Graduates receive the Diploma of Policing (POL50124) on completing requirements.
- Probation
- Constables: to the second anniversary of commencement (2 years), Police Administration Act s.16A(3)(a). ACPOs: 12 months from commencement. ARP: 12 months including training (CA 2022 cl.70(d)). The Commissioner may shorten or extend probation (by up to 6 months at a time).
- Academy and training
- Police (national and ACT): 26 weeks, Federal Police Development Program, with the opportunity to receive the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. PSOs: 15 weeks, POL41225 Certificate IV in Protective Services, then a dedicated mentor for the first 6 months. (The EA progression table lists 19 weeks as the minimum time at pay point 2.3.)
- Probation
- Police graduates are probationary officers at Band 2.4 and stay there for at least 12 months and until the AFP workbook is signed off (by a supervisor who has supervised them for 3+ months), then move to 3.1. A formal probation period beyond this is not stated. PSO recruits start at 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training.
| Force | Academy and training | Probation |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Associate Degree in Applied Policing (ADAP) with Western Sydney University: Session 1 is 16 weeks online (unpaid), Session 2 is 16 weeks full-time at Goulburn, then 12 months as a Probationary Constable with 3 online part-time sessions. | 12 months as a Probationary Constable, then confirmed as Constable. |
| Victoria Police | Police Foundation Training Program, weeks 1-25 (cut from 31 weeks). Recruits are sworn in as Probationary Constables at the end of week 12; probation runs to week 116 (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. | Through week 116 of training (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. |
| QPS | About 8 months for mainstream recruits (the 2023 ministerial statement says 'almost eight month'; exact weeks not verified). PACE for current or recent (within 5 years) frontline police is 20 weeks, with 3-4 intakes a year. | Graduates are sworn in as First Year Constables (Constable 1.1). The First Year Constable Program is about 12 months of station-based training under Field Training Officers and an Education and Training Officer; finishing it moves the officer to pay point 1.2. Probation is at least 12 months. |
| WA Police | 28 weeks for entry-level recruits, followed by 18 months as a Probationary Constable. | 18 months as a Probationary Constable after graduation; transitional (interstate and international) officers serve 6 months. |
| SAPOL | SAPOL's current Training page describes 9 to 11 months of recruit training (an earlier SAPOL notice described about six months at the Academy after a 2020 change), 8:30am-5pm Monday to Friday, then graduation as a Probationary Constable within a 2.5-year Constable Development Program; graduates receive a Diploma of Policing on permanent appointment. | About 2 years in total for domestic recruits: 3 months operational after graduation as part of continuous training, then permanent appointment as Constable after a further 18 months (from a public summaries; not verified). Transition recruits serve 6, 9 or 12 months depending on recognised service. |
| Tasmania Police | 28 weeks, including 6 weeks' practical training at a station. Recruits complete 15 of the 24 units of the UTAS Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies). Listed 2026-27 start dates: 12 Jan 2026, 16 Mar 2026, 1 Jun 2026 (Academy and Launceston), 5 Oct 2026, 11 Jan 2027 (Academy and Launceston), 22 Mar 2027, a date printed as '31 June 2027' (Academy and Launceston; invalid date on the source), 9 Aug 2027, 18 Oct 2027. | Recruits serve their first year on probation (recruitment site); under the Police Service Act 2003, non-commissioned appointment/promotion probation is up to 12 months as the Commissioner determines (extendable). Graduates are posted to a 24/7 station (Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport, Burnie) for at least 2 years. |
| NT Police | 30 weeks for Constables (the PPSO FAQ calls it 'the 32-week Constable course'); ACPO 24 weeks; PPSO 18 weeks; JESCC Auxiliary 12 weeks. Graduates receive the Diploma of Policing (POL50124) on completing requirements. | Constables: to the second anniversary of commencement (2 years), Police Administration Act s.16A(3)(a). ACPOs: 12 months from commencement. ARP: 12 months including training (CA 2022 cl.70(d)). The Commissioner may shorten or extend probation (by up to 6 months at a time). |
| AFP | Police (national and ACT): 26 weeks, Federal Police Development Program, with the opportunity to receive the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. PSOs: 15 weeks, POL41225 Certificate IV in Protective Services, then a dedicated mentor for the first 6 months. (The EA progression table lists 19 weeks as the minimum time at pay point 2.3.) | Police graduates are probationary officers at Band 2.4 and stay there for at least 12 months and until the AFP workbook is signed off (by a supervisor who has supervised them for 3+ months), then move to 3.1. A formal probation period beyond this is not stated. PSO recruits start at 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training. |
Before you resign
- ✓ Work out your fortnightly shortfall during training, using real take-home figures.
- ✓ Multiply it by the number of fortnights in training and add a buffer.
- ✓ Check whether the academy offers live-in accommodation: Victoria, WA, Tasmania, the NT and the AFP do, on varying terms.
- ✓ Tell your lender if you'll be refinancing or borrowing soon; probation can affect some lenders' policies.
- ✓ If you're applying to NSW, plan for 16 unpaid weeks and the course fees.
- ✓ Keep your current job until you have a confirmed start date in writing.
Some forces help recruits from regional areas. WA gives regional recruits free on-site accommodation at Joondalup, and SA pays country and interstate recruits a cost-of-living allowance on starting. Details are in each force's joining guide.
Does your previous career count for anything?
For pay, usually not, unless you've been a police officer before. First-time recruits start on the same rate whatever their background. There are a few exceptions and special routes worth knowing about.
Former or serving police (Australia or NZ)
- What forces offer
- Shorter courses with service recognised: NSW's 12-week Professional Mobility Program, Tasmania's 12-week Accelerated Training Program, the NT's Accelerated Recruitment Program, SA's 15-week interstate transition course, and Queensland's 20-week PACE course.
Existing QPS civilian staff
- What forces offer
- Keep their current pay point during recruit training (QPS recruiting site).
Existing AFP employees
- What forces offer
- Keep their current band and pay point during recruit training (AFP College page).
Legal graduates (NSW)
- What forces offer
- The Accelerated Prosecutor Recruit Program.
Elite athletes (NSW)
- What forces offer
- An Elite Athletes Recruitment Pathway Pilot.
ADF members and veterans (AFP)
- What forces offer
- The standard recruit process, but a current NV1 security clearance may be recognised.
Degree holders
- What forces offer
- Exemption from the entrance test in SA (bachelor degree) and possibly Victoria; NSW pays a small qualification allowance for a relevant degree.
| Background | What forces offer |
|---|---|
| Former or serving police (Australia or NZ) | Shorter courses with service recognised: NSW's 12-week Professional Mobility Program, Tasmania's 12-week Accelerated Training Program, the NT's Accelerated Recruitment Program, SA's 15-week interstate transition course, and Queensland's 20-week PACE course. |
| Existing QPS civilian staff | Keep their current pay point during recruit training (QPS recruiting site). |
| Existing AFP employees | Keep their current band and pay point during recruit training (AFP College page). |
| Legal graduates (NSW) | The Accelerated Prosecutor Recruit Program. |
| Elite athletes (NSW) | An Elite Athletes Recruitment Pathway Pilot. |
| ADF members and veterans (AFP) | The standard recruit process, but a current NV1 security clearance may be recognised. |
| Degree holders | Exemption from the entrance test in SA (bachelor degree) and possibly Victoria; NSW pays a small qualification allowance for a relevant degree. |
Your experience still helps you get selected. Interview panels look for evidence of the behaviours policing needs: communication under pressure, integrity, resilience, teamwork and decision-making. A career changer usually has more and better examples than a school leaver. See our guide to police degrees if you're weighing study first.
Fitness and medical standards at 40 and over
No force adjusts its published fitness standard for age. Some set different targets for men and women: WA's beep test and Illinois agility run, the AFP's push-ups, and Tasmania's grip, waist and broad jump. Otherwise, the bar is the same for everyone.
- Beep test
- Level 7.1
- Push-ups
- 25
- Beep test
- Level 5.01
- Push-ups
- 5 consecutive, on toes
- Beep test
- Level 5 shuttle 7 (5/7) minimum
- Push-ups
- 10 minimum
- Beep test
- Level 7.01 (male) / 6.01 (female)
- Push-ups
- Minimum 10, on toes
- Beep test
- No beep test (circuit test)
- Push-ups
- Not part of the test
- Beep test
- Level 6.01 minimum
- Push-ups
- 10 reps minimum
- Beep test
- Level 6.1
- Push-ups
- 10 at a 2-second cadence
- Beep test
- Level 6.5
- Push-ups
- 15 (male) / 8 (female) within 60 seconds
| Force | Beep test | Push-ups |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Level 7.1 | 25 |
| Victoria Police | Level 5.01 | 5 consecutive, on toes |
| QPS | Level 5 shuttle 7 (5/7) minimum | 10 minimum |
| WA Police | Level 7.01 (male) / 6.01 (female) | Minimum 10, on toes |
| SAPOL | No beep test (circuit test) | Not part of the test |
| Tasmania Police | Level 6.01 minimum | 10 reps minimum |
| NT Police | Level 6.1 | 10 at a 2-second cadence |
| AFP | Level 6.5 | 15 (male) / 8 (female) within 60 seconds |
SA uses a timed 'fit for duty' circuit in a weighted vest instead of a beep test. Full details are in each force's fitness guide.
Most people in their 40s can reach these levels with consistent training, but don't leave it to chance. Start at least 12 weeks before your test date, and build running endurance first, because the beep test is the event that fails most applicants. The medical is the other hurdle: get a check-up with your GP early so any condition can be documented, treated or explained. Our medical requirements guide and eyesight guide cover what's assessed.
Check your fitness against every force
Enter your beep test level and push-ups and see which forces' standards you already meet, and how far you are from the rest.
Super if you join the police later
Super is where joining later can hit hardest, because you have fewer years of contributions. The good news is that some forces pay well above the Superannuation Guarantee.
NSW Police
- Employer super
- 12%
- What it means
- 12% employer contribution for officers in accumulation super (reported; the pre-1988 and SASS schemes differ). Officers also pay 1.8% of salary towards the death and disability scheme.
Victoria Police
- Employer super
- See note
- What it means
- Police and PSOs are in the ESSS Police Superannuation defined benefit scheme, so the benefit depends on years of service and salary rather than a % contribution.
QPS
- Employer super
- 18%
- What it means
- Queensland police receive 18% employer super with no compulsory member contribution.
WA Police
- Employer super
- 12%
- What it means
- WA Police contributes 12% (the Superannuation Guarantee), and shift loadings attract super. GESB is the default fund unless you choose another.
SAPOL
- Employer super
- See note
- What it means
- SA officers receive at least the 12% Superannuation Guarantee through Super SA; older members may be in the closed Police Superannuation Scheme.
Tasmania Police
- Employer super
- 12%
- What it means
- Tasmania pays the 12% Superannuation Guarantee into your chosen fund; the default fund is CareSuper (Tasmanian Treasury, April 2026). The old state defined benefit scheme closed in 1999.
NT Police
- Employer super
- See note
- What it means
- NT officers receive at least the 12% Superannuation Guarantee; super for new recruits isn't confirmed.
AFP
- Employer super
- 15.4%
- What it means
- AFP employees receive 15.4% employer super (PSSap or their chosen fund).
| Force | Employer super | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | 12% | 12% employer contribution for officers in accumulation super (reported; the pre-1988 and SASS schemes differ). Officers also pay 1.8% of salary towards the death and disability scheme. |
| Victoria Police | See note | Police and PSOs are in the ESSS Police Superannuation defined benefit scheme, so the benefit depends on years of service and salary rather than a % contribution. |
| QPS | 18% | Queensland police receive 18% employer super with no compulsory member contribution. |
| WA Police | 12% | WA Police contributes 12% (the Superannuation Guarantee), and shift loadings attract super. GESB is the default fund unless you choose another. |
| SAPOL | See note | SA officers receive at least the 12% Superannuation Guarantee through Super SA; older members may be in the closed Police Superannuation Scheme. |
| Tasmania Police | 12% | Tasmania pays the 12% Superannuation Guarantee into your chosen fund; the default fund is CareSuper (Tasmanian Treasury, April 2026). The old state defined benefit scheme closed in 1999. |
| NT Police | See note | NT officers receive at least the 12% Superannuation Guarantee; super for new recruits isn't confirmed. |
| AFP | 15.4% | AFP employees receive 15.4% employer super (PSSap or their chosen fund). |
Victoria is different from the rest: operational police join the ESSS defined benefit fund, where your lump sum is a multiple of your final average salary, not a balance. Members choose a contribution of 0% to 7% of salary after tax, and the scheme's disclosure statement says contributing 7% for 30 years reaches the maximum benefit of 7.5 times final average salary. Joining at 45 means you're unlikely to reach the maximum multiple, so ask ESSSuper for a projection. Our police super calculator projects accumulation balances for the other forces.
Not financial advice
Super rules are complex and your situation matters. Speak to your fund or a licensed financial adviser before moving or consolidating super when you change careers.
Shift work, postings and family life
The pay is one part of the change; the hours are often the bigger one. New constables in every force work rotating shifts including nights, weekends and public holidays. If you have children or a partner with a fixed-hours job, map out how a 24/7 roster would work before you apply.
NT postings
Anywhere
you must accept a posting anywhere in the Territory
Tasmania
2 years
at a 24/7 station after graduating
Victoria probation
2 yrs 13 wks
to week 116 of training
Where you'll work is the other question. Some forces post new constables wherever they're needed, while others let you nominate a region. NSW's "Be a Cop in your Home Town" scheme lets you nominate a regional location. Remote postings can pay generously; NSW's remote incentive, for example, is worth up to $36,000 over five years. If you're not free to move, check each force's posting policy before you apply.
How to use your experience in selection
Interview panels in every force use behavioural questions: "tell us about a time when…". Career changers have a real advantage here. You've handled conflict, made judgement calls, worked with difficult customers and owned your mistakes. The trick is telling those stories in a structured way, with a clear situation, your actions and the result.
What panels tend to value in career changers
- ✓Examples of de-escalating conflict at work
- ✓Evidence of integrity when it cost you something
- ✓Experience dealing with vulnerable people
- ✓Leadership and teamwork in real settings
What they'll probe
- ✕Why you're leaving a stable career now
- ✕Whether you understand shift work and postings
- ✕How you'll take direction from younger supervisors
- ✕Your family's support for the change
Turn your career into interview answers
Practise force-specific interview questions and get scored feedback on structure and evidence. Two free answers a day; full access A$34.99.
Is a career change into policing worth it?
There's no single answer, but the trade-offs are clear. Weigh them honestly against your current job and your family's situation.
Works in your favour
- ✓Pay rises steeply after training, with increments and allowances
- ✓Strong job security and, in some forces, generous super
- ✓A wide range of specialist careers after a few years
- ✓Purpose and variety that many office jobs lack
Watch out for
- ✕A pay cut during training (and unpaid study in NSW)
- ✕Shift work, nights and weekends, often for years
- ✕Postings you may not choose
- ✕Fewer years to build super and seniority if you join late
Specialist roles are one of the big draws for career changers. Read our guides to becoming a detective and specialist units to see where a career can lead after general duties.
A 6-month plan for career changers
Most forces take three to nine months from application to academy. Use that time to get your finances, fitness and family ready, so you can resign with confidence when the offer comes.
- 1
Month 1: choose your force
Compare pay, postings and training. Our force quiz and force profiles help.
- 2
Month 1–2: test your finances
Calculate the training shortfall and build a buffer. Talk to your lender if you plan to borrow.
- 3
Month 1–3: start training
Build to your force's beep test level with a margin. Practise push-ups and planks weekly.
- 4
Month 2: apply and prepare for the exam
Practise the entrance exam format. Older applicants often need to refresh maths and timed writing.
- 5
Month 3–5: interview, medical and vetting
Prepare career-based examples. Disclose everything in your history.
- 6
Month 6: offer and notice
Only resign once you have a confirmed academy start date in writing.
Get back into exam mode
If it's been years since you sat a test, practise the reasoning, maths and writing sections first. Five free questions a day; full access A$39.99.
Free email alerts
Changing careers? Get the numbers before you resign
We'll email you when recruit pay changes, when a force opens a new intake, and when training lengths or pay-while-training rules change, so you can plan your notice period and your budget.
- ✓Recruit pay changes in all 8 forces
- ✓New intakes and academy dates
Frequently asked questions
Can you join the police at 40 in Australia?
Yes. None of the eight forces publishes an upper age limit for new recruits. You'll sit the same entrance test, fitness test, medical and psychological assessment as a 20-year-old. The practical limits are fitness, the pay drop during training, and, in Queensland, Tasmania and the NT, how many years you have before the compulsory retirement age.
Can you join the police at 50?
You can apply. No force sets a maximum joining age. Queensland's compulsory retirement age of 60 would give you about 10 years of service, Tasmania's 65 about 15, and the NT's 67 about 17. The AFP's current Act has no compulsory retirement age, and we found none in NSW's current Police Act.
Will I take a pay cut to become a police officer?
Probably during training, then possibly not. Recruit pay in 2026 ranges up to $74,619 a year, and NSW's first 16 weeks of study are unpaid. Once sworn in, a first-year constable earns from $72,317 to $94,651 base, plus shift allowances in most forces.
Does my previous career count for anything in the police?
Rarely for pay, unless you were a police officer before. Ex-police and serving interstate officers can have service recognised in every force. Queensland lets existing QPS civilian staff keep their current pay point in training, and the AFP lets existing AFP employees keep their band. NSW runs special pathways for legal graduates and elite athletes.
Is the police fitness test easier for older applicants?
No. The published standards don't vary by age in any force. WA and the AFP set different targets for men and women on some events, and Tasmania does on grip, waist and broad jump, but none adjusts for age. If you're over 40, give yourself at least 12 weeks of structured training before the test.
Can I keep my mortgage going while at the police academy?
It depends on the gap between your current take-home pay and recruit pay. Most forces pay recruits from day one, between about $59,000 and $74,000 a year. NSW is the exception: its first 16-week session is online and unpaid. Work out your fortnightly shortfall and how long the training lasts before you resign.
Do mature-age police recruits get a different academy course?
Not for first-time recruits. Everyone does the same recruit course. Shorter courses exist only for people who were already police officers, such as NSW's 12-week Professional Mobility Program, Tasmania's 12-week Accelerated Training Program and the NT's Accelerated Recruitment Program.
Is it worth changing careers to become a police officer?
That depends on what you want. The pay rises quickly after training: senior constables at the top of the scale earn well over $100,000 base in every force. Against that are shift work, postings you may not choose, and a demanding first two years. Talk to serving officers and ask recruiting about the realities before you resign.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Victoria Police (Police Officers, PSOs, Police Reservists and Police Recruits) Enterprise Agreement 2025, [2025] FWCA 1135, AE528554
- Victoria Police: Police eligibility requirements
- Victoria Police: Police recruitment process
- Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024 (WAIRC, WES338)
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Training at the Academy
- NSW Police Force recruitment: Salary and benefits
- NSW Police Force recruitment: Professional Mobility Program
- NSW Police Force recruitment: Careers and salary
- QPS Recruiting: Frequently asked questions (as summarised publicly)
- QPS Recruiting: General entry policing pathway (as summarised publicly)
- QPS Recruit Entry Fitness Assessment Standard V1 20251021 (PDF)
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Accelerated Training Program
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: FAQs
- NTPFES: Constable recruitment page
- NTPFES: Accelerated Recruitment Program
- Australian Federal Police Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 (FWC AE526995, [2024] FWCA 4231)
- AFP College
- AFP: Eligibility
- SAPOL: Police officer careers - frequently asked questions
- ATO: Tax rates for Australian residents (2026-27)
Related guides
Joining the police
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.