Can you transfer between Australian police forces?
Not in the way most officers expect. You resign from one employer and are appointed by another.
Each force is a separate employer under its own police Act, with its own pay instrument and super arrangements. There's no national transfer scheme. What does exist is a lateral or transition program in most forces: a shorter paid course for serving or recent police that recognises some of your service for pay and gets you on the road faster than a new recruit.
- 1
Check you meet the program's service rule
EligibilityMost programs want at least 2 or 3 years' post-probation service, and recent service if you've left. SA asks for 3+ years' continuous active service in the last 5; Tasmania 2 years' post-probation service; the NT 2 years at Constable or above.
- 2
Apply and go through checks
1 to 4 monthsExpect background and integrity checks, a medical, psych screening, an interview and usually a fitness test. Your service record and references from your current force carry a lot of weight.
- 3
Resign and start the transition course
12 to 15 weeksYou join as a new employee, paid from day one of the course in most programs. Courses run from 12 to 15 weeks where published.
- 4
Probation in the new force
6 to 12 monthsUsually shorter than for new recruits: 6 months in WA and Tasmania, 6 to 12 months in SA, 12 months including training in the NT.
A lateral move resets your employer, your probation and usually your rank. Plan it as a career change, not a posting.
Already a police officer overseas?
This force doesn't sponsor overseas officers directly, but WA, SA and Queensland do, and you can transfer across later. See police officers moving to Australia, plus visas for police officers and what happens to your UK police pension.
Lateral entry programs in every force
What each force publishes for serving and recent Australian police.
- Program
- Professional Mobility Program (PMP)
- Course
- 12 weeks at Goulburn, paid from the start
- Who's eligible
- Serving police from any Australian or NZ jurisdiction, generally after 1 year full-time after probation
- Rank and pay recognition
- Existing rank recognised up to Senior Constable, plus help with relocation costs
- Program
- Prior service recognition (no lateral transfer)
- Course
- Individual Training and Assessment Plan; length not published
- Who's eligible
- Operational police from Australia, NZ and the UK who are citizens or permanent residents
- Rank and pay recognition
- Starting increment not published; entrance exam, checks and panel still apply (exemptions possible)
- Program
- Experienced and former officer pathway
- Course
- Not published for interstate officers (international PACE course is 20 weeks)
- Who's eligible
- Serving or recent Australian/NZ officers and ex-QPS
- Rank and pay recognition
- Starting rank and pay point set by Service policy; the recruiting site says up to $130k (reported, unconfirmed)
- Program
- Transitional Officer program
- Course
- 13 weeks at Joondalup, paid
- Who's eligible
- Serving interstate and NZ officers
- Rank and pay recognition
- Service recognised up to a fifth-year constable for pay and rank
- Program
- Interstate transition
- Course
- 15 weeks at the Academy
- Who's eligible
- Australian officers with 3+ years' continuous active service in the last 5 (excluding training)
- Rank and pay recognition
- 100% of prior service recognised up to 7 years for probation and Constable increments; up to $10,000 relocation
- Program
- Accelerated Training Program (ATP)
- Course
- 12 weeks
- Who's eligible
- Sworn officers with 2+ years' post-probation service in Australia or NZ, separated less than 4 years
- Rank and pay recognition
- Rank does not transfer; pay reflects up to 12 years' service (see below)
- Program
- Accelerated Recruitment Program (ARP)
- Course
- Training within a 12-month probation
- Who's eligible
- Current or recent Australian/NZ police with 2+ years at Constable or above and a Diploma of Policing or equivalent; not Military Police or PSOs
- Rank and pay recognition
- Paid at the increment for completed years, capped at 10+ years
- Program
- Skilled Police Program
- Course
- Closed, no next intake date
- Who's eligible
- Previously: 3+ years of Australian operational policing in the last 5 years plus a security clearance
- Rank and pay recognition
- The agreement lets the Commissioner set a higher starting pay point based on experience; other forces' service counts toward the Band 5 barrier
| Force | Program | Course | Who's eligible | Rank and pay recognition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Professional Mobility Program (PMP) | 12 weeks at Goulburn, paid from the start | Serving police from any Australian or NZ jurisdiction, generally after 1 year full-time after probation | Existing rank recognised up to Senior Constable, plus help with relocation costs |
| Victoria Police | Prior service recognition (no lateral transfer) | Individual Training and Assessment Plan; length not published | Operational police from Australia, NZ and the UK who are citizens or permanent residents | Starting increment not published; entrance exam, checks and panel still apply (exemptions possible) |
| QPS | Experienced and former officer pathway | Not published for interstate officers (international PACE course is 20 weeks) | Serving or recent Australian/NZ officers and ex-QPS | Starting rank and pay point set by Service policy; the recruiting site says up to $130k (reported, unconfirmed) |
| WA Police | Transitional Officer program | 13 weeks at Joondalup, paid | Serving interstate and NZ officers | Service recognised up to a fifth-year constable for pay and rank |
| SAPOL | Interstate transition | 15 weeks at the Academy | Australian officers with 3+ years' continuous active service in the last 5 (excluding training) | 100% of prior service recognised up to 7 years for probation and Constable increments; up to $10,000 relocation |
| Tasmania Police | Accelerated Training Program (ATP) | 12 weeks | Sworn officers with 2+ years' post-probation service in Australia or NZ, separated less than 4 years | Rank does not transfer; pay reflects up to 12 years' service (see below) |
| NT Police | Accelerated Recruitment Program (ARP) | Training within a 12-month probation | Current or recent Australian/NZ police with 2+ years at Constable or above and a Diploma of Policing or equivalent; not Military Police or PSOs | Paid at the increment for completed years, capped at 10+ years |
| AFP | Skilled Police Program | Closed, no next intake date | Previously: 3+ years of Australian operational policing in the last 5 years plus a security clearance | The agreement lets the Commissioner set a higher starting pay point based on experience; other forces' service counts toward the Band 5 barrier |
From each force's data file and official recruiting pages. Programs open and close; check the force's site for current intakes. The ACT Lateral Recruit Program register of interest says the position is filled.
The NT program is unusual in listing no fitness test (the swim is still required) and in asking for a full police service record with your application. NSW's PMP sets its own fitness standard, including a beep test level of 7.1. Victoria is the only force that says plainly there's no lateral transfer, though its prior service route works much like one.
Former officers have their own routes
If you're going back to a force you used to serve in, look at its re-appointment route rather than the lateral program. NSW, Victoria, Queensland, WA and Tasmania all describe one, and they're often shorter. NSW, for example, takes back former officers with 3+ years' service who left less than 3 years ago, with pay up to the Senior Constable Level 6 equivalent.
What you'd earn in each force
Headline pay at the main stages, plus employer super, from each force's current pay table.
- First-year constable
- $92,576
- Top senior constable
- $139,688
- Top sergeant
- $157,203
- Employer super
- 12%
- First-year constable
- $84,060
- Top senior constable
- $118,945
- Top sergeant
- $149,358
- Employer super
- 12% minimum or defined benefit
- First-year constable
- $78,505
- Top senior constable
- $118,127
- Top sergeant
- $133,671
- Employer super
- 18%
- First-year constable
- $94,651
- Top senior constable
- $124,558
- Top sergeant
- $135,005
- Employer super
- 12%
- First-year constable
- $83,398
- Top senior constable
- $117,542
- Top sergeant
- $135,363
- Employer super
- 12% minimum or defined benefit
- First-year constable
- $73,518
- Top senior constable
- $107,420
- Top sergeant
- $125,625
- Employer super
- 12%
- First-year constable
- $87,005
- Top senior constable
- $120,539 calc
- Top sergeant
- $139,008 calc
- Employer super
- 12% minimum or defined benefit
- First-year constable
- $72,317
- Top senior constable
- $111,861 calc
- Top sergeant
- $132,185 calc
- Employer super
- 15.4%
| Force | First-year constable | Top senior constable | Top sergeant | Employer super |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | $92,576 | $139,688 | $157,203 | 12% |
| Victoria Police | $84,060 | $118,945 | $149,358 | 12% minimum or defined benefit |
| QPS | $78,505 | $118,127 | $133,671 | 18% |
| WA Police | $94,651 | $124,558 | $135,005 | 12% |
| SAPOL | $83,398 | $117,542 | $135,363 | 12% minimum or defined benefit |
| Tasmania Police | $73,518 | $107,420 | $125,625 | 12% |
| NT Police | $87,005 | $120,539 calc | $139,008 calc | 12% minimum or defined benefit |
| AFP | $72,317 | $111,861 calc | $132,185 calc | 15.4% |
Headline figures have different bases: NSW includes its 11.5% loading, Victoria its 13% commuted penalty; others are base salary with roster loadings or composites on top. 'calc' marks figures calculated by us. Victoria's operational police are in a defined benefit scheme.
On the headline numbers, NSW Police pays the most at the top of the senior constable scale ($139,688) and Tasmania Police the least ($107,420). That spread overstates the real gap. Queensland adds a 21% Operational Shift Allowance and 18% employer super; the NT pays a 23% Consolidated Allowance plus a 5% General Policing Allowance once you're posted; Tasmania pays up to 28% on a 24-hour roster.
Compare your pay in every force
Enter your current force, rank and roster and see what the same stage pays in all eight forces, with super alongside. Free, no sign-up.
Remember that what matters is the point you'll actually be placed on, not the top of the scale. The next section works that out for the forces that publish their rules.
What your years of service buy in the new force
Calculated from each program's published rule and the force's current pay table.
Tasmania: two levels below during training, one below on probation
Tasmania's Accelerated Training Program pays you two levels below your experience level during training, one below on probation, then at your experience level, up to Constable Level 12. Sergeants and commissioned officers from other forces are paid Constable Level 11 ($98,027) during training and probation.
5 years
- During ATP training
- Level 3: $78,426
- On probation
- Level 4: $80,875
- After probation
- Level 5: $83,326
8 years
- During ATP training
- Level 6: $85,780
- On probation
- Level 7: $88,227
- After probation
- Level 8: $90,680
12 or more years
- During ATP training
- Level 10: $95,582
- On probation
- Level 11: $98,027
- After probation
- Level 12: $101,487
| Your experience | During ATP training | On probation | After probation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 years | Level 3: $78,426 | Level 4: $80,875 | Level 5: $83,326 |
| 8 years | Level 6: $85,780 | Level 7: $88,227 | Level 8: $90,680 |
| 12 or more years | Level 10: $95,582 | Level 11: $98,027 | Level 12: $101,487 |
Our application of the published rule to the current Constable scale (base salary, before the shift and penalty allowance of 15% to 28%).
Northern Territory: increment for completed years
The NT sets ARP pay at the increment for your completed years of service: 3 completed years puts you on the 4th-year Constable rate, capped at 10+ years. The 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% General Policing Allowance are paid once you're posted, not during training.
2 completed years
- NT pay point
- Constable 3
- Base salary
- $90,520
3 completed years
- NT pay point
- Constable 4
- Base salary
- $92,330
6 completed years
- NT pay point
- Constable First Class 7
- Base salary
- $97,980
9 or more completed years
- NT pay point
- Constable First Class 10
- Base salary
- $103,977
| Your service | NT pay point | Base salary |
|---|---|---|
| 2 completed years | Constable 3 | $90,520 |
| 3 completed years | Constable 4 | $92,330 |
| 6 completed years | Constable First Class 7 | $97,980 |
| 9 or more completed years | Constable First Class 10 | $103,977 |
'calc' marks rates estimated by us from the 2022 agreement plus the agreed 2025 rises.
South Australia and WA
SA pays transition officers as Probationary Constable ($83,398) during probation, then recognises up to 7 years for Constable increments. SAPOL publishes only the bottom and top of the Constable scale ($86,125 to $102,491), so we can't show every step. Former sergeants and above are appointed Senior Constable Increment 1 ($102,990) after probation.
WA recognises service up to fifth-year constable for pay and rank: from $94,651 (second year) to $102,263 (fifth year and after). WA's transitional officer page adds that officers with the required service can sit online exams to progress to First Class Constable ($107,977 base) and then Senior Constable on commencement. In NSW, the PMP recognises rank up to Senior Constable, whose scale runs from $115,290 to $139,688 including the loading; the level you'd start on isn't published.
A worked example: a NSW constable moving to SA
Take a NSW Constable Level 5 on $104,802 including the 11.5% loading, with 7 years' service, who moves to SA through the interstate transition program. Here's the base-salary picture from both forces' current tables, before any shift allowances.
Now: NSW Constable Level 5 (incl. loading)
- Salary
- $104,802
- Take-home a fortnight (2026-27 tax)
- $3,106
SA transition course and probation (paid as Probationary Constable)
- Salary
- $83,398
- Take-home a fortnight (2026-27 tax)
- $2,546
SA after probation, top Constable increment
- Salary
- $102,491
- Take-home a fortnight (2026-27 tax)
- $3,045
| Stage | Salary | Take-home a fortnight (2026-27 tax) |
|---|---|---|
| Now: NSW Constable Level 5 (incl. loading) | $104,802 | $3,106 |
| SA transition course and probation (paid as Probationary Constable) | $83,398 | $2,546 |
| SA after probation, top Constable increment | $102,491 | $3,045 |
Assumes 7 years' service buys the top Constable increment; SAPOL publishes the 'up to 7 years' rule and the top and bottom increments, not the mapping. SA shift loadings, the 23% Response Allowance or the 18.5% Flexible Shiftwork Allowance are paid on top where they apply.
On base salary alone the move costs about $560 a fortnight during probation. Part of that gap is the NSW loading, which pays for weekend and shift work that SA pays separately as allowances, so the true difference depends on your SA roster. The up to $10,000 relocation reimbursement offsets some of the probation dip.
Run it with your own roster
Do the same sum for any pair of forces with the take-home pay calculator, entering the pay point you'd start on and the roster you'd work.
Relocation money and help with the move
Queensland
$20,000
relocation incentive, interstate and overseas police
Northern Territory
Up to $20,000
relocation reimbursement
South Australia
Up to $10,000
relocation reimbursement
NSW
Help with costs
PMP; amount not published
The NT also offers barracks, free departmental accommodation or a housing allowance, and a posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after 2 years' service elsewhere. WA offers fully subsidised housing in its listed regional towns and reimburses final-stage recruitment costs. These are often worth more than the headline relocation figure.
Most relocation payments are reimbursements, not cash: you claim receipted costs. Some come with conditions about staying a minimum period. Get the terms in writing, and keep every receipt. Victoria's agreement includes a once-only permanent relocation allowance, but we found nothing saying it applies to prior-service recruits.
Where you'll be posted, and the incentives that come with it
Experienced officers are often what forces need in the country. The incentives there can outweigh the headline pay gap.
Forces recruit laterally because they're short of experienced officers, and the shortage is usually worst outside the capital. SA says 43 of the 207 officers who've graduated through its Transition Program in the past two years are serving regionally. Expect to be asked about country service, and know what it pays before you answer.
NSW Police
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- Remote cash incentive of $36,000 (Remote) or $31,000 (Special Remote) in total over 5 years; regional police housing at some locations for 3% of salary; reduced mandatory tenure at identified locations
QPS
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- $20,000 relocation incentive for interstate and overseas police; extra annual leave in the North and West of the state
WA Police
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- Fully subsidised housing in 56 listed towns, plus district and locality allowances and extra leave for North West service
SAPOL
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- Hard to Fill country scheme: housing, lifestyle payments ($3,334 Level 1, $7,902 Level 2), a remote allowance of up to $4,892 and a guaranteed posting afterwards (1 January 2024 rates)
Tasmania Police
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- Rent-free departmental residences at designated country stations, plus the 37% country station allowance where it applies
NT Police
- Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file)
- Barracks, free departmental accommodation or a $33,184 a year housing allowance; extra leave at isolated localities; posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after 2 years elsewhere
| Force | Country and remote incentives (from the force's data file) |
|---|---|
| NSW Police | Remote cash incentive of $36,000 (Remote) or $31,000 (Special Remote) in total over 5 years; regional police housing at some locations for 3% of salary; reduced mandatory tenure at identified locations |
| QPS | $20,000 relocation incentive for interstate and overseas police; extra annual leave in the North and West of the state |
| WA Police | Fully subsidised housing in 56 listed towns, plus district and locality allowances and extra leave for North West service |
| SAPOL | Hard to Fill country scheme: housing, lifestyle payments ($3,334 Level 1, $7,902 Level 2), a remote allowance of up to $4,892 and a guaranteed posting afterwards (1 January 2024 rates) |
| Tasmania Police | Rent-free departmental residences at designated country stations, plus the 37% country station allowance where it applies |
| NT Police | Barracks, free departmental accommodation or a $33,184 a year housing allowance; extra leave at isolated localities; posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after 2 years elsewhere |
Amounts as recorded in each force's data file; SA's are 1 January 2024 rates and may since have risen. Conditions and eligibility apply.
Housing is the big one. In the NT and WA, free or subsidised housing can be worth more than any pay difference between forces, and NSW's remote cash incentive alone is larger than the gap between most forces' senior constable rates. If you're open to a country posting for a few years, the numbers on a lateral move can look very different.
What happens to your super when you move
The single biggest financial trap in a lateral move, especially if you're in a defined benefit scheme.
- Employer rate
- 12%
- Open schemes
- Aware Super (accumulation)
- Closed schemes
- Police Superannuation Scheme (PSS); State Authorities Superannuation Scheme (SASS)
- Status
- Partly unconfirmed
- Employer rate
- See note
- Open schemes
- ESSS Defined Benefit Fund (ESSSuper); ESSS Accumulation Fund; Police Custody Officers (VPS) accumulation
- Status
- Verified
- Employer rate
- 18%
- Open schemes
- QSuper Accumulation account (Australian Retirement Trust)
- Closed schemes
- QSuper Police account (defined benefit); QSuper Defined Benefit account (State)
- Status
- Verified
- Employer rate
- 12%
- Open schemes
- GESB Super or West State Super (default), or a fund of choice
- Closed schemes
- Gold State Super
- Status
- Verified
- Employer rate
- See note
- Open schemes
- Super SA Triple S (Southern State Superannuation Scheme)
- Closed schemes
- SA Police Superannuation Pension Scheme (Police Superannuation Act 1990)
- Status
- Partly unconfirmed
- Employer rate
- 12%
- Open schemes
- Tasmanian Accumulation Scheme (Public Sector Superannuation Reform Act 2016)
- Closed schemes
- Retirement Benefits Fund / Defined Benefits Scheme
- Status
- Partly unconfirmed
- Employer rate
- See note
- Open schemes
- Choice of fund (Superannuation Guarantee)
- Closed schemes
- Commonwealth Superannuation Scheme (CSS) / NTGPASS
- Status
- Partly unconfirmed
- Employer rate
- 15.4%
- Open schemes
- PSSap (Public Sector Superannuation Accumulation Plan, run by CSC)
- Closed schemes
- CSS (Commonwealth Superannuation Scheme); PSS (Public Sector Superannuation Scheme)
- Status
- Verified
| Force | Employer rate | Open schemes | Closed schemes | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | 12% | Aware Super (accumulation) | Police Superannuation Scheme (PSS); State Authorities Superannuation Scheme (SASS) | Partly unconfirmed |
| Victoria Police | See note | ESSS Defined Benefit Fund (ESSSuper); ESSS Accumulation Fund; Police Custody Officers (VPS) accumulation | – | Verified |
| QPS | 18% | QSuper Accumulation account (Australian Retirement Trust) | QSuper Police account (defined benefit); QSuper Defined Benefit account (State) | Verified |
| WA Police | 12% | GESB Super or West State Super (default), or a fund of choice | Gold State Super | Verified |
| SAPOL | See note | Super SA Triple S (Southern State Superannuation Scheme) | SA Police Superannuation Pension Scheme (Police Superannuation Act 1990) | Partly unconfirmed |
| Tasmania Police | 12% | Tasmanian Accumulation Scheme (Public Sector Superannuation Reform Act 2016) | Retirement Benefits Fund / Defined Benefits Scheme | Partly unconfirmed |
| NT Police | See note | Choice of fund (Superannuation Guarantee) | Commonwealth Superannuation Scheme (CSS) / NTGPASS | Partly unconfirmed |
| AFP | 15.4% | PSSap (Public Sector Superannuation Accumulation Plan, run by CSC) | CSS (Commonwealth Superannuation Scheme); PSS (Public Sector Superannuation Scheme) | Verified |
'See note': Victoria's operational police are in the ESSS defined benefit scheme; WA, SA, Tasmania and NT pay at least the 12% Superannuation Guarantee, with force-specific rates not confirmed.
Accumulation super (most officers)
- ✓Your balance is yours and can usually be kept or rolled over
- ✓Employer contributions restart in the new force from day one
- ✓Queensland (18%) and the AFP (15.4%) pay well above the 12% minimum
Defined benefit super
- ✕The benefit is tied to service with that employer
- ✕Victoria's ESSS benefit uses a multiple of final average salary that builds with years
- ✕Resigning can lock in a lower multiple; ask the fund before you go
Insurance is the hidden part. NSW officers contribute to the Enhanced Police Support Scheme, which tops up workers compensation and provides death cover; Queensland police get automatic death, TPD and income protection cover in QSuper. That cover belongs to the force's arrangements and doesn't follow you. Make sure new cover is in place before old cover ends, and use the police super calculator to compare employer rates.
Annual leave and long service leave in the new force
- Annual leave
- 6 weeks (228 hours) a year for NCOs.
- Long service leave
- Extended leave after 7 years: pro rata of 2 months on full pay per 10 years for the first 10 years, then an additional 5 months per 10 years.
- Annual leave
- 9 weeks (342 hours) a year: 7 weeks (266 hours) recreation leave plus 10 days (76 hours) accrued time off, credited at the start of each financial year (cl 130.1-130.2).
- Long service leave
- 3 months on full pay or 6 months on half pay after 10 years; pro rata after 7 years (cl 164.1; quantum from the official site).
- Annual leave
- 6 weeks a year (0.62466 hours per calendar day); 6 weeks 3 days (0.68712 hours per day) in the Northern and Western parts of the state (north of 22°S and west of 147°E, including Moranbah).
- Long service leave
- 1.3 weeks per year of continuous service (13 weeks after 10 years), pro rata after 7 years, under Directive 10/24 (cl 6.1, cl 8), which the agreement applies through cl 64.
- Annual leave
- 240 hours (6 weeks) a year on full pay, calendar-year basis, plus 40 hours a year for service in the North West (cl 30.1).
- Long service leave
- 520 hours (13 weeks) after 10 years' continuous service (appointed on or after 10 Jan 1995; 7 years if appointed earlier), then 520 hours for each further 7 years (cl 33.1).
- Annual leave
- 6 weeks (30 working days / 240 hours) a year (EA cl 36.5).
- Long service leave
- Set by the Police Regulations/award; the accrual rate was not verified.
- Annual leave
- 228 hours a year (6 weeks) for officers entitled to the shift and penalty allowance (Police Service Regulations 2023, reg 7); maximum accumulation 2 years' entitlement.
- Long service leave
- Under the Long Service Leave (State Employees) Act 1994 (award cl 15.16): entitlement after 10 years' continuous employment, with pro-rata payout from 7 years in specified circumstances (ill-health, retirement etc.).
- Annual leave
- 7 weeks a year appears to be the standard (the main salary table is labelled 'Seven weeks leave'; a higher-paying 'Six Weeks Leave' table also exists).
- Long service leave
- 4 calendar months after 10 years' continuous service, then 12 calendar days for each further year; pro-rata on resignation after 7 years (22.5/45/67.5 days at 7/8/9 years).
- Annual leave
- 228 hours (6 weeks) a year for Bands 1-8 and Technical Specialists; 190 hours (5 weeks) for Executive Level.
- Long service leave
- Under the Long Service Leave (Commonwealth Employees) Act 1976; the careers page says paid long service leave after 10 years of continuous Australian Government service.
| Force | Annual leave | Long service leave |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | 6 weeks (228 hours) a year for NCOs. | Extended leave after 7 years: pro rata of 2 months on full pay per 10 years for the first 10 years, then an additional 5 months per 10 years. |
| Victoria Police | 9 weeks (342 hours) a year: 7 weeks (266 hours) recreation leave plus 10 days (76 hours) accrued time off, credited at the start of each financial year (cl 130.1-130.2). | 3 months on full pay or 6 months on half pay after 10 years; pro rata after 7 years (cl 164.1; quantum from the official site). |
| QPS | 6 weeks a year (0.62466 hours per calendar day); 6 weeks 3 days (0.68712 hours per day) in the Northern and Western parts of the state (north of 22°S and west of 147°E, including Moranbah). | 1.3 weeks per year of continuous service (13 weeks after 10 years), pro rata after 7 years, under Directive 10/24 (cl 6.1, cl 8), which the agreement applies through cl 64. |
| WA Police | 240 hours (6 weeks) a year on full pay, calendar-year basis, plus 40 hours a year for service in the North West (cl 30.1). | 520 hours (13 weeks) after 10 years' continuous service (appointed on or after 10 Jan 1995; 7 years if appointed earlier), then 520 hours for each further 7 years (cl 33.1). |
| SAPOL | 6 weeks (30 working days / 240 hours) a year (EA cl 36.5). | Set by the Police Regulations/award; the accrual rate was not verified. |
| Tasmania Police | 228 hours a year (6 weeks) for officers entitled to the shift and penalty allowance (Police Service Regulations 2023, reg 7); maximum accumulation 2 years' entitlement. | Under the Long Service Leave (State Employees) Act 1994 (award cl 15.16): entitlement after 10 years' continuous employment, with pro-rata payout from 7 years in specified circumstances (ill-health, retirement etc.). |
| NT Police | 7 weeks a year appears to be the standard (the main salary table is labelled 'Seven weeks leave'; a higher-paying 'Six Weeks Leave' table also exists). | 4 calendar months after 10 years' continuous service, then 12 calendar days for each further year; pro-rata on resignation after 7 years (22.5/45/67.5 days at 7/8/9 years). |
| AFP | 228 hours (6 weeks) a year for Bands 1-8 and Technical Specialists; 190 hours (5 weeks) for Executive Level. | Under the Long Service Leave (Commonwealth Employees) Act 1976; the careers page says paid long service leave after 10 years of continuous Australian Government service. |
First sentence of each force's entitlement from its data file. Long service leave rules in Queensland, SA and Tasmania are partly unconfirmed.
Annual leave is generous everywhere, from 6 weeks in most forces to 9 weeks in Victoria counting accrued time off. Long service leave is where you can lose out. Each force's entitlement depends on continuous service under its own law or agreement, and we found no published rule in any state force that recognises service with another police force for long service leave.
The AFP is the exception we could confirm: its careers material says prior Commonwealth, state, territory, local government and ADF service can be recognised for long service leave. Accrued annual leave is normally paid out when you resign, and in the AFP it's paid out on leaving.
Ask before you resign
If you're close to a long service leave milestone in your current force, the timing of your resignation can be worth months of paid leave. Ask your current force what you'd be paid out, and the new force in writing what it will recognise.
Probation and rank: what resets
- Probation
- 12 months as a Probationary Constable, then confirmed as Constable.
- Probation
- Through week 116 of training (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing.
- Probation
- Graduates are sworn in as First Year Constables (Constable 1.1). The First Year Constable Program is about 12 months of station-based training under Field Training Officers and an Education and Training Officer; finishing it moves the officer to pay point 1.2. Probation is at least 12 months.
- Probation
- 18 months as a Probationary Constable after graduation; transitional (interstate and international) officers serve 6 months.
- Probation
- About 2 years in total for domestic recruits: 3 months operational after graduation as part of continuous training, then permanent appointment as Constable after a further 18 months (from a public summaries; not verified). Transition recruits serve 6, 9 or 12 months depending on recognised service.
- Probation
- Recruits serve their first year on probation (recruitment site); under the Police Service Act 2003, non-commissioned appointment/promotion probation is up to 12 months as the Commissioner determines (extendable). Graduates are posted to a 24/7 station (Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport, Burnie) for at least 2 years.
- Probation
- Constables: to the second anniversary of commencement (2 years), Police Administration Act s.16A(3)(a). ACPOs: 12 months from commencement. ARP: 12 months including training (CA 2022 cl.70(d)). The Commissioner may shorten or extend probation (by up to 6 months at a time).
- Probation
- Police graduates are probationary officers at Band 2.4 and stay there for at least 12 months and until the AFP workbook is signed off (by a supervisor who has supervised them for 3+ months), then move to 3.1. A formal probation period beyond this is not stated. PSO recruits start at 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training.
| Force | Probation |
|---|---|
| NSW Police | 12 months as a Probationary Constable, then confirmed as Constable. |
| Victoria Police | Through week 116 of training (2 years 13 weeks), ending with the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. |
| QPS | Graduates are sworn in as First Year Constables (Constable 1.1). The First Year Constable Program is about 12 months of station-based training under Field Training Officers and an Education and Training Officer; finishing it moves the officer to pay point 1.2. Probation is at least 12 months. |
| WA Police | 18 months as a Probationary Constable after graduation; transitional (interstate and international) officers serve 6 months. |
| SAPOL | About 2 years in total for domestic recruits: 3 months operational after graduation as part of continuous training, then permanent appointment as Constable after a further 18 months (from a public summaries; not verified). Transition recruits serve 6, 9 or 12 months depending on recognised service. |
| Tasmania Police | Recruits serve their first year on probation (recruitment site); under the Police Service Act 2003, non-commissioned appointment/promotion probation is up to 12 months as the Commissioner determines (extendable). Graduates are posted to a 24/7 station (Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport, Burnie) for at least 2 years. |
| NT Police | Constables: to the second anniversary of commencement (2 years), Police Administration Act s.16A(3)(a). ACPOs: 12 months from commencement. ARP: 12 months including training (CA 2022 cl.70(d)). The Commissioner may shorten or extend probation (by up to 6 months at a time). |
| AFP | Police graduates are probationary officers at Band 2.4 and stay there for at least 12 months and until the AFP workbook is signed off (by a supervisor who has supervised them for 3+ months), then move to 3.1. A formal probation period beyond this is not stated. PSO recruits start at 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training. |
Lateral programs usually shorten probation; the general rule is shown here with lateral exceptions where the force publishes them.
Probation matters because it limits what you can do: specialist positions, transfers and promotion usually wait until it's finished. The NT, for example, requires at least a year in General Duties after graduation before specialist positions. Read our guide to ranks and promotion to see how titles map between forces before you negotiate a starting point.
Deciding whether to move, and the questions to ask
Reasons a move can pay off
- ✓Higher pay or loadings at your level, especially with remote incentives
- ✓Higher employer super (Queensland 18%, AFP 15.4%)
- ✓Housing, relocation money and a choice of posting in some forces
- ✓A fresh start in a force that's actively recruiting experienced officers
What you can lose
- ✕Rank above the recognised cap, and time towards promotion
- ✕Defined benefit super growth and insurance cover
- ✕Long service leave accrual
- ✕A pay dip during the course and probation
Get these answers in writing before you resign
- ✓ Exactly which pay point and rank you'll be appointed on, during training, on probation and after
- ✓ How long probation will be, and what you can't do during it
- ✓ Whether any relocation money is a reimbursement, what it covers, and whether you'd have to repay it if you leave
- ✓ Whether the new force recognises any prior service for long service leave or other leave
- ✓ What happens to your current super and insurance on resignation (ask your fund)
- ✓ Where you're likely to be posted, and for how long
Your police association can help you read the fine print in your current force before you go; see police associations and unions. If you're an officer coming from overseas rather than interstate, start with our guides for UK officers and NZ officers.
What isn't published yet, and who can confirm it
- Victoria: the length of the prior-service training plan and the starting increment. Victoria Police recruitment can confirm on application.
- Queensland: the "up to $130k" figure for experienced officers comes from search extracts of the recruiting site. QPS recruiting can confirm your starting pay point.
- NSW: the Senior Constable level a PMP officer starts on, and the relocation amount. NSWPF recruitment can confirm.
- AFP and ACT: the Skilled Police Program is closed and the ACT lateral program's page wasn't available. Watch the AFP careers site.
- Long service leave portability into the state forces isn't published anywhere we found. Ask the receiving force and your association.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us through the corrections page.
Free email alerts
Get told when a force opens its next lateral intake
Lateral programs open and close without much notice. We'll email you when a force opens a transition intake, changes its relocation money or its pay rates move.
- ✓New lateral and transition intakes by force
- ✓Relocation incentive and pay changes
Frequently asked questions
Can police transfer between states in Australia?
Not as a straight transfer. Each force is a separate employer under its own Act, so you resign from one and are appointed by the other. Most forces run a lateral or transition program for serving officers that shortens the academy, recognises some prior service for pay and keeps you on probation for a period.
Do I keep my rank if I move to another police force?
Usually only up to a point. NSW's Professional Mobility Program recognises rank up to Senior Constable. WA recognises service up to fifth-year constable for pay and rank. Tasmania's program doesn't transfer rank at all, and SA appoints former sergeants and above as Senior Constable after probation. Expect to re-qualify for sergeant.
Which police force pays the most for interstate transfers?
On the top of the senior constable scale, NSW Police is highest at $139,688 and Tasmania Police lowest at $107,420, but these figures have different bases. What you'd actually earn depends on how much service the new force recognises, its roster loadings and its super. Use the pay comparison calculator for your own rank.
How long is the transition course for experienced police?
From each force's published program: 12 weeks for NSW's Professional Mobility Program at Goulburn and Tasmania's Accelerated Training Program, 13 weeks for WA's transitional course at Joondalup, and 15 weeks for SA's transition course. Victoria uses an individual skills-gap plan instead, and its course length isn't published.
Does my long service leave transfer to another police force?
Not automatically. Each force's long service leave is set by its own law or agreement. The AFP says prior Commonwealth, state, territory, local government and ADF service can be recognised for long service leave. For the state forces we found no published rule, so ask the new force in writing before you resign.
What happens to my police super if I change forces?
An accumulation balance stays yours: you can usually keep it or roll it into the new force's default fund. Defined benefit schemes are different, because the benefit is tied to service with that employer. Victoria's ESSS scheme is the main open one. Get advice from the fund before you resign.
Do I have to do the fitness test again?
Usually, yes. NSW's Professional Mobility Program has its own fitness standard including a beep test level of 7.1, and other forces apply their own testing as part of the lateral process. The NT's Accelerated Recruitment Program lists no fitness test but does require the swim.
Can AFP officers join a state police force?
Yes. AFP officers are sworn police, so the state lateral programs that accept serving Australian police generally apply, subject to each program's minimum service. Note that the NT program excludes Protective Service Officers. Going the other way, the AFP's Skilled Police Program is currently closed.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- WA Police Force: Information for transitional officers — service recognised up to fifth-year constable; 13-week course
- NSW Police: Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 397, 9 May 2025, pp 1238-1334
- NSW Police: Variation to the Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, made 12 Sep 2025, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 398, 28 Oct 2025, pp 421-442
- Victoria Police: Victoria Police (Police Officers, PSOs, Police Reservists and Police Recruits) Enterprise Agreement 2025, [2025] FWCA 1135, AE528554
- Victoria Police: Victoria Police: Salary and benefits
- QPS: Queensland Police Service Certified Agreement 2025 (QIRC CB/2025/116)
- QPS: QPS Certified Agreement 2025, Internet Archive copy (snapshot 31 Dec 2025)
- WA Police: Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024 (WAIRC, WES338)
- WA Police: WAIRC: Agreement WES338 registration page
- SAPOL: South Australia Police Enterprise Agreement 2021 (approved, SAET ET-21-00375; scanned PDF read by the scanned copy)
- SAPOL: AGD SA: SA Police Enterprise Agreement 2021
- Tasmania Police: Police Award No. 2 of 2026 (Consolidated), TIC T15311 of 2026 (read via Wayback Machine copy 2026-05-20)
- Tasmania Police: Tasmania Police Recruitment: Benefits
- NT Police: Northern Territory Police Force Consent Agreement 2022 (PAT-certified), NTPA copy
- NT Police: Northern Territory Police Force Consent Agreement 2019, NTPA copy
- AFP: Australian Federal Police Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 (FWC AE526995, [2024] FWCA 4231)
- AFP: AFP: Enterprise agreements (salary tables)
Related guides
Serving officers
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.