The WA Police Force at a glance
One force for the whole state, recruiting at home and overseas.
The Western Australia Police Force covers all of Western Australia, from Perth's suburbs to the Kimberley, the Pilbara and the Nullarbor. About 7,286 officers and Aboriginal Police Liaison Officers are covered by its industrial agreement. That vast geography is why so much of the WA package is about country service: free housing, district allowances and an attraction payment for hard-to-fill towns.
Officers and APLOs covered
≈7,286
2024 Agreement
Agreement expires
30 Jun 2027
no rise scheduled after Jul 2026
Free-housing towns
56
Schedule G
Pay rise 2024–26
12.75%
5%, 4%, 3.75%
Pay and conditions come from the Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024, registered by the WA Industrial Relations Commission on 13 May 2025 between the WA Police Union and the Commissioner. It consolidates the old Police Award 1965. The government described its shift allowance increases as the largest in more than 20 years.
Alongside sworn officers, WA has an Aboriginal Police Liaison Officer stream with its own pay scale, and Police Auxiliary Officers under a separate agreement. Specialist areas with allowances in the agreement include detectives and the Surveillance Unit, the Tactical Response Group, forensic services, Internal Affairs, Witness Protection, the Undercover Police Unit and officers at sea (a seagoing allowance).
Districts and regions
The WA Police Force's district structure wasn't part of the sources we checked. The agreement does distinguish metropolitan and country Officers in Charge, and pays extra leave for North West service.
Already a police officer overseas?
This force actively recruits experienced officers from overseas, including the UK, and sponsors a permanent visa. See police officers moving to Australia and our guide UK police to WA Police, plus visas for police officers and what happens to your UK police pension.
What does WA Police pay in 2026?
The final 3.75% rise of the 2024 Agreement took effect on 1 July 2026.
WA quotes base salaries: there's no loading or composite built in for constables to senior sergeants. Even so, a probationary constable on $94,651 earns more base salary than a first-year officer in any other state, about $2,840 a fortnight after tax before shift allowances. Commissioned officers' salaries already include an allowance for hours beyond 40 a week and weekend work.
Recruit-in-Training
- Pay points
- 1
- Lowest
- $74,309
Constable
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $94,651
- Highest
- $102,263
First Class Constable
- Pay points
- 2
- Lowest
- $107,977
- Highest
- $109,553
Senior Constable
- Pay points
- 6
- Lowest
- $115,722
- Highest
- $124,558
Sergeant
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $127,619
- Highest
- $135,005
Senior Sergeant
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $142,174
- Highest
- $151,652
Inspector
- Pay points
- 4
- Lowest
- $173,361
- Highest
- $185,897
Superintendent
- Pay points
- 4
- Lowest
- $195,250
- Highest
- $207,787
Commander
- Pay points
- 4
- Lowest
- $217,588
- Highest
- $230,124
| Rank | Pay points | Lowest | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recruit-in-Training | 1 | $74,309 | – |
| Constable | 5 | $94,651 | $102,263 |
| First Class Constable | 2 | $107,977 | $109,553 |
| Senior Constable | 6 | $115,722 | $124,558 |
| Sergeant | 5 | $127,619 | $135,005 |
| Senior Sergeant | 5 | $142,174 | $151,652 |
| Inspector | 4 | $173,361 | $185,897 |
| Superintendent | 4 | $195,250 | $207,787 |
| Commander | 4 | $217,588 | $230,124 |
Source: WA Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024, cl 10.1. Sergeant and Senior Sergeant Officer-in-Charge scales and grandfathered Category A/B/C Sergeant scales pay more; see the salary guide.
Progression is slower than in NSW or Queensland: you move up one increment after each two years of satisfactory service. Constables move to the 3rd-year rate when they finish probation and reach the 5th-year rate of $102,263. The full scales, including OIC and APLO pay, are on the WA police salary guide.
No pay rise scheduled after July 2026
The 2024 Agreement expires on 30 June 2027 and contains no further increase. Its replacement will be bargained under the Public Sector Wages Policy Statement 2026, which sets no fixed percentage cap, applies new agreements from registration and only "may consider" back pay to the old expiry date. Follow it on the WA police pay deal page.
See your WA take-home pay
Pick your rank and year, add night, evening and weekend shifts at the agreement's flat rates, and see your fortnightly pay after 2026-27 tax.
Shift pay, free housing and the regional incentives
WA pays shift work as flat dollar amounts per shift, not percentages. That makes WA shift pay worth the same to a constable as to a sergeant, and easy to calculate.
Weekend day shift (Saturday or Sunday)
- From 1 July 2026
- $74.11
Afternoon shift
- From 1 July 2026
- $84.35
Evening shift
- From 1 July 2026
- $101.13
Night shift
- From 1 July 2026
- $126.56
| Shift allowance (8-hour shift) | From 1 July 2026 |
|---|---|
| Weekend day shift (Saturday or Sunday) | $74.11 |
| Afternoon shift | $84.35 |
| Evening shift | $101.13 |
| Night shift | $126.56 |
Paid pro rata for 9, 10 and 12-hour shifts (a 10-hour shift is 1.25 times). Recruits-in-Training and commissioned officers generally don't receive them.
Worked example: a probationary constable on nights
Say you work four 8-hour night shifts and two weekend day shifts each fortnight. That adds $17,016 a year to your $94,651 base, for $111,667 gross. After tax you'd take home about $3,285 a fortnight, $445 more than on base salary alone. Overtime is on top: the agreement sets the hourly rate at annual salary ÷ 313 × 12 ÷ 80, which is $45.36 for a first-year constable, so time and a half is $68.04 an hour.
A WA night shift is worth $126.56 whether you're a probationary constable or a senior sergeant.
Country service
Housing is fully subsidised in the 56 Schedule G towns, including Port Hedland, Halls Creek, Derby, Fitzroy Crossing, Laverton, Meekatharra and Wyndham. The recruiting site also lists a one-off regional attraction payment (amount not published), district and locality allowances, extra annual leave, travel concessions, an air-conditioning subsidy and relocation costs, though not every location gets every incentive.
District allowance follows the WA public sector scheme. New public-sector rates from 1 July 2026 include $12,020 a year for the most remote grade (Fitzroy Crossing, Marble Bar, Nullagine and Wyndham), but whether those flow to police is not confirmed. Detectives receive an investigative skills allowance of $3,341 a year, and covert units receive 40% to 55% of base salary in lieu of shift and overtime pay.
Who can join, and the three-stage process
WA has no formal education requirement and no written exam, which makes it one of the more accessible forces to apply to.
WA Police eligibility
- ✓ Aged 17 years 6 months to apply (18 on appointment).
- ✓ Australian or New Zealand citizen, or Australian permanent resident.
- ✓ Current manual 'C' or automatic 'C-A' driver licence (provisional is OK).
- ✓ Current first aid certificate HLTAID003 or HLTAID011 (can be obtained within 90 days of applying).
- ✓ No formal qualifications required.
- ✓ A criminal record is not automatically disqualifying.
- ✓ Visible tattoos are assessed: no face tattoos; neck and hand tattoos case by case.
The process has three stages and takes about three to four months, which is quick by Australian standards. Final-stage costs (first aid, medical, vision, bankruptcy check, fingerprints and DNA) are reimbursed.
- 1
Online application
With ID, licence history and photos of visible tattoos and piercings.
- 2
Stage 1: initial assessments
Integrity check, tattoo review, psychological evaluation and the Physical Performance Evaluation (PPE).
- 3
Stage 2: panel interview
Assesses teamwork, drive and integrity, analytical and problem solving, adaptability and judgement, and communication; followed by a holistic review panel.
- 4
Stage 3: final assessments
Health and medical (P58 standard), vision, full background and integrity check, fingerprints and DNA, and a bankruptcy check. Final-stage costs (first aid, medical, vision, bankruptcy check, fingerprints/DNA) are reimbursed.
- 5
Selection pool
Placement is not guaranteed; you must confirm your physical ability before recruit school. The 3 stages take about 3-4 months.
The Stage 2 panel assesses teamwork, drive and integrity, problem solving, adaptability and judgement, and communication. Prepare real examples for each with our WA police interview guide, and read the full how to become a police officer in WA walkthrough. Because there is no written test, our WA police entrance exam page focuses on the psychological evaluation.
The Physical Performance Evaluation
WA's fitness test sits in Stage 1, alongside the integrity check and psychological evaluation. It has six parts, with separate male and female standards for the beep test and agility run.
Illinois Agility Test
- Standard
- 20 seconds or less (male) / 22 seconds or less (female)
Sit-ups
- Standard
- Minimum 1
Push-ups
- Standard
- Minimum 10, on toes
Grip strength
- Standard
- 30 kg
Bag lift and carry
- Standard
- 35 kg
Beep test
- Standard
- Level 7.01 (male) / 6.01 (female)
| Test | Standard | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Illinois Agility Test | 20 seconds or less (male) / 22 seconds or less (female) | |
| Sit-ups | Minimum 1 | |
| Push-ups | Minimum 10, on toes | |
| Grip strength | 30 kg | |
| Bag lift and carry | 35 kg | |
| Beep test | Level 7.01 (male) / 6.01 (female) |
Medical to standard 'P58'. Vision unaided at least 6/9 in the better eye and 6/18 in the other; contact lens wearers corrected to 6/6 binocular or 6/9 each eye; peripheral vision at least 70 degrees each side.
The male beep standard of 7.01 is close to NSW's Level 7.1, and higher than Victoria's Level 5.01. The 35 kg bag lift and carry is unusual among Australian forces, so practise it. You must also confirm you're still physically able before recruit school starts. Our WA police fitness test guide has a full plan.
Train for the WA PPE
The beep test, Illinois agility run, bag carry and strength tests explained, with male and female standards and a plan to pass.
Joondalup, recruit pay and probation
Entry-level recruits train for 28 weeks at the WA Police Academy in Joondalup, about 30 km north of the Perth CBD, and are paid the whole time.
Recruit in training
$74,309
a year, for 28 weeks
Probationary constable
$94,651
after graduation
Probation
18 months
6 months for transitional officers
The Recruit-in-Training rate is the highest recruit pay of the large forces: $74,309 against $61,187 in Victoria. Regional recruits get free on-site accommodation and can ask to be placed in their home district for their first four to six years, under a $15.6 million 2025-26 Budget measure; about 10% of Academy trainees come from regional WA.
After graduation you serve 18 months as a probationary constable. Our WA Police Academy guide covers what to expect at Joondalup.
UK, Irish, NZ and interstate officers
WA launched Australia's first overseas police recruitment campaign in October 2022, aimed at the UK, Ireland and New Zealand, with a target of 750 officers over five years. Applications were listed as open when we checked.
Eligible services
- International transition
- UK and Republic of Ireland (the FAQ also lists New Zealand)
Experience
- International transition
- More than 2 years 8 months' operational service with probation complete (minimum 3 years by visa nomination)
Break in service
- International transition
- No more than 18 months
Age
- International transition
- Under 55 at visa nomination
Visa
- International transition
- Employer Nomination Scheme subclass 186 (labour agreement); family can be included; 2–6 months processing
Training
- International transition
- 13-week paid transitional course at Joondalup, then 6 months' probation
Pay and rank
- International transition
- 3–5 years' service = Constable 2nd to 5th year; 5+ years = Constable 5th year and eligible to test for First Class or Senior Constable; up to 9 years recognised
| Requirement | International transition |
|---|---|
| Eligible services | UK and Republic of Ireland (the FAQ also lists New Zealand) |
| Experience | More than 2 years 8 months' operational service with probation complete (minimum 3 years by visa nomination) |
| Break in service | No more than 18 months |
| Age | Under 55 at visa nomination |
| Visa | Employer Nomination Scheme subclass 186 (labour agreement); family can be included; 2–6 months processing |
| Training | 13-week paid transitional course at Joondalup, then 6 months' probation |
| Pay and rank | 3–5 years' service = Constable 2nd to 5th year; 5+ years = Constable 5th year and eligible to test for First Class or Senior Constable; up to 9 years recognised |
Relocation dollar amounts are not published. Early campaign figures (1,556 applications in year one; first squad of 30 in September 2023) come from media statement summaries.
For a UK officer with five or more years' service, that means starting on $102,263 in WA. Interstate and NZ officers do the same 13-week course and 6 months' probation, with recruitment taking up to four months. Former WA officers can be exempted from the Academy and reappointed at a rank and salary that recognises prior service.
Ranks and how promotion works
WA's early ranks are time-based, with study and assessments at each step. Sergeant and above is by merit selection.
- 1
Constable (years 1–5)
Years 1–5$94,651 rising to $102,263. Probationary for the first 18 months.
- 2
First Class Constable
Year 5After 5 years with all studies and assessments complete. From $107,977.
- 3
Senior Constable
Year 9After a further 4 years (9 in total), with studies and assessments. From $115,722 to $124,558.
- 4
Sergeant, Senior Sergeant and commissioned ranks
MeritMerit selection. Base Sergeant tops out at $135,005; Inspector starts at $173,361. Commissioned officers are recommended for permanent appointment after 3 years.
Running a country station pays noticeably more. The Country Officer-in-Charge scales are below; they include an allowance for hours beyond 40 a week.
Sergeant (Schedule H OIC Country)
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $149,156
- Highest
- $156,539
Sergeant (Country OIC Category A)
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $150,827
- Highest
- $158,211
Sergeant (Country OIC Category B)
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $152,731
- Highest
- $160,114
Sergeant (Country OIC Category C)
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $155,282
- Highest
- $162,663
Senior Sergeant (Schedule H OIC Country)
- Pay points
- 5
- Lowest
- $163,708
- Highest
- $173,188
| Country OIC scale | Pay points | Lowest | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sergeant (Schedule H OIC Country) | 5 | $149,156 | $156,539 |
| Sergeant (Country OIC Category A) | 5 | $150,827 | $158,211 |
| Sergeant (Country OIC Category B) | 5 | $152,731 | $160,114 |
| Sergeant (Country OIC Category C) | 5 | $155,282 | $162,663 |
| Senior Sergeant (Schedule H OIC Country) | 5 | $163,708 | $173,188 |
Details of WA's promotion exams weren't verified. See the WA police promotion guide.
How much leave do WA police get?
WA gives six weeks of annual leave, an extra week in the North West, and three paid "rest days" a year in recognition of the demands of policing.
Annual leave
- What the agreement says
- 240 hours (6 weeks) a year on full pay, calendar-year basis, plus 40 hours a year for service in the North West (cl 30.1). Annual leave loading is 18.75% on a maximum of 5 weeks, paid in December, capped at 17.5% of 5 weeks' salary of a public service Level 8.1 (cl 30.9). Leave can be accumulated only with written permission (cl 30.4).
Illness and injury leave
- What the agreement says
- The Employer may grant paid illness or injury leave of up to 168 days in a calendar year, and further periods on the recommendation of the Health, Welfare and Safety divisional superintendent (cl 38.5). No certificate is needed for 5 days a year (maximum 3 consecutive), plus up to 10 further single days on a health practitioner certificate (cl 38.3).
Long service leave
- What the agreement says
- 520 hours (13 weeks) after 10 years' continuous service (appointed on or after 10 Jan 1995; 7 years if appointed earlier), then 520 hours for each further 7 years (cl 33.1).
Parental leave
- What the agreement says
- 52 weeks' parental leave, including 560 hours (14 weeks) paid (cl 35). The partner's 1 week of leave at the birth is taken from the partner's own leave or as unpaid leave, not as extra paid leave (cl 35.25).
Rest days
- What the agreement says
- 3 paid 'rest days' a year, credited on 31 March in recognition of the rigours of policing, provided the annual leave balance at the previous 31 December was not over 240 hours; must be used within 12 months and is not paid out (cl 31).
| Leave type | What the agreement says |
|---|---|
| Annual leave | 240 hours (6 weeks) a year on full pay, calendar-year basis, plus 40 hours a year for service in the North West (cl 30.1). Annual leave loading is 18.75% on a maximum of 5 weeks, paid in December, capped at 17.5% of 5 weeks' salary of a public service Level 8.1 (cl 30.9). Leave can be accumulated only with written permission (cl 30.4). |
| Illness and injury leave | The Employer may grant paid illness or injury leave of up to 168 days in a calendar year, and further periods on the recommendation of the Health, Welfare and Safety divisional superintendent (cl 38.5). No certificate is needed for 5 days a year (maximum 3 consecutive), plus up to 10 further single days on a health practitioner certificate (cl 38.3). |
| Long service leave | 520 hours (13 weeks) after 10 years' continuous service (appointed on or after 10 Jan 1995; 7 years if appointed earlier), then 520 hours for each further 7 years (cl 33.1). |
| Parental leave | 52 weeks' parental leave, including 560 hours (14 weeks) paid (cl 35). The partner's 1 week of leave at the birth is taken from the partner's own leave or as unpaid leave, not as extra paid leave (cl 35.25). |
| Rest days | 3 paid 'rest days' a year, credited on 31 March in recognition of the rigours of policing, provided the annual leave balance at the previous 31 December was not over 240 hours; must be used within 12 months and is not paid out (cl 31). |
Source: WA Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024, cl 30-38.
Leave loading is 18.75% on up to five weeks, paid in December. The illness and injury leave provision is unusually flexible: up to 168 days a year at the employer's discretion, which matters because, as far as we can tell, WA police sit outside the ordinary workers' compensation scheme. More in the WA police leave guide.
Super and retirement
WA officers receive the 12% Superannuation Guarantee, normally into GESB, the WA public sector fund, or a fund of your choice. We found no police-specific top-up and no open defined benefit scheme for new officers.
GESB Super or West State Super (default), or a fund of choice
- Status
- Open
- Notes
- WA public sector employees have had choice of fund since 30 March 2012; officers who don't choose are defaulted to GESB (GESB Super or West State Super), per WA Treasury's choice-of-fund brochure (September 2026).
Gold State Super
- Status
- Closed
- Notes
- Defined benefit scheme, closed to new members in December 1995 (WA Treasury brochure).
| Scheme | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| GESB Super or West State Super (default), or a fund of choice | Open | WA public sector employees have had choice of fund since 30 March 2012; officers who don't choose are defaulted to GESB (GESB Super or West State Super), per WA Treasury's choice-of-fund brochure (September 2026). |
| Gold State Super | Closed | Defined benefit scheme, closed to new members in December 1995 (WA Treasury brochure). |
That makes WA's super the least generous of the four big forces: Queensland pays 18%, and Victoria's defined benefit scheme can pay 7.5 times final salary. The higher WA base salary partly offsets this, but over a 30-year career the gap compounds. The default insurance cover for new officers in GESB wasn't verified.
Retirement age: Not verified. We couldn't confirm a compulsory retirement age for WA police. Model your super in the WA police super guide.
Injury, illness and medical retirement
WA police have historically fallen outside the ordinary workers' compensation scheme (our inference from the purpose of the 2021 reforms, not confirmed). Instead, an injured officer relies on paid illness and injury leave, employer-paid work-related medical and hospital costs, and since 2021 a dedicated compensation scheme for medical retirement.
Lump sum for work-related medical retirement
- Amount (2021 figures)
- Impairment payment plus up to 12 months' salary, capped at $239,179
Enhanced cap in certain circumstances
- Amount (2021 figures)
- Up to $418,563
Vocational support and retraining
- Amount (2021 figures)
- $16,743
Existing in-service and post-service medical entitlements
- Amount (2021 figures)
- Kept
| Police Amendment (Compensation Scheme) Act 2021 | Amount (2021 figures) |
|---|---|
| Lump sum for work-related medical retirement | Impairment payment plus up to 12 months' salary, capped at $239,179 |
| Enhanced cap in certain circumstances | Up to $418,563 |
| Vocational support and retraining | $16,743 |
| Existing in-service and post-service medical entitlements | Kept |
These are 2021 figures, indexed each year to WA workers' compensation amounts; current values weren't found.
Because the scheme is less familiar than WorkCover, get advice from the WA Police Union early if you're injured. Read our WA police workers comp guide and medical retirement guide. If you need support now, call Lifeline on 13 11 14, Beyond Blue on 1300 22 4636, or 000 in an emergency.
Workforce and recent news
The headlines in WA are about money and numbers: the last pay rise of the current deal, a new wages policy for the next one, and a political fight over whether police numbers are falling.
2 July 2026
- What happened
- Public-sector district allowance rates improved from 1 Jul 2026
- Detail
- The CPSU/CSA reported new District Allowance rates operative 1 Jul 2026 for the public sector, including a new Grade 6 of $12,020 for Fitzroy Crossing, Marble Bar, Nullagine and Wyndham. Whether police receive them is not confirmed.
1 July 2026
- What happened
- Final 3.75% pay rise under the 2024 Agreement
- Detail
- The last scheduled increase took effect: Probationary Constable now $94,651 and Recruit-in-Training $74,309. No further increase is scheduled before the agreement expires on 30 Jun 2027.
26 May 2026
- What happened
- New Public Sector Wages Policy Statement covers police
- Detail
- The 2026 statement applies to WA Police Force agreements, sets no fixed percentage cap and makes retrospective pay discretionary. The next police agreement is due after the current one expires on 30 Jun 2027.
18 March 2026
- What happened
- Opposition claims police numbers have fallen
- Detail
- Shadow Police Minister Adam Hort claimed headcount fell from 7,360 (Apr 2025) to 7,341 (Jan 2026) with Academy intakes falling. Political claim from a public summaries; not verified.
1 July 2025
- What happened
- 4% pay rise under the 2024 Agreement
- Detail
- The second increase took effect (Probationary Constable $91,230).
26 May 2025
- What happened
- $15.6m for regional recruits
- Detail
- The 2025-26 Budget funded free on-site Academy accommodation for regional recruits and home-district placement for their first 4-6 years; about 10% of Academy trainees are from regional WA.
13 May 2025
- What happened
- 2024 Agreement registered
- Detail
- The WAIRC registered the Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024 ([2025] WAIRC 00286), with increases back-dated to 1 Jul 2024.
13 December 2024
- What happened
- Police accept 12.75% pay offer
- Detail
- The WAPU Board accepted the Government's third offer: 12.75% over 3 years and, in the Government's words, the largest increase in police shift allowances in more than 20 years.
| Date | What happened | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| 2 July 2026 | Public-sector district allowance rates improved from 1 Jul 2026 | The CPSU/CSA reported new District Allowance rates operative 1 Jul 2026 for the public sector, including a new Grade 6 of $12,020 for Fitzroy Crossing, Marble Bar, Nullagine and Wyndham. Whether police receive them is not confirmed. |
| 1 July 2026 | Final 3.75% pay rise under the 2024 Agreement | The last scheduled increase took effect: Probationary Constable now $94,651 and Recruit-in-Training $74,309. No further increase is scheduled before the agreement expires on 30 Jun 2027. |
| 26 May 2026 | New Public Sector Wages Policy Statement covers police | The 2026 statement applies to WA Police Force agreements, sets no fixed percentage cap and makes retrospective pay discretionary. The next police agreement is due after the current one expires on 30 Jun 2027. |
| 18 March 2026 | Opposition claims police numbers have fallen | Shadow Police Minister Adam Hort claimed headcount fell from 7,360 (Apr 2025) to 7,341 (Jan 2026) with Academy intakes falling. Political claim from a public summaries; not verified. |
| 1 July 2025 | 4% pay rise under the 2024 Agreement | The second increase took effect (Probationary Constable $91,230). |
| 26 May 2025 | $15.6m for regional recruits | The 2025-26 Budget funded free on-site Academy accommodation for regional recruits and home-district placement for their first 4-6 years; about 10% of Academy trainees are from regional WA. |
| 13 May 2025 | 2024 Agreement registered | The WAIRC registered the Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024 ([2025] WAIRC 00286), with increases back-dated to 1 Jul 2024. |
| 13 December 2024 | Police accept 12.75% pay offer | The WAPU Board accepted the Government's third offer: 12.75% over 3 years and, in the Government's words, the largest increase in police shift allowances in more than 20 years. |
The Opposition's headcount claim and early international campaign figures are unverified.
For applicants, the key date is December 2026, when bargaining for the replacement agreement is due to start. If you join in 2027, your pay rises will depend on that deal.
Pros and cons of working for WA Police
A fair read, based on the agreement and the evidence above.
Where WA is strong
- ✓The highest first-year base salary of any state force ($94,651).
- ✓The best-paid academy of the big forces: $74,309 for 28 weeks.
- ✓No written exam and no formal education requirement.
- ✓A direct, visa-sponsored route for UK, Irish and NZ officers with service recognised.
- ✓Free housing in 56 country towns and generous regional incentives.
- ✓Flat shift allowances that are worth as much to juniors as to seniors.
- ✓Three extra paid rest days a year.
Where WA is weaker
- ✕Only the 12% minimum super, with no open defined benefit scheme.
- ✕No pay rise scheduled after July 2026, and back pay in the next deal is discretionary.
- ✕Slow progression: increments every 2 years; Senior Constable after 9 years.
- ✕An 18-month probation, longer than NSW or Queensland.
- ✕Outside the ordinary workers' compensation system.
- ✕Several amounts (attraction payment, district allowance for police) aren't published.
If starting pay and a straightforward entry process matter most, WA is hard to beat. If long-term super matters more, compare Queensland and Victoria on the forces comparison hub.
What we couldn't confirm (and who can)
We'd rather tell you what's unknown than guess.
Public holiday pay rate
- What it means for you
- No public-holiday penalty found in the agreement
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Union
Units for on-call, close-call and standby
- What it means for you
- $9.28 / $13.87 / $18.41, unit not stated
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Union, the agreement text
Regional attraction payment amounts
- What it means for you
- Not published
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Force recruitment
New district allowance rates for police
- What it means for you
- Public-sector rates rose 1 Jul 2026; police flow-on unconfirmed
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Union
Default GESB product and insurance
- What it means for you
- Not verified
- Who can confirm
- GESB
Current medical-retirement caps
- What it means for you
- Only 2021 figures known
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Force HR
Compulsory retirement age
- What it means for you
- Not verified
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Force HR
Promotion exam system
- What it means for you
- Details not verified
- Who can confirm
- WA Police Force
| Open question | What it means for you | Who can confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Public holiday pay rate | No public-holiday penalty found in the agreement | WA Police Union |
| Units for on-call, close-call and standby | $9.28 / $13.87 / $18.41, unit not stated | WA Police Union, the agreement text |
| Regional attraction payment amounts | Not published | WA Police Force recruitment |
| New district allowance rates for police | Public-sector rates rose 1 Jul 2026; police flow-on unconfirmed | WA Police Union |
| Default GESB product and insurance | Not verified | GESB |
| Current medical-retirement caps | Only 2021 figures known | WA Police Force HR |
| Compulsory retirement age | Not verified | WA Police Force HR |
| Promotion exam system | Details not verified | WA Police Force |
How this page stays current
Every WA pay and allowance figure here is read from our WA data file, taken from the registered agreement. When the replacement agreement is registered, the tables update across the site.
Getting ready for the Stage 2 panel? The AI mock interview has two free scored answers a day; full access is A$34.99 for 30 days.
Free email alerts
Everything changing at WA Police: pay, intakes and rules
One email when something moves at WA Police: the bargaining for the agreement that replaces the 2024 deal, whether new district allowance rates reach police, international and interstate intakes, and entry changes.
- ✓Bargaining and back-pay news for 2027
- ✓International and regional recruiting updates
Frequently asked questions
How much does a WA police officer earn in 2026?
From 1 July 2026 a recruit earns $74,309 at the Academy, a probationary constable $94,651, a top-step senior constable $124,558, a top-step sergeant $135,005 and a new inspector $173,361. These are base salaries; shift allowances are paid on top as flat dollar amounts per shift, and overtime is extra.
Do you get paid at the WA Police Academy?
Yes. Recruits are paid the Recruit-in-Training rate, $74,309 a year from 1 July 2026, for the whole 28-week course at Joondalup. Regional recruits also get free on-site accommodation, funded in the 2025-26 Budget.
Is there an entrance exam for WA Police?
No. WA Police lists no written aptitude or cognitive entrance exam, and its FAQ says there's no standardised aptitude test score. Instead, Stage 1 includes a psychological evaluation, an integrity check and the Physical Performance Evaluation, followed by a panel interview at Stage 2.
What beep test level do you need for WA Police?
Level 7.01 (male) / 6.01 (female). The Physical Performance Evaluation also includes the Illinois agility test (20 seconds male, 22 seconds female), 10 push-ups on toes, at least 1 sit-up, 30 kg grip strength and a 35 kg bag lift and carry.
Can UK police officers join WA Police?
Yes. Serving officers from the UK and Ireland (and New Zealand, per the FAQ) with more than 2 years 8 months' operational service, completed probation and a break of no more than 18 months can apply. You need to be under 55 at visa nomination, come on a subclass 186 visa, and do a 13-week paid transitional course at Joondalup followed by 6 months' probation.
Do WA police get free housing?
In 56 country towns listed in Schedule G of the agreement, including Port Hedland, Halls Creek, Derby, Laverton and Ravensthorpe, housing is fully subsidised. Country officers in charge are provided accommodation. Other regional postings may come with subsidised government housing and other incentives.
When is the next WA police pay rise?
None is scheduled. The 3.75% rise on 1 July 2026 was the last under the 2024 agreement, which expires on 30 June 2027. Bargaining is due to start six months before expiry under the 2026 Public Sector Wages Policy, which sets no fixed cap but makes back pay to the expiry date discretionary.
What is the retirement age for WA Police?
We couldn't verify a compulsory retirement age for WA police. For international recruits, the practical age limit is being under 55 at visa nomination. Check with WA Police Human Resources or the WA Police Union if it affects your plans.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Western Australia Police Force Industrial Agreement 2024 (WAIRC, WES338) — pay, allowances, overtime, leave
- WAIRC: Agreement WES338 registration page
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Salary and allowances
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Entry-level officer recruitment process
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Training at the Academy
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): FAQs
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Regional opportunities
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): International transition
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Interstate transition
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Information for transitional officers
- WA Public Sector Wages Policy Statement 2026 (26 May 2026)
- WA Government media statement: WA Police officers accept Cook Government pay offer (13 Dec 2024)
- WA Government media statement: $15.6 million for accommodation to future-proof regional policing (26 May 2025)
- Police Amendment (Compensation Scheme) Act 2021 (WA)
- WA Government media statement: Landmark police compensation legislation introduced to Parliament (21 Oct 2021)
- GESB: West State Super (page blocked direct fetch)
- CPSU/CSA: Union secures further improved District Allowance outcome (2 Jul 2026)
- Loop WA: Police numbers fall under Whitby as violent crime rises (18 Mar 2026; political claim)
- WA Government media statement: WA Government and Police Force launch international recruitment campaign (15 Oct 2022; public summaries)
- WA Government media statement: First squad of international recruits joins the WA Police Force (25 Sep 2023; public summaries)
Related guides
Forces
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.