What does it take to join NT Police in 2026?
A strong starting package, free housing and a big commitment: you go where you're sent.
The Northern Territory Police Force recruits for a jurisdiction like no other in Australia: a small population spread across a huge area, with many remote Aboriginal communities. That shapes everything about joining. The pay package is strong, housing is provided or paid for, and remote service is rewarded, but you must accept a posting anywhere in the Territory, and postings are decided by organisational need, not your preference.
Recruit Constable
$74,619
first 4 months of training
Constable 1 base
$87,005
after graduating
Constable 1 package
$111,366
with 23% CA and 5% GPA
Relocation
$20,000
reimbursement, maximum
Pay is set by the Northern Territory Police Force Consent Agreement 2025, voted up by 92% of members in September 2025: rises of 5%, 4%, 3% and 3% over four years. The rates on this page are the ones NTPFES publishes on its recruiting pages. For every rank, including our estimates where NTPFES doesn't publish a figure, see the NT police salary guide or the NT Police profile.
How we built this page
Eligibility, steps, fitness standards, training and pay come from NTPFES's own recruiting pages, read on 9 October 2026. The 2025 agreement text isn't public, so where a detail depends on it we say so. We're independent of NT Police, NTPFES and the NT Police Association.
Five ways into NT Police
Most forces have one entry route. The NT has five, each with its own course and pay.
Constable
- Who it's for
- Year 12, trade or life experience
- Training
- 30 weeks
- Probation
- 2 years
- Starting pay
- $87,005 base ($111,366 package)
Accelerated Recruitment Program
- Who it's for
- 2+ years sworn in Australia or NZ
- Training
- Shorter ARP course
- Probation
- 12 months incl. training
- Starting pay
- By years of service, up to $103,977 base
Aboriginal Community Police Officer
- Who it's for
- Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander; Year 10, trade or life experience
- Training
- 24 weeks
- Probation
- 12 months
- Starting pay
- $74,961 base ($95,950 package)
Police Public Safety Officer
- Who it's for
- Same core eligibility; town-based roles
- Training
- 18 weeks
- Probation
- Not stated
- Starting pay
- $74,069 base ($94,808 package)
JESCC Auxiliary (communications)
- Who it's for
- Typing 40 wpm at 95% accuracy
- Training
- 12 weeks
- Probation
- 12 months
- Starting pay
- $71,392 base ($91,381 package)
| Pathway | Who it's for | Training | Probation | Starting pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Constable | Year 12, trade or life experience | 30 weeks | 2 years | $87,005 base ($111,366 package) |
| Accelerated Recruitment Program | 2+ years sworn in Australia or NZ | Shorter ARP course | 12 months incl. training | By years of service, up to $103,977 base |
| Aboriginal Community Police Officer | Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander; Year 10, trade or life experience | 24 weeks | 12 months | $74,961 base ($95,950 package) |
| Police Public Safety Officer | Same core eligibility; town-based roles | 18 weeks | Not stated | $74,069 base ($94,808 package) |
| JESCC Auxiliary (communications) | Typing 40 wpm at 95% accuracy | 12 weeks | 12 months | $71,392 base ($91,381 package) |
Pay from NTPFES recruiting pages. Packages add the 23% Consolidated Allowance and the 5% General Policing Allowance, which aren't paid during training.
Most readers will take the Constable route, which this guide follows step by step. If you're already a sworn officer, jump to the Accelerated Recruitment Program. If you're Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander, or you want a town-based role without remote postings, read the ACPO and PPSO section before you choose.
Are you eligible? The NT Police checklist
Nine requirements for the Constable pathway, from NTPFES.
NT Police Constable entry requirements
- ✓ At least 18 at commencement of training; no upper age limit.
- ✓ Australian citizen, permanent resident, NZ citizen, or NZ citizen on a Special Category Visa; NTPF does not sponsor visas.
- ✓ Year 12 (or equivalent), or a completed trade certificate, or considerable employment experience and life skills.
- ✓ Current provisional or open driver licence to drive a manual vehicle.
- ✓ Able to swim 100m without interruption (forward-facing stroke: breaststroke, freestyle or butterfly).
- ✓ Qualification equivalent to Provide First Aid.
- ✓ General computing skills; physically fit and healthy; good character.
- ✓ Must accept posting anywhere in the NT; postings are set by organisational need, not choice.
- ✓ Full disclosure of criminal, traffic, juvenile, DVO and bankruptcy history; non-disclosure is likely to mean permanent exclusion.
The NT is more flexible than most forces on education: Year 12 is one option, but so is a completed trade certificate, or "considerable employment experience and life skills". There's no upper age limit, and a provisional licence is fine as long as you can drive a manual vehicle. If you've only ever driven an automatic, take some lessons before you apply.
Disclose everything
NTPFES requires full disclosure of criminal, traffic, juvenile, domestic violence order and bankruptcy history, and says non-disclosure is likely to mean permanent exclusion. A minor matter you declare is often manageable. One you hide and they find isn't.
NT Police doesn't sponsor visas, so you need citizenship or permanent residency (or NZ citizenship, including on a Special Category Visa) before you apply. Overseas officers should check our guide for UK police officers moving to Australia.
The eight NT Police recruitment steps, and how to prepare
In the order NTPFES publishes them on its Constable page.
- 1
Online application
Step 1Apply online through NTPFES. How to prepare: Gather a full history before you start: every address, job, licence and any criminal, traffic, juvenile, DVO or bankruptcy matter. NT Police says non-disclosure is likely to mean permanent exclusion, so disclose everything, even if it seems minor.
- 2
Suitability background checks
Step 2Criminal and traffic history checks. Declared matters may go to an Integrity Committee. How to prepare: Nothing to sit, but declared matters may go to an Integrity Committee. If you have an old matter, write a short, factual account of what happened and what has changed since.
- 3
Cognitive assessment
Step 3Computer-based cognitive and psychological testing. How to prepare: NTPFES doesn't name the test provider, so practise general reasoning (verbal, numerical and abstract) and do the psychological questionnaire honestly. Use a quiet room and a reliable computer.
- 4
Fitness assessment
Step 4Push-ups, plank, farmer's carry, beep test and 100m swim (see fitness standards). How to prepare: Train every part, not just the beep test: a 90-second plank is longer than most forces ask for, and the 20 kg-a-hand farmer's carry tests grip. Practise the 100 m swim without stopping or touching the sides.
- 5
Panel interview
Step 5Panel interview. How to prepare: Prepare STAR examples for teamwork, communication, integrity, resilience and working with diverse communities. Be ready to explain why the Territory, and that you'll accept a posting anywhere in it.
- 6
Referee checks
Step 6Referee checks. How to prepare: Choose referees who know your work and character well, and warn them a call is coming. A referee who can't be reached slows everything down.
- 7
Pre-employment medical
Step 7Against NTPF police medical standards: some conditions are disqualifying, others assessed case by case; corrected vision within parameters is acceptable; colour blindness assessed case by case. How to prepare: If you wear glasses or have a past injury or condition, bring records. Corrected vision within the standard is accepted and colour blindness is assessed case by case.
- 8
Probity checks
Step 8Final probity checks. How to prepare: Final checks before an offer. Keep your contact details current and tell Recruitment about any change, such as a new traffic matter, straight away.
Postings are decided by organisational need, not choice. If you can't commit to going anywhere in the Territory, don't apply yet.
The cognitive assessment and psychological testing
Computer-based, and the provider isn't published.
Step 3 combines computer-based cognitive and psychological testing. NTPFES doesn't publish the provider, the number of sections or a pass mark, and no separate interview with a psychologist is described on the pages we read. That makes general preparation the best approach.
Prepare like this
- ✓Practise mixed reasoning sets: verbal, numerical and abstract patterns.
- ✓Work on speed with accuracy, using a timer.
- ✓Read the instructions for each section carefully before you start.
- ✓Answer the psychological questionnaire as yourself, consistently.
Avoid this
- ✕Paying for a course that claims to copy the NT test. The format isn't published.
- ✕Doing the test tired, rushed or on an unreliable device.
- ✕Over-thinking personality items to look 'tough'. Inconsistency stands out.
- ✕Leaving maths practice too late if numbers aren't your strength.
Our free entrance exam practice tool has reasoning sets you can use to warm up, and the NT police entrance test guide explains what each kind of question looks like.
The NT Police fitness test and 100 m swim
Five parts: strength, endurance, grip, aerobic fitness and swimming.
Push-ups
- Standard
- 10 at a 2-second cadence
Prone bridge (plank)
- Standard
- 90 seconds
Farmer's carry
- Standard
- 20kg in each hand, 5 x 20m (100m total)
- Detail
- Walking pace; weights down for a maximum of 5 seconds at each turn.
Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test)
- Standard
- Level 6.1
Swim
- Standard
- 100m forward stroke without touching the bottom or sides
- Detail
- Constable and ARP applicants only.
| Test | Standard | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Push-ups | 10 at a 2-second cadence | |
| Prone bridge (plank) | 90 seconds | |
| Farmer's carry | 20kg in each hand, 5 x 20m (100m total) | Walking pace; weights down for a maximum of 5 seconds at each turn. |
| Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test) | Level 6.1 | |
| Swim | 100m forward stroke without touching the bottom or sides | Constable and ARP applicants only. |
The fitness assessment applies to PPSO, ACPO and Constable applicants (not ARP or Auxiliary per the selection lists); ARP applicants still need the swim.
The beep test level of 6.1 is middle of the pack nationally, but the 90-second plank is one of the longest holds any Australian force asks for, and the farmer's carry (20 kg in each hand, five 20 m lengths at walking pace, weights down for no more than five seconds at each turn) is a real grip test. The swim must be continuous, using a forward-facing stroke, without touching the bottom or sides.
A simple plan
Run intervals twice a week to lift your beep test level, ideally with beep test audio. Add planks, push-ups to a two-second beat and heavy carries two or three times a week. If you're not a confident swimmer, book lessons now: the swim is a pass-or-fail requirement and it's the one many land-based athletes neglect.
Check yourself against the NT standard
Enter your beep test level, push-ups and plank time to see whether you'd pass NT Police's test today, and how it compares with the other forces.
Full training plans are in our NT Police fitness test guide, and you can practise the shuttle run with our free beep test audio.
The panel interview, referees, medical and probity
The last four steps decide whether you get an offer.
NTPFES describes step 5 simply as a panel interview. Expect behavioural questions ("tell us about a time when…") and questions about why you want to police in the Territory. Panels want to see that you understand remote and cross-cultural policing, can cope with isolation, and have thought about being posted far from family.
Why the NT?
- What to show
- A realistic understanding of remote service, cultural diversity and the posting commitment
Working with communities
- What to show
- Times you built trust with people from a different background
Resilience
- What to show
- How you've coped with pressure, isolation or a setback, and what you do to recover
Integrity
- What to show
- A time you did the right thing when it was harder or cost you something
Teamwork
- What to show
- Your specific contribution to a team outcome
| Likely theme | What to show |
|---|---|
| Why the NT? | A realistic understanding of remote service, cultural diversity and the posting commitment |
| Working with communities | Times you built trust with people from a different background |
| Resilience | How you've coped with pressure, isolation or a setback, and what you do to recover |
| Integrity | A time you did the right thing when it was harder or cost you something |
| Teamwork | Your specific contribution to a team outcome |
NTPFES doesn't publish its interview competencies. These themes are our guidance based on the role.
Practise your NT panel answers
Answer police-style questions by typing or speaking and get a STAR score, the top fix and a model answer. Two free scored answers a day.
After the interview come referee checks, the pre-employment medical against NT Police medical standards and final probity checks. Some medical conditions are disqualifying and others are assessed case by case. More question ideas are in our NT Police interview guide.
The College at Berrimah, recruit pay and housing
30 weeks in Darwin, paid, with accommodation sorted.
Constable recruits train at the NT Police, Fire and Emergency Services College, Peter McAulay Centre, Berrimah (Darwin). The Constable page says the course runs 30 weeks, although NTPFES's PPSO FAQ calls it "the 32-week Constable course", so plan for up to 32. Graduates receive the Diploma of Policing (POL50124) once they've met its requirements.
First 4 months
$74,619
a year, Recruit Constable
4 months to graduation
$79,095
a year
Recruit take-home
$2,316
a fortnight after 2026-27 tax (calc)
Allowances aren't paid during training, so your income jumps sharply when you graduate. Recruits are offered barracks or departmental accommodation, or the housing allowance, and new recruits can claim back up to $20,000 in relocation costs on evidence of what they spent. That makes moving to Darwin from interstate far more affordable than it first looks.
For what a week at the College looks like and what to bring, see our NT Police College guide.
Probation, your first posting and what you'll earn
Two years on probation, and a package well above base.
Probation for Constables runs to the second anniversary of your start date, under section 16A of the Police Administration Act. ACPOs and ARP recruits serve 12 months. The Commissioner can shorten probation or extend it, by up to six months at a time.
Constable 1 package
$111,366
base + 23% + 5%
Package take-home
$3,277
a fortnight after 2026-27 tax (calc)
Package + housing allowance
$144,550
a year, if you house yourself (calc)
Once posted, you receive the 23% Consolidated Allowance, and in general policing roles the 5% General Policing Allowance. Night shift work also attracts a Night Shift Allowance of 15% of base salary (hourly equivalent) for each night shift worked. The take-home and housing figures above are our calculations from NTPFES's published package, with 2026-27 tax and no HELP. The housing allowance is taxable and only paid if you arrange your own accommodation instead of using departmental housing.
After four completed years and current operational safety training, you can become a Constable First Class, and promotion to Senior Constable follows once you qualify rather than through competition. Use the take-home pay calculator to model your own roster.
Remote service: what the NT pays for isolated stations
Bigger allowances, free utilities, extra leave and flights out.
Many NT stations serve remote communities hours from the nearest town. The agreement rewards that through several overlapping incentives. The amounts below come from the 2022 Consent Agreement; the 2025 agreement isn't public, so we can't confirm whether any changed.
General Policing Allowance at isolated localities
- Amount
- Group A 12%; Group B 12%; Tennant Creek 5% (replaces the standard 5%)
- Detail
- Replaces the standard 5%
Consolidated Remote Incentive Allowance (CRIA)
- Amount
- Years 1/2/3: Special Category 5/5/5%; Group A 5/5/5%; Group B 6/12/12%; Tennant Creek 11/18/18%
- Detail
- Members at isolated policing locations (Jabiru, Adelaide River and Batchelor are Special Category)
Tennant Creek special location allowance
- Amount
- 7% of base salary
- Detail
- Senior Sergeant and below at Tennant Creek; Superintendents at any isolated location
Fares Out of Isolated Localities (FOILS)
- Amount
- Economy airfare from the isolated locality to a prescribed destination (or vehicle allowance)
- Detail
- Travel out of isolated stations
Utilities
- Amount
- Provided in kind
- Detail
- At isolated stations
Extra recreation leave
- Amount
- Extra weeks at isolated localities and Katherine
- Detail
- Group A and Tennant Creek: +1 week at 24 months, +1 at 36 months and each year after
| Incentive | Amount | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| General Policing Allowance at isolated localities | Group A 12%; Group B 12%; Tennant Creek 5% (replaces the standard 5%) | Replaces the standard 5% |
| Consolidated Remote Incentive Allowance (CRIA) | Years 1/2/3: Special Category 5/5/5%; Group A 5/5/5%; Group B 6/12/12%; Tennant Creek 11/18/18% | Members at isolated policing locations (Jabiru, Adelaide River and Batchelor are Special Category) |
| Tennant Creek special location allowance | 7% of base salary | Senior Sergeant and below at Tennant Creek; Superintendents at any isolated location |
| Fares Out of Isolated Localities (FOILS) | Economy airfare from the isolated locality to a prescribed destination (or vehicle allowance) | Travel out of isolated stations |
| Utilities | Provided in kind | At isolated stations |
| Extra recreation leave | Extra weeks at isolated localities and Katherine | Group A and Tennant Creek: +1 week at 24 months, +1 at 36 months and each year after |
From the 2022 Consent Agreement (scanned copy). Some Group B percentages are hard to read in the scan and were checked against the 2019 agreement.
Leave is also more generous than in most forces. The main NT salary table is labelled "seven weeks leave", and isolated stations earn extra weeks on top, as does Katherine after three years. After two years' service elsewhere, the 2022 agreement lets you seek a posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs. Compare remote packages nationally in our guide to remote and rural policing incentives.
Already sworn? The Accelerated Recruitment Program
Paid by years of service, with no fitness test listed.
The Accelerated Recruitment Program (ARP) is for current or recent police from Australia or New Zealand. You need a Diploma of Policing or equivalent and at least two years' service at Constable or above, and if you've left, less than five years since your last sworn service. Military Police and Protective Service Officers aren't eligible.
Constable
- Step
- Constable 1 (graduation to end of 12 months)
- Base
- $87,005
- Package
- $111,366
Constable
- Step
- Constable 3
- Base
- $90,520
- Package
- $115,865
Constable
- Step
- Constable 4
- Base
- $92,330
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 5
- Base
- $94,175
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 6
- Base
- $96,059
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 7
- Base
- $97,980
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 8
- Base
- $99,942
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 9
- Base
- $101,939
Constable First Class
- Step
- Constable 1/C 10
- Base
- $103,977
- Package
- $133,090
| Rank | Step | Base | Package |
|---|---|---|---|
| Constable | Constable 1 (graduation to end of 12 months) | $87,005 | $111,366 |
| Constable | Constable 3 | $90,520 | $115,865 |
| Constable | Constable 4 | $92,330 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 5 | $94,175 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 6 | $96,059 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 7 | $97,980 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 8 | $99,942 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 9 | $101,939 | – |
| Constable First Class | Constable 1/C 10 | $103,977 | $133,090 |
Packages add the 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% GPA, which aren't paid during training. ARP recruits are paid at the increment matching completed years of service (3 completed years = 4th-year Constable), capped at 10+ years.
The ARP process is shorter: an application with a detailed police service record, background checks, cognitive assessment, panel interview, referee checks, medical and probity. NTPFES lists no fitness test for ARP applicants, but the swim is still required. Probation is 12 months including training, and you must spend at least a year in General Duties before applying for specialist roles. NTPFES published graduation material for ARP Squad 5 in April 2026, so the program is active.
Aboriginal Community Police Officers and Police Public Safety Officers
Two distinct NT pathways with their own training and pay.
Aboriginal Community Police Officer (ACPO)
The ACPO pathway is for applicants of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent. You need Year 10 or equivalent, or a trade or life experience, then complete 24 weeks of paid training at Berrimah and 12 months' probation. ACPOs received an extra 5% structural pay rise in the first year of the 2025 agreement, on top of the general increases.
ACPO base
$74,961
Recruit ACPO and ACPO Year 1
ACPO package
$95,950
with 23% CA and 5% GPA
Police Public Safety Officer (PPSO)
Announced on 18 June 2025, PPSOs merge the former frontline Auxiliaries, Public Housing Safety Officers and Transit Safety Officers. Up to 212 are planned. PPSOs work only in Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek and Alice Springs, with no remote postings, which suits people who want a policing career without the remote commitment. Training is 18 weeks on $74,069, and you earn a Certificate IV in Protective Services on completing probation.
PPSO base
$74,069
in training and after
PPSO package
$94,808
with allowances
PPSO housing allowance
$15,923
a year, Katherine and Alice Springs
PPSO Squad 1 began training on 23 February 2026 and started duty on 29 June 2026; Squad 2 started on 11 May 2026. For First Nations pathways across all forces, see Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander police pathways.
Incentives, timeline and the trade-offs
What NT Police offers, what it asks, and what isn't published.
What NT Police offers recruits
- ✓ Relocation assistance up to $20,000 (reimbursement).
- ✓ Barracks, free departmental accommodation, or a $33,184 a year housing allowance.
- ✓ Study assistance on application.
- ✓ Posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after 2 years' service elsewhere (CA 2022 cl.60).
NTPFES doesn't publish how long the process takes from application to College. Training is 30 weeks (possibly 32), probation runs to your second anniversary, and the posting of choice comes after two years elsewhere. The next pay rise under the 2025 agreement is 3%, expected around August 2027 (our inference from the agreement's start date).
Works in your favour
- ✓A $111,366 package after graduating.
- ✓Free housing, or a $33,184 housing allowance.
- ✓Up to $20,000 relocation.
- ✓No upper age limit and flexible education rules.
- ✓Five pathways, including ACPO and town-based PPSO roles.
Watch out for
- ✕You must accept a posting anywhere in the Territory.
- ✕No allowances during training.
- ✕No visa sponsorship.
- ✕The 2025 agreement text isn't public, so some details can't be checked.
Comparing small forces? Read how to join SAPOL and how to join Tasmania Police, or take the which force should I join quiz.
What we couldn't confirm (and who can)
Open questions as at 9 October 2026.
The full text of the 2025 Consent Agreement, including any changes to remote allowances. It isn't publicly available.
- Who can confirm it
- NT Police Association or the Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment
Constable course length: the Constable page says 30 weeks, but NTPFES's PPSO FAQ calls it 'the 32-week Constable course'.
- Who can confirm it
- NTPFES Recruitment
The cognitive test provider and format.
- Who can confirm it
- NTPFES Recruitment
Whether a $6,500 retention payment and a milestone retention bonus apply to new officers. Both are reported but unconfirmed.
- Who can confirm it
- NTPA
The PPSO probation period and full pay structure beyond the starting rate.
- Who can confirm it
- NTPFES Recruitment
Employer super rate (believed to be the 12% Superannuation Guarantee into your chosen fund).
- Who can confirm it
- NT Treasury or NTPFES
Retirement age: the Police Administration Act says 67 since December 2023, but the recruiting FAQ still says 65.
- Who can confirm it
- The Act is the authority; NTPFES can confirm
| Open question | Who can confirm it |
|---|---|
| The full text of the 2025 Consent Agreement, including any changes to remote allowances. It isn't publicly available. | NT Police Association or the Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment |
| Constable course length: the Constable page says 30 weeks, but NTPFES's PPSO FAQ calls it 'the 32-week Constable course'. | NTPFES Recruitment |
| The cognitive test provider and format. | NTPFES Recruitment |
| Whether a $6,500 retention payment and a milestone retention bonus apply to new officers. Both are reported but unconfirmed. | NTPA |
| The PPSO probation period and full pay structure beyond the starting rate. | NTPFES Recruitment |
| Employer super rate (believed to be the 12% Superannuation Guarantee into your chosen fund). | NT Treasury or NTPFES |
| Retirement age: the Police Administration Act says 67 since December 2023, but the recruiting FAQ still says 65. | The Act is the authority; NTPFES can confirm |
Free email alerts
Get told when NT Police opens its next intake
We track NTPFES recruiting for Constables, the ARP, ACPOs and PPSOs, and email you when squads open, standards change or recruit pay moves.
- ✓An alert when new Constable, ARP, ACPO or PPSO squads open
- ✓Changes to the fitness test, swim or eligibility rules
- ✓The next pay rise under the 2025 agreement
Frequently asked questions
What are the requirements to join NT Police?
You must be at least 18 when training starts, with no upper age limit. You need to be an Australian citizen, permanent resident or NZ citizen (NT Police doesn't sponsor visas), have Year 12, a trade certificate or considerable work and life experience, hold a licence to drive a manual car, have first aid, and be able to swim 100 m without stopping.
What is the beep test level for NT Police?
NT Police requires level 6.1 on the 20 m multi-stage fitness test. The fitness assessment also includes 10 push-ups at a two-second cadence, a 90-second plank, a farmer's carry of 20 kg in each hand over 100 m, and a 100 m swim for Constable and ARP applicants. It applies to Constable, ACPO and PPSO applicants.
How much do NT Police recruits get paid?
Recruit Constables earn $74,619 a year for the first four months of training and $79,095 from four months to graduation. Allowances aren't paid during training. After graduating, a Constable 1 earns $87,005 base, or $111,366 with the 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% General Policing Allowance.
Do NT Police get free housing?
Officers get barracks or free departmental accommodation, or a taxable housing allowance of $33,184 a year if they provide their own. NT Police Association says the 2025 agreement kept existing housing entitlements, after an earlier offer proposed removing Darwin police housing. New recruits can also claim up to $20,000 in relocation costs.
Can you choose where you're posted in NT Police?
No. You must accept a posting anywhere in the Northern Territory, and postings are decided by organisational need. Under the 2022 agreement, after two years' service elsewhere you can seek a posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs. Remote postings come with extra allowances, free utilities and extra leave.
What is the NT Police Accelerated Recruitment Program?
The ARP is for current or recent police from Australia or New Zealand with a Diploma of Policing or equivalent and at least two years' service at Constable or above, who left less than five years ago. Pay is set by completed years of service, capped at 10 years, probation is 12 months, and there's no fitness test listed, although the swim is required.
What is an Aboriginal Community Police Officer in the NT?
ACPOs are sworn members of NT Police recruited from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants. You need Year 10, a trade or life experience, then complete 24 weeks of paid training at Berrimah and 12 months' probation. ACPOs start on $74,961 base, or $95,950 with allowances, after a 5% structural rise in the 2025 agreement.
What is a Police Public Safety Officer?
PPSOs are a new NT stream announced on 18 June 2025, merging frontline Auxiliaries, Public Housing Safety Officers and Transit Safety Officers. They work only in Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek and Alice Springs, train for 18 weeks and earn $74,069 base. The first squad started duty on 29 June 2026.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Northern Territory Police Force Consent Agreement 2022 (PAT-certified), NTPA copy — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Constable recruitment page — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Accelerated Recruitment Program — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Aboriginal Community Police Officer — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Auxiliary — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Fitness assessment — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Recruitment FAQ — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: Police Public Safety Officers — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES newsroom: Swearing-in of PPSO Squad 1 — read 9 October 2026
- NTPFES: ARP Squad 5 graduation booklet — read 9 October 2026
- Police Administration Act 1978 (NT), as in force at 6 December 2025 — read 9 October 2026
- NTPA: President's address to the 2026 NTPA Annual Conference — read 9 October 2026
- Inside State Government: Record pay deal for NT Police — read 9 October 2026
Related guides
Joining the police
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.