The NT Police College at a glance
A Darwin course that leads to postings across the Territory.
The NT Police, Fire and Emergency Services College at the Peter McAulay Centre in Berrimah trains every new NT police officer, along with Aboriginal Community Police Officers, the new Police Public Safety Officers, Auxiliaries and experienced officers on the Accelerated Recruitment Program. The Constable course ends with a Diploma of Policing and a posting that could be anywhere from Darwin to a remote community.
Course
30 weeks
32 on another NTPFES page
Recruit pay
$74,619→$79,095
step-up at 4 months
After graduation
$111,366
Constable 1 incl. 23% CA + 5% GPA
Probation
2 years
from commencement
The NT's recruit pay is among the highest in Australia, and it rises during the course. But the bigger money comes after graduation, when the 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% General Policing Allowance are added, plus housing support. That's the deal: train in Darwin, then serve where the Territory needs you.
Berrimah, and accommodation for recruits
The College is at the Peter McAulay Centre in Berrimah, Darwin. NTPFES describes the Constable course as 30 weeks of paid, full-time training in Darwin. It doesn't publish a street address on the pages we read.
Housing: what NT Police says
NT Police says it provides all Constables and Aboriginal Community Police Officers, including Recruit Constables, with barracks accommodation, free departmental housing or a housing allowance, depending on family make-up. It doesn't say whether that means barracks during College training or housing once posted, and it doesn't mention meals.
Barracks accommodation
- Detail
- Listed for Constables and ACPOs, including Recruit Constables
- Source
- NTPFES Constable page
Free departmental housing
- Detail
- Depending on family make-up
- Source
- NTPFES Constable page
Housing allowance
- Detail
- $33,184 a year (NTPFES); $31,314.60 on the Join the Territory site
- Source
- Two NT pages, conflicting
Relocation
- Detail
- Up to $20,000, paid as reimbursement
- Source
- NTPFES and Join the Territory
| Support | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Barracks accommodation | Listed for Constables and ACPOs, including Recruit Constables | NTPFES Constable page |
| Free departmental housing | Depending on family make-up | NTPFES Constable page |
| Housing allowance | $33,184 a year (NTPFES); $31,314.60 on the Join the Territory site | Two NT pages, conflicting |
| Relocation | Up to $20,000, paid as reimbursement | NTPFES and Join the Territory |
The housing allowance applies to members who provide their own accommodation instead of barracks or departmental housing.
Ask about College accommodation
Neither NT page we read spells out whether recruits live in at Berrimah during training, what it costs, or whether meals are included. Ask NT Police Recruitment before you relocate to Darwin.
Is the NT Constable course 30 weeks or 32?
NTPFES gives two lengths for the same course, and squad dates suggest the longer one is closer to reality.
NTPFES Constable page and Join the Territory Constable page
- Length
- 30 weeks
NTPFES Police Public Safety Officer page
- Length
- 'The 32-week Constable course'
NTPFES Squad 139 graduation release (March 2021)
- Length
- 32 weeks
Squad 157: 29 July 2024 to 7 March 2025
- Length
- About 32 weeks, including Christmas (our calculation)
Squad 158: 28 October 2024 to 6 June 2025
- Length
- About 32 weeks, including Christmas (our calculation)
| Source | Length |
|---|---|
| NTPFES Constable page and Join the Territory Constable page | 30 weeks |
| NTPFES Police Public Safety Officer page | 'The 32-week Constable course' |
| NTPFES Squad 139 graduation release (March 2021) | 32 weeks |
| Squad 157: 29 July 2024 to 7 March 2025 | About 32 weeks, including Christmas (our calculation) |
| Squad 158: 28 October 2024 to 6 June 2025 | About 32 weeks, including Christmas (our calculation) |
One explanation is that 30 weeks is the training time and the extra fortnight is the Christmas stand-down, but NTPFES doesn't say so. Budget for 32 weeks and confirm with NT Police Recruitment.
NTPFES quotes 30 weeks, but its own squad dates run to about 32. Plan for the longer one.
What's taught at the College
NTPFES lists the main subjects on its Constable page, and an older squad graduation release adds more detail.
Legislation, policies and procedures
- Listed by
- Constable page; Squad 139 release
Operational safety tactics and defensive tactics
- Listed by
- Constable page; Squad 139 release
Firearms
- Listed by
- Squad 139 release
Driver training
- Listed by
- Constable page; Squad 139 release
Physical training
- Listed by
- Constable page
Information systems
- Listed by
- Constable page
Cultural awareness
- Listed by
- Squad 139 release
Search and rescue
- Listed by
- Squad 139 release
Responding to domestic violence
- Listed by
- Squad 139 release
| Area | Listed by |
|---|---|
| Legislation, policies and procedures | Constable page; Squad 139 release |
| Operational safety tactics and defensive tactics | Constable page; Squad 139 release |
| Firearms | Squad 139 release |
| Driver training | Constable page; Squad 139 release |
| Physical training | Constable page |
| Information systems | Constable page |
| Cultural awareness | Squad 139 release |
| Search and rescue | Squad 139 release |
| Responding to domestic violence | Squad 139 release |
The Squad 139 release is from March 2021; the current course may differ. First aid is an entry requirement, and Senior First Aid is part of ongoing operational safety training.
Cultural awareness and search and rescue reflect where you're likely to work. Many NT postings are in remote communities, so the course prepares you for policing with long distances and limited backup. After graduation, staying operational means keeping current in defensive tactics, the Glock pistol and Senior First Aid, which together form the operational safety requirements for promotion to Constable First Class.
Assessments, fitness and if you fall behind
NTPFES doesn't publish its College assessment rules, pass marks, or what happens if a recruit fails. The only failure rule we found is about selection: applicants who fail the standards may be excluded from reapplying for a set period.
Not published
Ask NT Police Recruitment how College assessments are re-sat, whether recruits can move to a later squad, and how the Diploma requirements are assessed.
Entry fitness standard
Push-ups
- Standard
- 10 at a 2-second cadence
Prone bridge (plank)
- Standard
- 90 seconds
Farmer's carry
- Standard
- 20kg in each hand, 5 x 20m (100m total)
- Notes
- Walking pace; weights down for a maximum of 5 seconds at each turn.
Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test)
- Standard
- Level 6.1
Swim
- Standard
- 100m forward stroke without touching the bottom or sides
- Notes
- Constable and ARP applicants only.
| Test | Standard | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Push-ups | 10 at a 2-second cadence | |
| Prone bridge (plank) | 90 seconds | |
| Farmer's carry | 20kg in each hand, 5 x 20m (100m total) | Walking pace; weights down for a maximum of 5 seconds at each turn. |
| Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test) | Level 6.1 | |
| Swim | 100m forward stroke without touching the bottom or sides | Constable and ARP applicants only. |
Source: NTPFES fitness assessment page.
The farmer's carry and the 90-second bridge are the tests most people underestimate. Our NT Police fitness test guide explains how to train for them.
Two-step recruit pay, and tax
NT recruits are paid in two steps, according to the NTPFES Constable page: $74,619 a year for the first four months, then $79,095 a year from four months until graduation. Allowances aren't paid during training.
First 4 months
- Annual rate
- $74,619
- Gross a fortnight
- $2,870
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,316
4 months to graduation
- Annual rate
- $79,095
- Gross a fortnight
- $3,042
- Take-home a fortnight
- $2,433
| Stage | Annual rate | Gross a fortnight | Take-home a fortnight |
|---|---|---|---|
| First 4 months | $74,619 | $2,870 | $2,316 |
| 4 months to graduation | $79,095 | $3,042 | $2,433 |
Rates as published by NTPFES in October 2026. Take-home calculated by us at resident rates, no HELP.
Across the course that's about $44,140 gross over 30 weeks, or $47,182 over 32, by our calculation.
Old rates still online
The Join the Territory recruitment site still shows $68,332 for the first four months and $72,431 to graduation. Those are older rates; the NTPFES figures above are current.
See how this ranks nationally in our recruit pay comparison.
Costs, relocation and what's covered
NT Police charges no course fees. Its support for people moving to the Territory is generous, but the details for the College period aren't spelled out.
Course fees
- Detail
- None
Relocation
- Detail
- Up to $20,000, as reimbursement
Housing
- Detail
- Barracks, free departmental housing or a housing allowance, depending on family make-up
Visa sponsorship
- Detail
- Not offered; you must already be a citizen, permanent resident or eligible NZ citizen
Study assistance
- Detail
- Available on application
Entry costs
- Detail
- First aid and swim certification at your cost
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Course fees | None |
| Relocation | Up to $20,000, as reimbursement |
| Housing | Barracks, free departmental housing or a housing allowance, depending on family make-up |
| Visa sponsorship | Not offered; you must already be a citizen, permanent resident or eligible NZ citizen |
| Study assistance | Available on application |
| Entry costs | First aid and swim certification at your cost |
Relocation is paid as reimbursement, so you need the money up front and the receipts to claim it. Keep every receipt from the move.
What a day at the College looks like
NTPFES doesn't publish a daily timetable, hours or rules for the College on the pages we read. So we can't describe a typical day at Berrimah from official sources.
Academies that do publish hours start between 6:30am and 8:30am and finish between about 3:30pm and 5pm on weekdays. In general, expect a mix of classroom legislation, practical tactics, driving and physical training, with study in your own time. Darwin is hot and humid, so if you're moving from a cooler state, give yourself time to acclimatise before physical training starts.
Questions to ask NT Police Recruitment
- ✓ What are the College hours and is there weekend training?
- ✓ Do recruits live in barracks during training, and are meals included?
- ✓ When does the squad break for Christmas?
- ✓ What leave, if any, can be taken during the course?
- ✓ What are the rules on alcohol, visitors and phones on site?
Graduation and remote postings
Graduates are sworn in as Probationary Constables and posted to varying locations throughout the Territory. NT Police is clear that postings are set by organisational need, not choice, and encourages people willing to work remotely to apply. In 2021, for example, Squad 139's graduates went 13 to Alice Springs, 12 to Katherine and 3 to Tennant Creek.
Constable 1 base
$87,005
graduation to 12 months
With 23% CA + 5% GPA
$111,366
calculated by us
Take-home a fortnight
$3,277
2026-27, with allowances
That's a rise of about 41% on the final recruit rate once the allowances start. Isolated postings lift the General Policing Allowance further. And there's a reward for going bush: a posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after 2 years' service elsewhere (CA 2022 cl.60). See the NT police salary guide for night shift and isolated locality rates.
Remote postings: allowances, leave and flights
Most NT graduates will serve outside Darwin at some point, and the 2022 consent agreement pays for it. None of these allowances apply while you're at the College, but they shape what your first posting is worth.
General Policing Allowance at isolated localities
- Detail
- Group A and Group B 12% when permanently stationed (replaces the standard 5%); Tennant Creek 5%
- Status
- Agreement; Group B figure unclear in the scanned copy
Consolidated Remote Incentive Allowance (CRIA)
- Detail
- Years 1 to 3: Group A 5%; Group B 6%, then 12%; Tennant Creek 11%, then 18%
- Status
- Agreement; salary base not stated
Night shift allowance
- Detail
- 15% of base for each night shift
- Status
- Agreement
Extra recreation leave
- Detail
- Group A and Tennant Creek: +1 week at 24 months, +1 at 36 months and each year after; Group B: +1 week per 12 months; Katherine: +1 week after 3 years
- Status
- Agreement
Fares Out of Isolated Localities
- Detail
- Economy airfare out of the locality, after 3 months' service, no more than 3-monthly
- Status
- Agreement
Housing
- Detail
- Barracks, free departmental housing, or the housing allowance
- Status
- NTPFES
| Benefit | Detail | Status |
|---|---|---|
| General Policing Allowance at isolated localities | Group A and Group B 12% when permanently stationed (replaces the standard 5%); Tennant Creek 5% | Agreement; Group B figure unclear in the scanned copy |
| Consolidated Remote Incentive Allowance (CRIA) | Years 1 to 3: Group A 5%; Group B 6%, then 12%; Tennant Creek 11%, then 18% | Agreement; salary base not stated |
| Night shift allowance | 15% of base for each night shift | Agreement |
| Extra recreation leave | Group A and Tennant Creek: +1 week at 24 months, +1 at 36 months and each year after; Group B: +1 week per 12 months; Katherine: +1 week after 3 years | Agreement |
| Fares Out of Isolated Localities | Economy airfare out of the locality, after 3 months' service, no more than 3-monthly | Agreement |
| Housing | Barracks, free departmental housing, or the housing allowance | NTPFES |
From the NT Police Force Consent Agreement 2022 via our NT data file. A 2025 agreement has been made but its full text wasn't available to us, so some figures may have changed.
Standard annual leave also looks generous: the main salary table is labelled seven weeks' leave, and PPSOs are confirmed at seven weeks. We haven't confirmed the base entitlement clause for Constables, so treat seven weeks as likely rather than certain.
Two years' probation
Constables: to the second anniversary of commencement (2 years), Police Administration Act s.16A(3)(a). ACPOs: 12 months from commencement.
- 1
College training
≈7 months30 weeks (32 on some NTPFES pages), counted within probation.
- 2
Probationary Constable
To 2 yearsPosted anywhere in the NT, building workplace practicum evidence.
- 3
Confirmation
2 yearsOn the second anniversary of commencement, once the evidence is complete. The Commissioner can shorten or extend probation.
- 4
Constable First Class
4 yearsNeeds 4 completed years plus current defensive tactics, Glock and Senior First Aid, and College online assessments.
The other courses at Berrimah: ACPO, PPSO and ARP
The College also trains people for other NT roles, each with its own course length.
Constable
- Course
- 30 weeks (32 on some pages)
- Who it's for
- General entry
Aboriginal Community Police Officer (ACPO)
- Course
- 24 weeks, then 12 months' probation
- Who it's for
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants; Year 10 or equivalent
Police Public Safety Officer (PPSO)
- Course
- 18 weeks
- Who it's for
- New stream from 2025; based in Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek and Alice Springs only
Auxiliary
- Course
- 12 weeks
- Who it's for
- Auxiliary roles
Accelerated Recruitment Program (ARP)
- Course
- Length not published
- Who it's for
- Current or recent police with 2+ years' service in Australia or NZ
| Stream | Course | Who it's for |
|---|---|---|
| Constable | 30 weeks (32 on some pages) | General entry |
| Aboriginal Community Police Officer (ACPO) | 24 weeks, then 12 months' probation | Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants; Year 10 or equivalent |
| Police Public Safety Officer (PPSO) | 18 weeks | New stream from 2025; based in Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek and Alice Springs only |
| Auxiliary | 12 weeks | Auxiliary roles |
| Accelerated Recruitment Program (ARP) | Length not published | Current or recent police with 2+ years' service in Australia or NZ |
Sources: NTPFES ACPO, PPSO, Auxiliary and ARP pages.
ARP Squad 5 graduated on 24 April 2026, and the first PPSO squad trained from 23 February to 26 June 2026. A news report described 17 ACPOs moving across to the Constable stream alongside Squad 158. For entry rules, see our NT Police joining guide.
How to succeed at the NT Police College
Practical tips
- ✓ Plan for 32 weeks, not 30, including a Christmas break
- ✓ Confirm accommodation and meals at Berrimah before you move
- ✓ Keep receipts for every relocation cost: it's reimbursement only
- ✓ Train in heat if you can, or arrive early to acclimatise
- ✓ Practise manual driving: you need a manual licence to apply
- ✓ Be genuinely ready for a remote posting
What works in the NT's favour
- ✓Recruit pay among the highest in Australia, rising at 4 months.
- ✓Up to $20,000 relocation.
- ✓Housing support for Constables.
- ✓28% in allowances once you graduate.
What to plan for
- ✕Conflicting course lengths.
- ✕No allowances during training.
- ✕Postings by need, often remote.
- ✕Two years' probation.
Is the NT right for you?
Answer a few questions about pay, remote service and fitness to see how the NT compares with the other forces for you.
How the NT Police College compares
The NT combines one of the higher recruit rates with a long course and a large allowance package once you graduate.
- Academy
- Goulburn
- Course length
- 16 weeks online (unpaid) + 16 weeks at Goulburn
- Recruit pay
- $1,360 a week (Academy session only)
- First-year constable
- $92,576
- Academy
- Glen Waverley (Mildura from Jan 2027)
- Course length
- 25 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $61,187 a year
- First-year constable
- $84,060
- Academy
- Oxley (Brisbane) or Townsville
- Course length
- About 8 months (32 to 36 weeks quoted)
- Recruit pay
- $59,728 a year (calculated by us)
- First-year constable
- $78,505
- Academy
- Joondalup
- Course length
- 28 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $74,309 a year
- First-year constable
- $94,651
- Academy
- Taperoo (former Fort Largs site)
- Course length
- 9 to 11 months (6 in a 2019 release)
- Recruit pay
- $71,872 a year
- First-year constable
- $83,398
- Academy
- Rokeby (Launceston satellite on some intakes)
- Course length
- 28 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $61,801 a year
- First-year constable
- $73,518
NT Police
- Academy
- Berrimah, Darwin
- Course length
- 30 weeks (32 in one NTPFES FAQ)
- Recruit pay
- $74,619 a year
- First-year constable
- $87,005
- Academy
- Barton, Canberra
- Course length
- 26 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $69,698 a year
- First-year constable
- $72,317
| Force | Academy | Course length | Recruit pay | First-year constable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Goulburn | 16 weeks online (unpaid) + 16 weeks at Goulburn | $1,360 a week (Academy session only) | $92,576 |
| Victoria Police | Glen Waverley (Mildura from Jan 2027) | 25 weeks | $61,187 a year | $84,060 |
| QPS | Oxley (Brisbane) or Townsville | About 8 months (32 to 36 weeks quoted) | $59,728 a year (calculated by us) | $78,505 |
| WA Police | Joondalup | 28 weeks | $74,309 a year | $94,651 |
| SAPOL | Taperoo (former Fort Largs site) | 9 to 11 months (6 in a 2019 release) | $71,872 a year | $83,398 |
| Tasmania Police | Rokeby (Launceston satellite on some intakes) | 28 weeks | $61,801 a year | $73,518 |
| NT Police | Berrimah, Darwin | 30 weeks (32 in one NTPFES FAQ) | $74,619 a year | $87,005 |
| AFP | Barton, Canberra | 26 weeks | $69,698 a year | $72,317 |
From each force's data file. First-year constable is the headline base figure; the NT's excludes the 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% GPA.
Free email alerts
Get NT Police intake dates and academy changes
One short email when something changes at Berrimah: new Constable squads, confirmed course length, ACPO and PPSO intakes and recruit pay rises under the new agreement.
- ✓Squad start dates as NTPFES announces them
- ✓Recruit pay and housing allowance changes
Frequently asked questions
Where do NT Police recruits train?
At the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services College, at the Peter McAulay Centre in Berrimah, Darwin. NTPFES describes the Constable course as full-time, paid training in Darwin. Aboriginal Community Police Officers, Police Public Safety Officers, Auxiliaries and experienced officers on the Accelerated Recruitment Program also train there.
How long is NT Police recruit training?
NTPFES's Constable recruitment pages say 30 weeks. Its PPSO page refers to 'the 32-week Constable course', and recent squad dates span about 32 weeks including the Christmas break. Plan for up to 32 weeks and confirm the length for your squad with NT Police Recruitment.
How much are NT Police recruits paid?
Recruit Constables are paid $74,619 a year for the first four months and $79,095 a year from four months until graduation, according to NTPFES. The 23% Consolidated Allowance and 5% General Policing Allowance aren't paid during training. A separate NT recruitment site still shows older, lower rates.
Is accommodation provided for NT Police recruits?
NT Police says it provides all Constables and Aboriginal Community Police Officers, including Recruit Constables, with barracks accommodation, free departmental housing or a housing allowance, depending on family make-up. It doesn't spell out the arrangement during College training, so ask NT Police Recruitment what applies to you.
Where do NT Police graduates get posted?
Anywhere in the Northern Territory, based on organisational need rather than choice. In 2021, Squad 139's graduates went to Alice Springs, Katherine and Tennant Creek. Under the 2022 agreement, members can get a posting of choice in Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs after two years' service elsewhere.
How long is NT Police probation?
Constables are on probation until the second anniversary of their commencement, so about two years including College training, under the Police Administration Act. You must provide workplace practicum evidence before confirmation. The Commissioner can shorten probation or extend it by up to six months at a time.
What qualification do NT Police recruits get?
Graduates of the Constable course receive the Diploma of Policing (POL50124), issued through the NT Police registered training organisation once all requirements are met.
What do NT Police recruits learn at the College?
NTPFES lists physical training, legislation, operational safety tactics, driver training and information systems. A squad graduation release also mentions policies and procedures, defensive tactics, firearms, cultural awareness, search and rescue, and responding to domestic violence.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- NTPFES: Constable recruitment page — 30-week course, recruit pay, allowances not paid in training, housing (read 9 Oct 2026)
- NTPFES: Recruitment FAQ
- NTPFES: Fitness assessment
- NTPFES: Aboriginal Community Police Officer
- NTPFES: Accelerated Recruitment Program
- NTPFES: ARP Squad 5 graduation booklet
- Northern Territory Police Force Consent Agreement 2022 (PAT-certified), NTPA copy — allowances and posting-of-choice clause
- Join the Territory: NT Police Constable — 30 weeks in Darwin, curriculum, Diploma, postings, probation; shows older pay rates
- NTPFES: Police Public Safety Officer — refers to the 32-week Constable course
- NTPFES: Squad 139 graduation (19 Mar 2021) — 32-week course, subjects and postings
- NTPFES: Squads 157 and 158 (Aug 2024) — squad start and graduation dates
- Katherine Times: Squad 158 graduation (search extract only) — 27 recruits and 17 ACPOs transitioning to Constable
Related guides
Joining the police
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.