Tasmania Police Academy at a glance
Fifty years at Rokeby, a degree on the side and a northern option.
The Tasmania Police Academy at Rokeby turned 50 on 6 March 2026, with 2,926 graduates since it opened. It's a small academy for a small force, but the force is at a record size: the government cited 1,479 officers in July 2026. Classes are small too; Course 1/2026 graduated 19 constables.
Course
28 weeks
incl. 6 weeks at a station
Trainee pay
$61,801
a year
Board
$225/fn
room and all meals
First posting
2 years+
at a 24-hour station
Two features make Tasmania different. Recruits earn credit towards a university degree while they train, completing 15 of the 24 units of a UTAS Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies). And on some intakes, northern recruits can train mainly in Launceston rather than relocating to Hobart for the whole course.
Rokeby, the Launceston satellite, and living in
The Academy is on South Arm Road, Rokeby, on Hobart's eastern shore. Its facilities include a scenario simulation house, accommodation, a gymnasium, library and auditorium.
Living in is optional, but board is charged
Tasmania Police says recruits aren't required to live in. But every recruit is allocated a room and pays a board fee of $225 a fortnight for accommodation and meals, subject to change. Uniforms are supplied.
The northern recruit course
On some intakes a northern course runs at the University of Tasmania's Newnham campus in Launceston. It's delivered online, by live-streamed classes and face to face at Newnham. Recruits travel to Rokeby in one-week blocks for training and assessment. North-west recruits are offered subsidised accommodation in the Launceston CBD and will likely be posted to their home district.
Where
- Rokeby
- South Arm Road, Rokeby (Hobart)
- Launceston (northern course)
- UTAS Newnham campus, Launceston
Delivery
- Rokeby
- Face to face at the Academy
- Launceston (northern course)
- Online, live-streamed and face to face, plus one-week blocks at Rokeby
Accommodation
- Rokeby
- Room allocated; $225 a fortnight board
- Launceston (northern course)
- Subsidised Launceston CBD accommodation for north-west recruits
Likely posting
- Rokeby
- Statewide 24-hour stations
- Launceston (northern course)
- Likely your home district
Intakes
- Rokeby
- Every listed intake
- Launceston (northern course)
- Some intakes only (e.g. 1 June 2026, 11 January 2027)
| Item | Rokeby | Launceston (northern course) |
|---|---|---|
| Where | South Arm Road, Rokeby (Hobart) | UTAS Newnham campus, Launceston |
| Delivery | Face to face at the Academy | Online, live-streamed and face to face, plus one-week blocks at Rokeby |
| Accommodation | Room allocated; $225 a fortnight board | Subsidised Launceston CBD accommodation for north-west recruits |
| Likely posting | Statewide 24-hour stations | Likely your home district |
| Intakes | Every listed intake | Some intakes only (e.g. 1 June 2026, 11 January 2027) |
Source: Tasmania Police recruitment FAQ and commencement schedule. The first northern intake, in May 2022, had 17 northern and 23 southern recruits.
The 28-week course and the UTAS degree
The recruit course is 28 weeks, including six weeks of practical training at a police station. Some older material says 31 weeks; the recruitment FAQ and the police minister in July 2026 both say 28.
- 1
Academy training
≈22 weeksClassroom and practical training at Rokeby (or the northern course), with written and practical exams.
- 2
Station placement
6 weeksSix weeks of practical training at a police station, with a mentor.
- 3
Graduation
Week 28You graduate as a Constable and start at a 24-hour station.
- 4
UTAS degree
CreditThe course earns 15 of the 24 units of the Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies), about two thirds of the degree.
The degree credit is worth having. Our data notes that a Constable who earns an approved bachelor's degree by independent study before appointment moves to Level 3 after probation, so check with Tasmania Police whether finishing the UTAS degree later affects your pay level.
Two thirds of a university degree, earned while you're paid to train.
What's taught at the Academy
Tasmania Police doesn't publish a subject list we could read. Search extracts of its pages mention operational skills, firearms, urgent duty driver training and family violence, but we couldn't confirm a full curriculum.
Operational skills and safety
- What we can confirm
- Mentioned in recruitment pages
- Status
- Search extract only
Firearms
- What we can confirm
- Mentioned in recruitment pages; firearms and operational safety are in the ATP
- Status
- Extract; ATP page
Driving
- What we can confirm
- Urgent duty driver training mentioned
- Status
- Search extract only
Family violence
- What we can confirm
- Mentioned in recruitment pages
- Status
- Search extract only
Report writing and communication
- What we can confirm
- Assessed during the course
- Status
- Academy life page
Social science and police studies
- What we can confirm
- 15 UTAS units
- Status
- UTAS partnership page
Scenario training
- What we can confirm
- Scenario simulation house on site
- Status
- 50-year release
| Area | What we can confirm | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Operational skills and safety | Mentioned in recruitment pages | Search extract only |
| Firearms | Mentioned in recruitment pages; firearms and operational safety are in the ATP | Extract; ATP page |
| Driving | Urgent duty driver training mentioned | Search extract only |
| Family violence | Mentioned in recruitment pages | Search extract only |
| Report writing and communication | Assessed during the course | Academy life page |
| Social science and police studies | 15 UTAS units | UTAS partnership page |
| Scenario training | Scenario simulation house on site | 50-year release |
First aid is an entry requirement (HLTAID009, 010 and 011), not an Academy subject in the sources.
Ask the Academy for the unit outline if you want to prepare in advance. The UTAS units will have published unit descriptions.
Assessments, fitness and if you fall behind
The Academy life page says recruits sit written and practical exams, report-writing and communication assessments, and are assessed on their station placement with a mentor. Education advisors support recruits who need help.
Not published
Tasmania Police doesn't publish pass marks, a fitness standard to graduate, or what happens if you fail an assessment. Ask at induction about re-assessment and whether you can move to a later course.
Entry fitness standard
The entry test is a good baseline for Academy physical training. Note that Tasmania scores several tests on bands and publishes what counts as strong.
Broad jump (metres x bodyweight kg)
- Minimum
- Score of 80 minimum
- Strong
- Strong: males above 165, females above 105.
Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test)
- Minimum
- Level 6.01 minimum
- Strong
- Strong: above 9.01.
Illinois agility run
- Minimum
- Under 22 seconds
- Strong
- Strong: under 20 seconds.
Plank
- Minimum
- 60 seconds minimum
- Strong
- Strong: 120 seconds (cap).
Grip strength (each hand)
- Minimum
- Males 40-49.9kg, females 20-29.9kg acceptable
- Strong
- Strong: males 50kg or more, females 30kg or more.
Waist
- Minimum
- Males 94-102cm, females 80-88cm acceptable
- Strong
- Strong: males under 94cm, females under 80cm. The page does not state what happens above 102/88cm.
Hand-release press-ups (3-second cadence)
- Minimum
- 10 reps minimum
- Strong
- Strong: above 30; cap 40.
BMI
- Minimum
- 18.5-34.9 per the fitness test page (fail above 35)
- Strong
- Conflict: the FAQ page says 18.5-29.9 meets requirements and above 29.9 generally does not.
| Test | Minimum | Strong |
|---|---|---|
| Broad jump (metres x bodyweight kg) | Score of 80 minimum | Strong: males above 165, females above 105. |
| Beep test (20m multi-stage fitness test) | Level 6.01 minimum | Strong: above 9.01. |
| Illinois agility run | Under 22 seconds | Strong: under 20 seconds. |
| Plank | 60 seconds minimum | Strong: 120 seconds (cap). |
| Grip strength (each hand) | Males 40-49.9kg, females 20-29.9kg acceptable | Strong: males 50kg or more, females 30kg or more. |
| Waist | Males 94-102cm, females 80-88cm acceptable | Strong: males under 94cm, females under 80cm. The page does not state what happens above 102/88cm. |
| Hand-release press-ups (3-second cadence) | 10 reps minimum | Strong: above 30; cap 40. |
| BMI | 18.5-34.9 per the fitness test page (fail above 35) | Conflict: the FAQ page says 18.5-29.9 meets requirements and above 29.9 generally does not. |
Source: Tasmania Police recruitment fitness page. The BMI standard conflicts with the FAQ (18.5 to 29.9).
Our Tasmania Police fitness test guide explains each test and the conflicting BMI rule.
Trainee Constable pay, and tax
Recruits are paid as Trainee Constables: $61,801 a year under Police Award No. 2 of 2026 (from the 1 December 2025 pay date), rising to $63,655 from December 2026. Several recruitment pages still show the older $60,001 rate, which is out of date.
Trainee Constable rate
- Amount
- $61,801 a year
Gross a fortnight
- Amount
- $2,377
Take-home a fortnight (2026-27, calculated)
- Amount
- $1,984
Less board
- Amount
- $225 a fortnight
Left after board
- Amount
- $1,759
Gross over 28 weeks (calculated)
- Amount
- $33,277
| Figure | Amount |
|---|---|
| Trainee Constable rate | $61,801 a year |
| Gross a fortnight | $2,377 |
| Take-home a fortnight (2026-27, calculated) | $1,984 |
| Less board | $225 a fortnight |
| Left after board | $1,759 |
| Gross over 28 weeks (calculated) | $33,277 |
Take-home calculated by us at resident rates, no HELP. The rate rises in December 2026, part-way through some courses.
Overtime isn't payable to academy-accommodated trainees under the award. Compare Tasmania with the other forces in our recruit pay comparison.
Board and the other costs of training
Tasmania charges no course fees for the Academy. But according to the recruitment FAQ, recruits are allocated a room and pay board even though living in isn't required, and it adds up.
Board (room and all meals)
- Amount
- $225 a fortnight
- Note
- Subject to change
Board over 28 weeks
- Amount
- About $3,150
- Note
- Calculated by us; less if part of the course is at a station
Uniform
- Amount
- Supplied
- Note
- Recruitment FAQ
Northern course accommodation
- Amount
- Subsidised
- Note
- North-west recruits, Launceston CBD
First aid and swim certificates
- Amount
- Your cost
- Note
- Entry requirements
Second job
- Amount
- Only with approval
- Note
- Recruitment FAQ
| Cost | Amount | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Board (room and all meals) | $225 a fortnight | Subject to change |
| Board over 28 weeks | About $3,150 | Calculated by us; less if part of the course is at a station |
| Uniform | Supplied | Recruitment FAQ |
| Northern course accommodation | Subsidised | North-west recruits, Launceston CBD |
| First aid and swim certificates | Your cost | Entry requirements |
| Second job | Only with approval | Recruitment FAQ |
Board takes about 11% of a trainee's fortnightly take-home, by our calculation. That's cheaper than Victoria's live-in rate, but dearer than the free rooms in NSW, Queensland and the AFP.
What a day at Rokeby looks like
Tasmania Police says a typical day runs from 6:30am to 4pm, Monday to Friday, with some weekend and later shifts. That's the earliest start among the academy hours we found published.
What to expect (general guide)
- ✓ A 6:30am start
- ✓ Classroom sessions, including UTAS units
- ✓ Practical operational skills and firearms
- ✓ Scenario work in the simulation house
- ✓ Report writing and communication tasks
- ✓ Some weekend and later sessions
- ✓ No annual leave as a general rule
The hours, leave rule and assessment types are Tasmania Police's. The order of the day is our general guide, not an official timetable.
Academy intake dates for 2026 and 2027
Tasmania Police publishes its commencement schedule. Intakes marked with Launceston include the northern course.
12 January 2026
- Where
- Academy
16 March 2026
- Where
- Academy
1 June 2026
- Where
- Academy and Launceston
5 October 2026
- Where
- Academy
11 January 2027
- Where
- Academy and Launceston
22 March 2027
- Where
- Academy
Mid-2027 (printed as 31 June 2027)
- Where
- Academy and Launceston
9 August 2027
- Where
- Academy
18 October 2027
- Where
- Academy
| Start date | Where |
|---|---|
| 12 January 2026 | Academy |
| 16 March 2026 | Academy |
| 1 June 2026 | Academy and Launceston |
| 5 October 2026 | Academy |
| 11 January 2027 | Academy and Launceston |
| 22 March 2027 | Academy |
| Mid-2027 (printed as 31 June 2027) | Academy and Launceston |
| 9 August 2027 | Academy |
| 18 October 2027 | Academy |
Source: Tasmania Police commencement schedule. 31 June isn't a real date; check the correct mid-2027 date with Tasmania Police.
Graduation and your first posting
Graduates work at a 24-hour police station for at least two years, on rotating shifts, with the first year on probation. Stations include Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie. Course 1/2026's 19 graduates went to Burnie, Bridgewater, Devonport, Hobart and Launceston.
Constable Level 1
$73,518
base
With 28% shift allowance
$94,103
24-hour station, calculated by us
Take-home a fortnight
$2,826
with 28%, 2026-27
The jump is large: about 52% on trainee pay once the 28% allowance for 24-hour rosters is added. You move to Level 2 after 12 months, subject to probation and a satisfactory assessment. Our Tasmania police salary guide shows every level.
Country stations: where your career can go after the first posting
Your first two years will be at a 24-hour station, but Tasmania Police has a long list of country stations, and the award makes them financially attractive. It's worth knowing about them early, especially if you're from a rural area and want to return.
Designated Country Police Station Allowance
- Amount
- 37% of normal salary
- Who
- Constables and Sergeants at designated country stations, in lieu of on-call, overtime and shift allowances
Rent-free departmental residence
- Amount
- Free
- Who
- Designated country and listed rural stations
Minimum pay at a designated country station
- Amount
- Constable Level 6 or above
- Who
- Constables posted there
Isolated Community Expense Allowance
- Amount
- $11,623.07 or $7,988.20 a year
- Who
- Islands and west coast towns, on permanent transfer
Removal expenses on transfer
- Amount
- Up to $2,904.09, plus displacement allowance up to $3,749.86
- Who
- Officers transferred
| Benefit | Amount | Who |
|---|---|---|
| Designated Country Police Station Allowance | 37% of normal salary | Constables and Sergeants at designated country stations, in lieu of on-call, overtime and shift allowances |
| Rent-free departmental residence | Free | Designated country and listed rural stations |
| Minimum pay at a designated country station | Constable Level 6 or above | Constables posted there |
| Isolated Community Expense Allowance | $11,623.07 or $7,988.20 a year | Islands and west coast towns, on permanent transfer |
| Removal expenses on transfer | Up to $2,904.09, plus displacement allowance up to $3,749.86 | Officers transferred |
From Police Award No. 2 of 2026 via our Tasmania data file.
A Constable at a designated country station is paid at least the Level 6 rate plus the 37% allowance, which puts a young officer well ahead of the same rank in Hobart. None of this applies during training, but it's a real reason some recruits choose Tasmania.
The Accelerated Training Program for experienced police
Sworn officers with at least two years' post-probation service in Australia or New Zealand, who left less than four years ago, can do the 12-week Accelerated Training Program instead. It covers Tasmanian law and policy, physical training, firearms and operational safety.
Length
- Detail
- 12 weeks
Eligibility
- Detail
- 2+ years post-probation service (Australia or NZ); separated less than 4 years (6 if in related law enforcement)
Rank
- Detail
- Doesn't transfer
Probation
- Detail
- 6 months
Posting
- Detail
- A 24-hour station, with the 28% allowance on base pay
Next course
- Detail
- Anticipated early to mid 2027
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Length | 12 weeks |
| Eligibility | 2+ years post-probation service (Australia or NZ); separated less than 4 years (6 if in related law enforcement) |
| Rank | Doesn't transfer |
| Probation | 6 months |
| Posting | A 24-hour station, with the 28% allowance on base pay |
| Next course | Anticipated early to mid 2027 |
Source: Tasmania Police ATP page.
See our Tasmania joining guide for the full entry process.
How to succeed at the Tasmania Police Academy
Practical tips
- ✓ Get your first aid (HLTAID009, 010 and 011) and swim certificates early
- ✓ Budget for $225 a fortnight board on top of living costs at home
- ✓ If you're in the north or north-west, look at intakes with the Launceston course
- ✓ Get used to 6:30am starts before day one
- ✓ Treat the UTAS units seriously; they count towards a degree
- ✓ Clear your calendar: leave isn't generally granted
What works in Tasmania's favour
- ✓Two thirds of a UTAS degree while you train.
- ✓A northern course option in Launceston.
- ✓A published intake schedule.
- ✓A 28% allowance once you're on a 24-hour roster.
What to plan for
- ✕$225 a fortnight board.
- ✕A lower first-year base than most forces before allowances.
- ✕6:30am starts.
- ✕At least two years at a 24-hour station.
Check yourself against Tasmania's test
Enter your beep level, press-ups and plank to see whether you'd meet Tasmania's standard today.
How the Tasmania Police Academy compares
Tasmania's course is mid-length with mid-range trainee pay, but board and a lower base salary are offset by the 28% shift allowance at a 24-hour station.
- Academy
- Goulburn
- Course length
- 16 weeks online (unpaid) + 16 weeks at Goulburn
- Recruit pay
- $1,360 a week (Academy session only)
- First-year constable
- $92,576
- Academy
- Glen Waverley (Mildura from Jan 2027)
- Course length
- 25 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $61,187 a year
- First-year constable
- $84,060
- Academy
- Oxley (Brisbane) or Townsville
- Course length
- About 8 months (32 to 36 weeks quoted)
- Recruit pay
- $59,728 a year (calculated by us)
- First-year constable
- $78,505
- Academy
- Joondalup
- Course length
- 28 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $74,309 a year
- First-year constable
- $94,651
- Academy
- Taperoo (former Fort Largs site)
- Course length
- 9 to 11 months (6 in a 2019 release)
- Recruit pay
- $71,872 a year
- First-year constable
- $83,398
Tasmania Police
- Academy
- Rokeby (Launceston satellite on some intakes)
- Course length
- 28 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $61,801 a year
- First-year constable
- $73,518
- Academy
- Berrimah, Darwin
- Course length
- 30 weeks (32 in one NTPFES FAQ)
- Recruit pay
- $74,619 a year
- First-year constable
- $87,005
- Academy
- Barton, Canberra
- Course length
- 26 weeks
- Recruit pay
- $69,698 a year
- First-year constable
- $72,317
| Force | Academy | Course length | Recruit pay | First-year constable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Goulburn | 16 weeks online (unpaid) + 16 weeks at Goulburn | $1,360 a week (Academy session only) | $92,576 |
| Victoria Police | Glen Waverley (Mildura from Jan 2027) | 25 weeks | $61,187 a year | $84,060 |
| QPS | Oxley (Brisbane) or Townsville | About 8 months (32 to 36 weeks quoted) | $59,728 a year (calculated by us) | $78,505 |
| WA Police | Joondalup | 28 weeks | $74,309 a year | $94,651 |
| SAPOL | Taperoo (former Fort Largs site) | 9 to 11 months (6 in a 2019 release) | $71,872 a year | $83,398 |
| Tasmania Police | Rokeby (Launceston satellite on some intakes) | 28 weeks | $61,801 a year | $73,518 |
| NT Police | Berrimah, Darwin | 30 weeks (32 in one NTPFES FAQ) | $74,619 a year | $87,005 |
| AFP | Barton, Canberra | 26 weeks | $69,698 a year | $72,317 |
From each force's data file. First-year constable is the headline base figure; Tasmania's excludes the 28% shift allowance.
Free email alerts
Get Tasmania Police intake dates and academy changes
One short email when something changes at Rokeby or Launceston: new commencement dates, northern course intakes, board changes, the next Accelerated Training Program and trainee pay rises.
- ✓Commencement dates as Tasmania Police lists them
- ✓Next ATP intake for experienced officers
Frequently asked questions
Where is the Tasmania Police Academy?
The Tasmania Police Academy is on South Arm Road, Rokeby, on Hobart's eastern shore. It opened on 6 March 1976 and has produced 2,926 graduates. On some intakes a northern recruit course runs at the University of Tasmania's Newnham campus in Launceston, with one-week blocks at Rokeby.
How long is Tasmania Police Academy training?
The recruit course is 28 weeks, including six weeks of practical training at a police station. Older material quotes 31 weeks, which is out of date. During the course you complete 15 of the 24 units of the UTAS Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies).
Do you have to live in at the Tasmania Police Academy?
No. Tasmania Police says recruits aren't required to live in, but they're still allocated a room and pay a board fee of $225 a fortnight for accommodation and meals. The fee is described as subject to change.
How much are Tasmania Police trainees paid?
Trainee Constables are paid $61,801 a year under the 2026 police award, rising to $63,655 from December 2026. Some recruitment pages still show the older $60,001 rate. On graduation you become a Constable Level 1 on $73,518 base.
What is the Tasmania Police Launceston recruit course?
On some intakes, a northern recruit course is delivered online, by live-streamed classes and face to face at the UTAS Newnham campus in Launceston. Recruits travel to Rokeby in one-week blocks for training and assessment. North-west recruits are offered subsidised accommodation in the Launceston CBD and will likely be posted to their home district.
When are the Tasmania Police Academy intakes?
Listed start dates are 12 January, 16 March, 1 June (Academy and Launceston) and 5 October 2026, then 11 January 2027 (Academy and Launceston), 22 March, a mid-2027 intake printed as 31 June (Academy and Launceston), 9 August and 18 October 2027.
Where are Tasmania Police graduates posted?
Graduates work at a 24-hour police station for at least two years, on rotating shifts, with the first year on probation. Stations named include Hobart, Glenorchy, Bridgewater, Bellerive, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie. Course 1/2026 graduates went to Burnie, Bridgewater, Devonport, Hobart and Launceston.
Can you take leave during Tasmania Police Academy training?
As a general rule, no. The recruitment FAQ says annual leave isn't usually granted during the course, and you can't take a second job without approval. Plan holidays and commitments around the 28 weeks.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: FAQs — 28 weeks, board, live-in, leave, second jobs, postings and the northern course (read 9 Oct 2026)
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: University of Tasmania and Tasmania Police
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Commencement schedule
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Postings
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Accelerated Training Program
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Fitness Test
- Police Award No. 2 of 2026 (Consolidated), TIC T15311 of 2026 (read via Wayback Machine copy 2026-05-20) — Trainee Constable and Constable rates; shift allowance; overtime exclusion
- Tasmania Police media release: 21 new constables join Tasmania Police ranks
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Academy life — 6:30am to 4pm days, assessments, board
- Tasmania Police: Celebrating 50 years of the Tasmania Police Academy at Rokeby (6 Mar 2026) — opening date, graduates, facilities
- Tasmania Police: Recruiting information session (2014) — South Arm Road, Rokeby address
- Tasmania Police: Northern recruits begin their training at UTAS Newnham (May 2022) — first northern intake
- Premier of Tasmania: 19 new police keeping Tasmanians safe (24 Jul 2026) — Course 1/2026 graduates and postings
Related guides
Joining the police
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.