Skip to content
Police Pay Australia
Australian Federal Police · Academy and training

AFP College, Canberra
recruit training for national and ACT police

Every AFP police recruit, whether bound for national policing or ACT Policing, trains at the AFP College in Barton, Canberra. Here's what the course covers, what's provided, what you're paid, and how the College's published facts conflict.

Updated 9 October 2026 15 min read Sources checked 9 October 2026 Independent, not advice

The short answer

AFP police recruits train at the AFP College in Barton, Canberra, for 26 weeks on the Federal Police Development Program. You're paid from day one at Band 2.3, $69,698 base, plus 15.4% super, with a free ensuite room and meals. Graduates become probationary constables at Band 2.4 and go to national policing or ACT Policing.

Course length

26 weeks

police; PSOs 15 weeks

Recruit pay

$69,698

Band 2.3 base, plus 15.4% super

Room and meals

Free

ensuite single room

After graduation

$91,726.74

advertised package at Band 2.4

Contents +
  1. 1The AFP College at a glance
  2. 2Barton, living in and Majura
  3. 326 weeks, 19 or 27?
  4. 4What's taught
  5. 5Assessments and the PCA
  6. 6Band 2.3 pay and super
  7. 7What's free and what isn't
  8. 8A week at the College
  9. 9Graduation, national vs ACT
  10. 10Probation and Band 2.4
  11. 11PSO training
  12. 12Other routes into the College
  13. 13How to succeed
  14. 14How the AFP compares
  15. 15FAQs
  16. 16Sources

The AFP College at a glance

One college for national police and ACT Policing, with room and meals included.

The AFP College in Barton is where every AFP police recruit trains, whether you're heading for national policing or ACT Policing. It's a registered training organisation offering nine qualifications, and it's run as a residential college: you're expected to live on site, with a free room, meals and the equipment you need.

Course

26 weeks

Federal Police Development Program

Recruit pay

$69,698

Band 2.3 base

Super

15.4%

employer contribution

Room and meals

Free

plus phone and laptop

The AFP's recruit rate is mid-table on base pay, but the total package is stronger than it looks. Employer super of 15.4% is second only to Queensland's 18%, and with accommodation and meals free, almost all of your take-home pay is yours to keep. ACT Policing has been graduating squads of around 19 at a time in 2026, as part of a funded plan for 126 extra officers over five years.

Barton, living in, and the Majura question

The College is in Barton, between the city and Lake Burley Griffin. The AFP doesn't publish a street address on the College page.

AFP College: accommodation and facilities

Room

Detail
Free single room with ensuite, single bed, computer facilities and television
Source
AFP College page

Meals

Detail
Free breakfast, lunch and dinner each day
Source
AFP College page

Equipment

Detail
Mobile phone and laptop
Source
AFP new recruits page

Facilities

Detail
Coffee shop, bar and gym; the ACT page adds a 24/7 gym, free parking, an ATM, physios and dietitians
Source
AFP College and ACT Policing pages

Travel

Detail
Travel to and from the College paid
Source
AFP new recruits page

Living off-site

Detail
You can ask to
Source
AFP new recruits page

The ACT Policing page says recruits live on site for the 26 weeks. If you already live in Canberra, you can ask to live off-site, but nothing in the sources says that request will be granted.

Majura and Pinkenba

The AFP College page says there are currently no other training facilities for AFP recruit programs, yet also tells PSO recruits they'll train at the College or at Pinkenba in Brisbane. We found no official page saying police recruits train at the AFP's Majura site; a Canberra Times report describes a shooting range and raid-simulation building there, but we couldn't confirm recruits use them.

Is AFP recruit training 26 weeks, 19 or 27?

Three official sources give three numbers. They're probably measuring different things.

AFP recruit training: lengths quoted

AFP careers and College pages; ACT Policing page

Length
26 weeks
What it measures
The Federal Police Development Program for national and ACT police

AFP Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 (s101)

Length
19 weeks
What it measures
The minimum time at pay point 2.3 before graduation moves you to 2.4

ACT Government release, 31 July 2026

Length
27 weeks
What it measures
Described as 27 weeks of intensive training for that squad

For planning, use 26 weeks: it's what the AFP's own recruiting pages say. The 19-week figure is a pay rule, not the course length. The 27-week figure may include induction or a squad-specific schedule.

Plan for 26 weeks. The 19 in the enterprise agreement is a pay-point minimum, not the course.

What's taught at the AFP College

The AFP and ACT Policing pages list the core content of the Federal Police Development Program. Completing it gives you the opportunity to receive the Diploma of Policing (POL50124).

AFP College curriculum

Law

What's listed
Legislation and the judicial system; police powers
Source
AFP College; ACT Policing

Investigations

What's listed
Investigations and case management; preparing briefs of evidence; interviewing and statement-taking
Source
AFP College; ACT Policing

Intelligence

What's listed
The intelligence process
Source
ACT Policing

Operational safety and tactics

What's listed
Defensive tactics
Source
AFP College

Firearms

What's listed
Firearms handling and safety
Source
AFP College

Driving

What's listed
Driver training
Source
AFP College

Scenarios

What's listed
Scenario-based exercises
Source
AFP College

Physical training

What's listed
PT three times a week
Source
ACT Policing

First aid and CPR are entry requirements rather than listed course content.

The emphasis on investigations, briefs of evidence and intelligence reflects the AFP's federal role. Even if you're heading for ACT Policing's general duties, expect more investigative and paperwork training than some state academies describe.

Assessments and the Physical Competency Assessment

The AFP says recruits sit the Physical Competency Assessment (PCA) up to three times at the College, including on entry and before graduation. It's a different test from the Entry Physical Competency Assessment you pass to get in.

AFP fitness: entry vs College

Beep test

Entry (EPCA)
Level 6.5
College (PCA)
Level 6.5

Push-ups

Entry (EPCA)
15 (male) / 8 (female) in 60 seconds
College (PCA)
Listed as 15/30, gender split not stated

Core

Entry (EPCA)
60-second plank
College (PCA)
Stage 4 sit-up

Sources: AFP recruitment pages and the College PCA document. The '15/30' push-up figure isn't labelled by gender; ask the College.

Not published: failing an assessment

The AFP doesn't publish what happens if a recruit fails the PCA or an academic assessment, such as re-tests, moving to a later squad or termination. Ask at your offer stage.

The entry standard in full:

AFP Entry Physical Competency Assessment

Plank

Standard
60-second hold

Push-ups

Standard
15 (male) / 8 (female) within 60 seconds
Notes
Gender X assessed case by case.

Beep test

Standard
Level 6.5
Notes
One attempt, maximum 2 warnings.

Our AFP fitness test guide explains both tests.

Band 2.3 pay, super and tax

Police recruits are paid at Band 2.3 from day one: $69,698 base from 9 December 2025, rising to $71,580 from 9 December 2026. The AFP adds 15.4% employer super. The 22% Core Composite that lifts sworn pay appears not to be paid during training: the careers table shows no composite for College recruits, though that isn't confirmed.

AFP recruit pay

Band 2.3 base

Amount
$69,698 a year

Employer super (15.4%)

Amount
$10,733 a year

Gross a fortnight

Amount
$2,681

Take-home a fortnight (2026-27, calculated)

Amount
$2,187

Gross over 26 weeks (calculated)

Amount
$34,849

Rates from the AFP Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 via our AFP data file. Existing AFP employees keep their current band and pay point during recruit training.

With no rent or food bills while you live in, a College recruit can save a large share of that take-home. Compare the AFP with the states in our recruit pay comparison.

Free tool

See your AFP pay after graduation

Choose AFP and Band 2.4 to add the 22% composite, Use of Force allowance and 15.4% super.

Open the calculator →

What's free at the College, and what isn't

The AFP covers more of the cost of training than any other force in our data. There are no course fees, and the College covers your room, meals, phone, laptop and travel to and from the College.

AFP College costs

Course fees

Who pays
None

Room and meals at the College

Who pays
AFP

Mobile phone and laptop

Who pays
AFP

Travel to and from the College

Who pays
AFP

Relocation after graduation (interstate)

Who pays
AFP: removalists, vehicle, pets, settling-in allowances

Housing after graduation

Who pays
You find and pay for it

First aid, CPR and swim certificates

Who pays
You, before applying

The main cost you'll carry is any home you keep elsewhere while you're at the College. If you rent, decide early whether to keep the lease for 26 weeks.

A week at the College

The ACT Policing page gives the clearest picture of College life. Training runs Monday to Friday in squads of up to 30, with physical training three times a week and some assignments out of hours.

  1. 1

    Day one

    Arrival

    Room key, security pass, briefings and a barbecue.

  2. 2

    Week one

    Induction

    Uniform fitting, team-building and overnight exercises.

  3. 3

    A typical week

    Mon to Fri

    Classes in law, investigations and procedure; practical tactics, firearms and driving; scenarios; PT three times a week.

  4. 4

    Out of hours

    Evenings

    Some assignments and study in your own time.

The AFP doesn't publish daily start and finish times on the pages we read. The structure above is from the ACT Policing page; ask the College about weekend leave and rules on site, including the bar.

Graduation: national policing or ACT Policing

You apply for either national policing or ACT Policing, and your posting location is confirmed in your job offer. Both streams do the same College training on the same pay.

AFP graduates: national vs ACT

Training

National policing
26 weeks at the College
ACT Policing
26 weeks at the College

Pay after graduation

National policing
Band 2.4, $91,726.74 package
ACT Policing
Band 2.4, $91,726.74 package

Where you work

National policing
As confirmed in your offer, potentially interstate
ACT Policing
ACT stations

Relocation

National policing
Removalists, vehicle, pets, settling-in allowances; travel home paid
ACT Policing
As applicable

Housing

National policing
Your own, at your cost
ACT Policing
Your own, at your cost

Sources: AFP new recruits, national policing and ACT Policing pages.

Band 2.4 base

$72,317

probationary constable

Package

≈$91,727

base + 22% + $3,500, calculated

Take-home a fortnight

$2,764

2026-27, calculated

In March 2026, 19 new ACT Policing constables were deployed across five ACT stations. See the AFP salary guide for how pay rises through the bands.

Probation, the workbook and Band 2.4

Police graduates are probationary officers at Band 2.4 and stay there for at least 12 months and until the AFP workbook is signed off (by a supervisor who has supervised them for 3+ months), then move to 3.1. A formal probation period beyond this is not stated. PSO recruits start at 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training.

  1. 1

    Graduate at Band 2.4

    Graduation

    You're a probationary constable on $72,317 base plus the composite.

  2. 2

    Complete the AFP workbook

    Year 1

    Signed off by a supervisor who has supervised you for at least 3 months, and by the Commissioner.

  3. 3

    Move to Band 3.1

    12 months+

    Only once the workbook is signed off and you've had at least 12 months at Band 2.4.

  4. 4

    Diploma of Policing

    After year 1

    The ACT Policing page says you complete the workbook in your first year, followed by the Diploma of Policing (POL50124).

6 months or 12?

The ACT Policing page mentions 6 months of probation. The enterprise agreement sets at least 12 months at Band 2.4 before progression. These measure different things (probation vs pay progression), and neither source reconciles them.

Protective Service Officer training

PSO recruits do a separate 15-week course leading to the POL41225 Certificate IV in Protective Services, then have a dedicated mentor for their first 6 months. They're told whether they'll train at the College in Canberra or at Pinkenba in Brisbane.

PSO course

15 weeks

Cert IV in Protective Services

PSO recruit pay

$64,754

Band 2.1 base

Training sites

Canberra or Pinkenba

as advised

PSO recruits start at Band 2.1 for at least 12 months, including training. For the PSO role in full, see our AFP joining guide.

Other routes into the AFP College

Most people reach the College through the standard recruit process. A few other routes exist, but not all of them lead to sworn policing, and the experienced-officer pathways are closed or unclear.

Ways into the AFP

Standard recruit (national or ACT)

What it is
Full selection process, then 26 weeks at the College
Status
Open

Protective Service Officer

What it is
Separate 15-week course; Band 2.1
Status
Open

First Nations Pathway Program

What it is
12 months in Canberra in three non-policing rotations at Band 2.1, with a guaranteed job at the end; requires NV1
Status
Not a sworn pathway

IPROWD

What it is
18 weeks full-time or 24 weeks flexible with NSW Police and TAFE NSW, preparing First Nations people to apply to the AFP or NSW Police
Status
Preparation course

Skilled Police Program

What it is
For experienced Australian police with a policing diploma and NV1 or NV2
Status
Closed, no reopening date

ACT Lateral Recruit Program

What it is
Reported as 8 weeks of paid training for experienced police
Status
Unconfirmed; register of interest says filled

From the AFP's careers pages via our AFP data file.

ADF members and veterans use the standard recruit process, and a current NV1 clearance may be recognised. Under the enterprise agreement the Commissioner can set a higher starting pay point for experienced recruits, so if you've served elsewhere, ask about it at the offer stage.

How to succeed at the AFP College

Practical tips

  • ✓ Train for the College PCA, including the sit-up test, not just the entry test
  • ✓ Get your first aid, CPR and 100 m swim certificates sorted before applying
  • ✓ Decide what to do with your lease or home for 26 weeks
  • ✓ Use the free meals and room to build savings for after graduation
  • ✓ Read up on federal legislation and the court system before you start
  • ✓ If you're heading for national policing, be ready for an interstate posting

What works in the AFP's favour

  • ✓Free ensuite room and meals.
  • ✓15.4% employer super, second only to Queensland.
  • ✓Travel to and from the College paid.
  • ✓A strong package once the composite starts.

What to plan for

  • ✕Living on site is the norm for 26 weeks.
  • ✕No composite while you train (unconfirmed).
  • ✕Conflicting course lengths in official sources.
  • ✕You find your own housing after graduation.
Free tool

Check yourself against the AFP standard

Enter your beep test, push-ups and plank to see whether you'd pass the AFP's entry test today.

Check my fitness →

How the AFP College compares

The AFP's base recruit pay is mid-table, but with free board and 15.4% super, its training package is one of the most generous.

Police academies compared

NSW Police

Academy
Goulburn
Course length
16 weeks online (unpaid) + 16 weeks at Goulburn
Recruit pay
$1,360 a week (Academy session only)
First-year constable
$92,576

Victoria Police

Academy
Glen Waverley (Mildura from Jan 2027)
Course length
25 weeks
Recruit pay
$61,187 a year
First-year constable
$84,060

QPS

Academy
Oxley (Brisbane) or Townsville
Course length
About 8 months (32 to 36 weeks quoted)
Recruit pay
$59,728 a year (calculated by us)
First-year constable
$78,505

WA Police

Academy
Joondalup
Course length
28 weeks
Recruit pay
$74,309 a year
First-year constable
$94,651

SAPOL

Academy
Taperoo (former Fort Largs site)
Course length
9 to 11 months (6 in a 2019 release)
Recruit pay
$71,872 a year
First-year constable
$83,398

Tasmania Police

Academy
Rokeby (Launceston satellite on some intakes)
Course length
28 weeks
Recruit pay
$61,801 a year
First-year constable
$73,518

NT Police

Academy
Berrimah, Darwin
Course length
30 weeks (32 in one NTPFES FAQ)
Recruit pay
$74,619 a year
First-year constable
$87,005

AFP

Academy
Barton, Canberra
Course length
26 weeks
Recruit pay
$69,698 a year
First-year constable
$72,317

From each force's data file. First-year constable is the headline base figure; the AFP's excludes the 22% composite and Use of Force allowance.

Still applying? See the AFP entrance exam guide.

Goulburn NSW Police Academy Glen Waverley Victoria Police Academy Oxley and Townsville QPS Academy

Free email alerts

Get AFP intake dates and academy changes

One short email when something changes at the AFP College: new recruit intakes for national and ACT policing, PSO course changes and the December pay rise for recruits.

  • ✓Recruit intake openings as the AFP posts them
  • ✓Band 2.3 and 2.4 pay changes on the day

Sent by Police Pay Australia when there's news. Unsubscribe any time. See our privacy policy.

Frequently asked questions

Where is the AFP College?

The AFP College is in Barton, Canberra, between the city and Lake Burley Griffin. All police recruits, for both national policing and ACT Policing, train there. Protective Service Officer recruits are told whether they'll train at the College or at Pinkenba in Brisbane.

How long is AFP recruit training?

The AFP's careers and College pages say 26 weeks for police recruits, on the Federal Police Development Program. The enterprise agreement lists 19 weeks as the minimum time at the recruit pay point, and an ACT Government release in July 2026 described 27 weeks of training. Use 26 weeks and confirm with the AFP.

Do you get paid at the AFP College?

Yes, from day one. Police recruits are paid at Band 2.3, $69,698 base from 9 December 2025, plus 15.4% employer super. The 22% composite doesn't appear to be paid during training. On graduation you move to Band 2.4, with an advertised package of $91,726.74 including the composite and a $3,500 Use of Force allowance.

Do you have to live in at the AFP College?

Living on site is the norm: the ACT Policing page says you'll live on site for 26 weeks. The AFP's new recruits page says you can ask to live off-site. On-site recruits get a free single room with an ensuite, free meals, a mobile phone and a laptop, and the AFP pays travel to and from the College.

What do AFP recruits learn at the College?

The AFP lists legislation and the judicial system, scenario-based exercises, investigations and case management, driver training, firearms handling and safety, and defensive tactics. The ACT Policing page adds police powers, the intelligence process, preparing briefs of evidence, and interviewing and statement-taking.

Is there a fitness test at the AFP College?

Yes. Recruits sit the Physical Competency Assessment up to three times, including on entry and before graduation. It's a stage 4 sit-up, push-ups listed as 15/30 and a 6.5 beep test. The AFP's document doesn't say which push-up figure applies to which gender, so check with the College.

Do AFP recruits train at Majura?

We found no official AFP page saying police recruits train at Majura. The AFP College page says there are currently no other training facilities for recruit programs, apart from a mention of Pinkenba in Brisbane for PSOs. A news report describes AFP facilities at Majura, but we couldn't confirm recruits use them.

Where do AFP graduates get posted?

Your posting is confirmed in your job offer. National police can be posted to other states, with relocation help covering removalists, vehicle and pet transport and settling-in allowances, though you find and pay for your own housing. ACT Policing recruits go to ACT stations; 19 constables sworn in in March 2026 were deployed across five.

Evidence

Sources and how we checked them

Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.

  1. AFP College — location, facilities, meals, course lengths, PCA and training sites (read 9 Oct 2026)
  2. AFP: New recruits pathway — living off-site, phone and laptop, pay from day one, relocation
  3. AFP: Police officer - ACT Policing
  4. AFP: Police officer - national policing
  5. AFP: Leave, pay and benefits
  6. Australian Federal Police Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 (FWC AE526995, [2024] FWCA 4231) — Band 2.3 and 2.4 rates, 19-week minimum, workbook and progression (s101)
  7. AFP: Protective service officer
  8. AFP Pre-course Fitness Program (PDF, Dec 2023)
  9. Canberra Times: New facilities for AFP's Majura base (search extract only) — shooting range and raid-simulation building; recruit use not confirmed
  10. ACT Policing: Recruit training — 26 weeks on site, routine, curriculum, 6-month probation
  11. ACT Government: ACT Policing welcomes 19 new police officers (31 Jul 2026) — 27 weeks of training; $107M for 126 extra officers
  12. ACT Government: 19 new recruits join ACT Policing (13 Mar 2026) — deployment across five ACT stations

Related guides

Joining the police

More in this series

See every joining the police guide →

General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.