Do you need a degree to become a police officer?
No force requires one. NSW builds one into training.
You don't need a university degree to join any Australian police force. The minimum education ranges from none at all (Victoria and WA) to an ATAR of 50 or equivalent (NSW). Most forces then give you a recognised qualification through recruit training, usually the Diploma of Policing.
No minimum education
Vic, WA
the entrance exam does the filtering
University-based training
NSW
Associate Degree with WSU
Exam exemption for graduates
Vic, SA
and possibly QLD
Usual qualification
Diploma
POL50124 Diploma of Policing
NSW is the exception people ask about. Its recruits study the Associate Degree in Applied Policing (ADAP) with Western Sydney University, which is an AQF Level 6 qualification. You don't need a degree to start it: you need an ATAR of 50 or an equivalent, and you're accepted onto it after passing NSW Police's selection process.
What this page covers
We set out each force's education rule and qualification, explain NSW's degree and fees (including a conflict between two published fee figures), and show what a HELP debt costs on a police salary using 2026-27 repayment rates.
Education requirements and qualifications by force
Here's each force's education rule as held in our data files, followed by the qualification recruits finish with.
- Education rule to apply
- HSC with an ATAR of 50 or more, or equivalent (Certificate III or higher, a degree, a bridging course or UPPAP), plus English proficiency.
- Education rule to apply
- No minimum education requirement.
- Education rule to apply
- No education rule in the eligibility extracts we hold; ask QPS Recruiting
- Education rule to apply
- No formal qualifications required.
- Education rule to apply
- Year 12 is highly desirable but not mandatory.
- Education rule to apply
- Education: left school after 2020, Year 12 or Certificate III; left before 2020, Year 10 with a C pass in Maths and English (Certificate II in General Education for Adults accepted).
- Education rule to apply
- Year 12 (or equivalent), or a completed trade certificate, or considerable employment experience and life skills.
- Education rule to apply
- Year 10 Certificate or higher.
| Force | Education rule to apply |
|---|---|
| NSW Police | HSC with an ATAR of 50 or more, or equivalent (Certificate III or higher, a degree, a bridging course or UPPAP), plus English proficiency. |
| Victoria Police | No minimum education requirement. |
| QPS | No education rule in the eligibility extracts we hold; ask QPS Recruiting |
| WA Police | No formal qualifications required. |
| SAPOL | Year 12 is highly desirable but not mandatory. |
| Tasmania Police | Education: left school after 2020, Year 12 or Certificate III; left before 2020, Year 10 with a C pass in Maths and English (Certificate II in General Education for Adults accepted). |
| NT Police | Year 12 (or equivalent), or a completed trade certificate, or considerable employment experience and life skills. |
| AFP | Year 10 Certificate or higher. |
SA's eligibility page says Year 12 is highly desirable but not mandatory. Queensland's education rule isn't stated in the eligibility extracts we hold.
NSW
- Qualification from recruit training
- Associate Degree in Applied Policing (AQF 6), Western Sydney University
Victoria
- Qualification from recruit training
- POL50124 Diploma of Policing, at the end of probation (week 116)
Queensland
- Qualification from recruit training
- A Diploma of Policing issued by QPS (current version not confirmed)
WA
- Qualification from recruit training
- Diploma of Policing with North Metropolitan TAFE, after the Academy, 18 months' probation and permanent appointment
SA
- Qualification from recruit training
- Diploma of Policing on completing the Constable Development Program
Tasmania
- Qualification from recruit training
- 15 of the 24 units of the University of Tasmania Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies)
NT
- Qualification from recruit training
- POL50124 Diploma of Policing
AFP
- Qualification from recruit training
- The opportunity to receive the POL50124 Diploma of Policing (police); Certificate IV in Protective Services (PSOs)
| Force | Qualification from recruit training |
|---|---|
| NSW | Associate Degree in Applied Policing (AQF 6), Western Sydney University |
| Victoria | POL50124 Diploma of Policing, at the end of probation (week 116) |
| Queensland | A Diploma of Policing issued by QPS (current version not confirmed) |
| WA | Diploma of Policing with North Metropolitan TAFE, after the Academy, 18 months' probation and permanent appointment |
| SA | Diploma of Policing on completing the Constable Development Program |
| Tasmania | 15 of the 24 units of the University of Tasmania Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies) |
| NT | POL50124 Diploma of Policing |
| AFP | The opportunity to receive the POL50124 Diploma of Policing (police); Certificate IV in Protective Services (PSOs) |
Tasmania's arrangement with the University of Tasmania has run since 2010. University course names in this area change often; we've used the force's current wording.
NSW: the Associate Degree in Applied Policing
Since January 2026, NSW recruits have trained through the ADAP with Western Sydney University (WSU). The first class under WSU, Class 369, attested at Goulburn in September 2026. You apply to NSW Police first, pass its professional suitability assessment, then apply to WSU.
- 1
Session 1: online study (16 weeks)
Unpaid, studied from home.
- 2
Session 2: the Academy (16 weeks)
Full time and residential at Goulburn, employed as temporary administrative staff on $1,360 a week plus super, with free accommodation and meals.
- 3
Attestation
You're sworn in as a Probationary Constable.
- 4
Probation and online sessions (12 months)
Operational placement as a Probationary Constable, plus 3 part-time online sessions.
The degree is open to domestic students only, with an ATAR of at least 50 or an equivalent such as a Certificate III or higher, a degree or a bridging course. WSU lists the next starts as 26 October 2026, 1 March 2027, 3 May 2027 and 23 August 2027. See our NSW joining guide for the selection stages.
The first WSU cohort, Class 369, was 353 probationary constables, according to the university. One practical change from the old Charles Sturt course is how it's funded: the ADAP is a Commonwealth Supported Place with a student contribution, while the old course was reported in 2023 to cost $21,132 in total under FEE-HELP. Either way, you're studying for a real university qualification, and the credit can count towards further study later.
NSW ADAP fees: two figures that don't match
This is where NSW applicants get confused, and with reason. Two official sources give different fee figures for the same course.
NSW Police Force recruiting (salary and benefits)
- Figure
- About $9,112 a year
- What it says
- Commonwealth-supported student contribution; HECS-HELP available to citizens
Western Sydney University course page (read 9 October 2026)
- Figure
- From $11,885 a year
- What it says
- Indicative annual fee for a Commonwealth Supported Place; may change with unit mix and annual adjustments; excludes the student services and amenities fee
| Source | Figure | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police Force recruiting (salary and benefits) | About $9,112 a year | Commonwealth-supported student contribution; HECS-HELP available to citizens |
| Western Sydney University course page (read 9 October 2026) | From $11,885 a year | Indicative annual fee for a Commonwealth Supported Place; may change with unit mix and annual adjustments; excludes the student services and amenities fee |
Which figure should you believe?
The WSU figure is $2,773 a year higher and is the university's own, so plan on it. The NSW Police figure may be older. The "from" wording means your actual fee depends on the units you take. Confirm the current amount with WSU before you accept an offer.
The ADAP runs over two years full time. If it were charged as two full-time years, that would be roughly $18,224 at the lower figure or $23,770 at the higher one. That's our rough calculation, not a quote. Eligible students can defer the whole amount through HECS-HELP and repay it through the tax system once they earn enough.
Budget on the university's figure, not the lower one, and ask WSU for the student contribution for your actual units.
NSW: UPPAP, HECS eligibility and the old ADPP
If you don't have an ATAR of 50 or equivalent, NSW has a free way in. The Undergraduate Preparation Program in Applied Policing (UPPAP) is a fee-free enabling course; finishing it while keeping your professional suitability guarantees a place on the ADAP.
HECS-HELP eligibility for the ADAP (WSU)
- ✓ Australian citizens: can defer fees through HECS-HELP.
- ✓ Permanent humanitarian visa holders: can defer through HECS-HELP.
- ✓ NZ Special Category Visa holders: now have access, according to WSU.
- ✓ Other permanent residents: must pay upfront by the census date.
The previous arrangement, the Associate Degree in Policing Practice with Charles Sturt University, has closed to new intakes. Search summaries of NSW Police's page say the final intake took applications until 20 August 2025. A 2023 report in The Mandarin put the old course at $21,132 in total under FEE-HELP. NSW also pays a small qualification allowance: $792 a year for a relevant degree, or $398 for a Diploma in Criminology, to constables and senior constables, ending on first merit promotion.
Victoria and Queensland: diplomas, exemptions and HECS help
Victoria Police
Victoria has no minimum education requirement. Recruits earn the POL50124 Diploma of Policing from Victoria Police's own training organisation. There's also an optional university route: Monash University's Bachelor of Criminology and Policing, where students apply to the force in second year and spend third year at the Glen Waverley Academy, paid as a recruit, while finishing Monash units online.
Degree holders are among those who can skip Victoria's entrance exam. Our data file records the exam this way: "Must pass all four parts. 3 months to sit (the PSO process lists a 2-month window). Exemptions are possible for degree holders, ATAR 65+ with English 25+, ADF members, paramedics and firefighters, VPS Grade 3+, final-year criminology students and others. The same exam is used for PSOs." A 2025 AAP report says the degree exemption applies to bachelor degrees from the last five years in fields such as arts, science, humanities, business or law.
Queensland Police Service
Queensland doesn't require a degree, and QPS issues a Diploma of Policing through its own training organisation. In 2023 the government offered up to $20,000 of HECS paid for up to 400 recruits with relevant degrees, such as criminology, social work or counselling, paid on graduating from the Academy; an April 2024 ministerial statement repeated it and said degree holders may also be exempt from the entrance assessment. We couldn't confirm whether the HECS offer is still open, so ask QPS Recruiting.
No exemption? Practise for the exam
Practise numeracy, reasoning and writing questions in the style forces use. Five free questions a day; full access A$39.99.
WA, SA, Tasmania, the NT and the AFP
WA Police Force
WA requires no formal qualifications. After 28 weeks at the Academy, 18 months' probation and permanent appointment as a constable, officers can apply for a Diploma of Policing delivered with North Metropolitan TAFE, which WA says gives credit towards some courses and direct university entry.
South Australia Police
SA says Year 12 is highly desirable but not mandatory, and recruits receive a Diploma of Policing at the end of the Constable Development Program. Graduates can skip the entrance test: "Exemptions: a bachelor degree (Australia/NZ/UK), an Australian diploma (AQF5+), SACE with ATAR 65+, an IB diploma, a previous pass, another Australian/NZ police entrance exam, or 6+ months' experience in police, emergency services, the ADF or the SA public sector at ASO4+."
Tasmania Police
Tasmania's education rule depends on when you left school (Year 12 or a Certificate III after 2020; Year 10 with C passes in Maths and English before then). The recruit course is linked to the University of Tasmania: Recruits complete 15 of the 24 units of the UTAS Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies). The force's recruitment pages don't say who pays the university fees, so ask Tasmania Police Recruiting.
NT Police and the AFP
The NT accepts Year 12, a trade certificate or considerable work experience, and graduates receive the POL50124 Diploma of Policing. The AFP needs Year 10; police recruits can receive the same diploma at the AFP College. A Charles Sturt University agreement from 2007 gives AFP members credit for College study, including towards the Bachelor of Policing (Investigations) for officers with five or more years' service.
What recruit training costs you in each force
Because NSW's training is a university course, NSW recruits face two costs other recruits don't: an unpaid first session and a student contribution. Every other force pays you from the first day of the academy and publishes no tuition fees for recruit training.
- Pay while training
- Session 1 (16 weeks) unpaid; $1,360 a week during the 16-week Academy session
- Study fees for recruit training
- Student contribution (about $9,112 or from $11,885 a year), deferrable via HECS-HELP
- Pay while training
- $61,187 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
- Pay while training
- $59,728 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
- Pay while training
- $74,309 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
- Pay while training
- $71,872 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
- Pay while training
- $61,801 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- Not stated on the recruitment pages
- Pay while training
- $74,619 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
- Pay while training
- $69,698 a year from day one
- Study fees for recruit training
- None published
| Force | Pay while training | Study fees for recruit training |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | Session 1 (16 weeks) unpaid; $1,360 a week during the 16-week Academy session | Student contribution (about $9,112 or from $11,885 a year), deferrable via HECS-HELP |
| Victoria Police | $61,187 a year from day one | None published |
| QPS | $59,728 a year from day one | None published |
| WA Police | $74,309 a year from day one | None published |
| SAPOL | $71,872 a year from day one | None published |
| Tasmania Police | $61,801 a year from day one | Not stated on the recruitment pages |
| NT Police | $74,619 a year from day one | None published |
| AFP | $69,698 a year from day one | None published |
Training pay figures are from each force's data file; Queensland's is calculated by us from the agreement. Tasmania's recruitment pages don't say who pays for the University of Tasmania units recruits complete.
Once you're sworn in, a HELP debt shows up in your fortnightly pay. A NSW first-year constable on $92,576 would take home about $2,786 a fortnight with no HELP debt, or about $2,653 with one: a difference of about $133 a fortnight, by our calculation with 2026-27 tax rates and no allowances or overtime.
That's real money in your first year, but it's temporary, it doesn't accrue interest, and the debt is wiped once it's repaid. NSW's first-year pay with loading is also among the highest of any force, which offsets the cost. Compare the full picture in our NSW police salary guide and the national pay comparison.
Does a degree help a police career?
A degree won't get you a higher starting salary in any force: recruits start on the same rate whatever their qualifications. It can help in other ways, and it can cost you in others.
Works in your favour
- ✓Entrance exam exemptions in Victoria and SA (and possibly Queensland)
- ✓NSW pays $792 a year for a relevant degree to constables and senior constables
- ✓Queensland's HECS offer for relevant degrees (status to confirm)
- ✓Useful for specialist, intelligence and leadership roles later
- ✓A career outside policing if you leave
Watch out for
- ✕No higher starting pay in any force
- ✕Three years of study is three years of police pay forgone
- ✕A HELP debt reduces take-home pay once you earn over the threshold
- ✕Recruit training gives you a policing qualification anyway
If your goal is detective work or a specialist unit, the qualifications that matter most are the ones forces deliver themselves, such as the Advanced Diploma of Police Investigation. See our detective career guide.
HELP repayments on police pay
If you have a HELP debt from any course, compulsory repayments come out of your pay once your repayment income passes $69,528. From 2026-27 the system is marginal: you repay 15% of income above the threshold up to $129,717, then $9,028 plus 17% above that, and above $186,050 a flat 10% of total repayment income.
- First-year constable
- $92,576
- HELP repayment a year
- $3,457
- Top of Senior Constable
- $139,688
- HELP repayment a year
- $10,723
- First-year constable
- $84,060
- HELP repayment a year
- $2,180
- Top of Senior Constable
- $118,945
- HELP repayment a year
- $7,413
- First-year constable
- $78,505
- HELP repayment a year
- $1,347
- Top of Senior Constable
- $118,127
- HELP repayment a year
- $7,290
- First-year constable
- $94,651
- HELP repayment a year
- $3,768
- Top of Senior Constable
- $124,558
- HELP repayment a year
- $8,255
- First-year constable
- $83,398
- HELP repayment a year
- $2,081
- Top of Senior Constable
- $117,542
- HELP repayment a year
- $7,202
- First-year constable
- $73,518
- HELP repayment a year
- $599
- Top of Senior Constable
- $107,420
- HELP repayment a year
- $5,684
- First-year constable
- $87,005
- HELP repayment a year
- $2,622
- Top of Senior Constable
- $120,539
- HELP repayment a year
- $7,652
- First-year constable
- $72,317
- HELP repayment a year
- $418
- Top of Senior Constable
- $111,861
- HELP repayment a year
- $6,350
| Force | First-year constable | HELP repayment a year | Top of Senior Constable | HELP repayment a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW Police | $92,576 | $3,457 | $139,688 | $10,723 |
| Victoria Police | $84,060 | $2,180 | $118,945 | $7,413 |
| QPS | $78,505 | $1,347 | $118,127 | $7,290 |
| WA Police | $94,651 | $3,768 | $124,558 | $8,255 |
| SAPOL | $83,398 | $2,081 | $117,542 | $7,202 |
| Tasmania Police | $73,518 | $599 | $107,420 | $5,684 |
| NT Police | $87,005 | $2,622 | $120,539 | $7,652 |
| AFP | $72,317 | $418 | $111,861 | $6,350 |
Calculated by us with the 2026-27 marginal repayment rates, on salary alone. Repayment income can also include reportable super, fringe benefits and net investment losses, and shift allowances and overtime add to it. NSW figures include the 11.5% loading paid as salary.
The base figures understate most officers' real repayments, because shift allowances, overtime and loadings count as income. In Queensland, for example, the 21% Operational Shift Allowance is paid on top of the base shown. Use our calculator with the HELP option ticked to see your own fortnightly figure.
See your take-home pay with a HELP debt
Pick your force, rank and roster, tick HELP, and see your fortnightly take-home pay with 2026-27 tax and repayment rates.
Worked example: paying off the NSW ADAP
Say you graduate from the ADAP with a HECS-HELP debt for two years of student contributions, and you're a first-year constable on $92,576 including loading. Your compulsory repayment would be about $3,457 a year, or about $133 a fortnight, by our calculation.
Two years at $9,112
- Debt
- $18,224
- Years to repay at first-year pay
- About 5.3 years calc
Two years at $11,885
- Debt
- $23,770
- Years to repay at first-year pay
- About 6.9 years calc
| Debt scenario | Debt | Years to repay at first-year pay |
|---|---|---|
| Two years at $9,112 | $18,224 | About 5.3 years calc |
| Two years at $11,885 | $23,770 | About 6.9 years calc |
Ignores indexation, pay rises, allowances, overtime and voluntary repayments. Debt amounts are rough two-year estimates, not quotes.
In practice you'd likely repay faster, because pay rises steeply through the constable increments and most officers earn allowances and overtime. Indexation works the other way, adding to the balance each June. The point is that the debt is manageable on police pay: a few years of compulsory repayments, not decades.
Indexation and the 20% debt cut
HELP debts don't charge interest, but they're indexed each 1 June. Since a 2023 change, the rate is the lower of the Consumer Price Index and the Wage Price Index.
1 June 2025
- What happened
- Indexation of 3.2%
- Status
- Department of Education (search summary)
2025
- What happened
- A 20% cut to HELP debts, applied to balances as at 1 June 2025, after the Universities Accord (Cutting Student Debt by 20 per cent) Bill 2025 passed
- Status
- Department of Education
1 June 2026
- What happened
- Indexation of 2.8%
- Status
- Secondary sources only; the ATO page blocked our reader
2026-27
- What happened
- Repayment threshold rises to $69,528, with the marginal system
- Status
- ATO (search summaries)
| Date | What happened | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 1 June 2025 | Indexation of 3.2% | Department of Education (search summary) |
| 2025 | A 20% cut to HELP debts, applied to balances as at 1 June 2025, after the Universities Accord (Cutting Student Debt by 20 per cent) Bill 2025 passed | Department of Education |
| 1 June 2026 | Indexation of 2.8% | Secondary sources only; the ATO page blocked our reader |
| 2026-27 | Repayment threshold rises to $69,528, with the marginal system | ATO (search summaries) |
If you already have a HELP debt from an earlier course, the 20% cut will have been applied automatically. Check your balance through myGov. This is general information, not tax advice; the ATO is the authority on your debt.
Should you study first or join now?
For most people who know they want to be police officers, joining now makes more sense than studying first. Recruit training gives you a policing qualification, and you're paid while you train in every force except during NSW's online session.
Study first if…
- ✓ You want a degree for its own sake or a fallback career.
- ✓ You'd struggle with the entrance exam and a degree would exempt you (Victoria, SA).
- ✓ You're in Queensland and a relevant degree might attract its HECS offer (check it's still open).
- ✓ You're too young to start training and have time to fill.
- ✓ You're aiming for intelligence, cyber or forensic roles where a degree is valued.
Join now if…
- ✓ Policing is the career you want, and you meet your force's education rule.
- ✓ You'd rather earn while you train: every force pays recruits at the academy (NSW from its second session).
- ✓ You can pass the entrance exam without a degree exemption, or you're applying to a force with no exam exemption advantage.
- ✓ You'd like your employer to deliver your qualification: most forces award a Diploma of Policing during training.
Whichever you choose, check the other eligibility requirements and the entrance exam guide. If you're coming from another job, our career change guide compares training pay with your current salary.
Free email alerts
Get told when police study rules or fees change
NSW's degree fees, entrance exam exemptions for graduates and HECS incentives all change from year to year. We'll email you when a force or university changes its rules, plus new intake dates.
- ✓Degree, fee and exemption changes
- ✓New intakes in all 8 forces
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a degree to be a police officer in Australia?
No. No force requires a degree to apply. Victoria and WA have no minimum education at all, the AFP asks for Year 10, and SA says Year 12 is desirable but not mandatory. NSW needs an ATAR of 50 or equivalent because its recruit training is a university associate degree, but you study for that after you're accepted, not before.
Do NSW police recruits have to pay for their degree?
Yes. NSW recruits study the Associate Degree in Applied Policing with Western Sydney University as Commonwealth-supported students and pay a student contribution, which eligible students can defer through HECS-HELP. NSW Police information puts it at about $9,112 a year; the university's course page says "from $11,885" a year. Check the current figure with WSU before you enrol.
Can you get HECS-HELP for the NSW police degree?
Australian citizens and permanent humanitarian visa holders can defer fees through HECS-HELP, and Western Sydney University says NZ Special Category Visa holders now have access too. Other permanent residents must pay upfront by the census date. Ask WSU to confirm your eligibility before you accept an offer.
Does having a degree help you get into the police?
It can. Victoria and SA exempt many degree holders from their entrance exams, and Queensland says degree holders may be exempt from its entrance assessment. Queensland also announced up to $20,000 off HECS for up to 400 recruits with relevant degrees. NSW pays a small qualification allowance for a relevant degree to constables and senior constables.
What qualification do you get from the police academy?
In most forces, the POL50124 Diploma of Policing: Victoria, the NT and the AFP all name it, SA awards a Diploma of Policing after its Constable Development Program, and WA's comes with North Metropolitan TAFE after probation. NSW recruits finish with an Associate Degree in Applied Policing, and Tasmanian recruits complete 15 of the 24 units of a University of Tasmania Bachelor of Social Science (Police Studies).
How much HELP will I repay on a police salary?
Under the 2026-27 marginal system, you repay 15% of repayment income above $69,528, rising to 17% above $129,717. A NSW first-year constable on $92,576 (including the 11.5% loading) would repay about $3,457 a year, by our calculation. Repayment income can include more than salary, so check the ATO's definition.
Should I do a criminology degree before joining the police?
Only if you want the degree for its own sake or for a later career. No force requires one, and recruit training gives you the policing qualification you need. A degree can exempt you from entrance exams in Victoria and SA, and may count for Queensland's HECS offer, but three years of study also means three years of police pay forgone.
Is the Charles Sturt University police degree still available for NSW?
No. NSW Police's former Associate Degree in Policing Practice with Charles Sturt University has closed to new intakes; search summaries of NSW Police's page say its final intake took applications until 20 August 2025. NSW recruits now study the Associate Degree in Applied Policing with Western Sydney University.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Western Sydney University: Associate Degree in Applied Policing (indicative annual fee from $11,885, CSP)
- Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 397, 9 May 2025, pp 1238-1334
- NSW Police Force recruitment: Salary and benefits
- Western Sydney University news: First class of probationary constables with WSU attest in Goulburn
- Western Sydney University news: partnership with NSW Police Force (3 October 2025)
- NSW Police Force: Associate Degree in Policing Practice (closed) — Search summary only.
- The Mandarin: Pay for trainee NSW police (1 November 2023) — Secondary.
- Victoria Police: Police officer training
- Victoria Police: Bachelor of Criminology and Policing (Monash)
- Victoria Police: Police recruitment process
- AAP: Testing axed in bid to fast-track police recruitment (4 March 2025) — Secondary.
- Queensland ministerial statement 100118 (16 April 2024): HECS offer for recruits
- Queensland ministerial statement 97703 (9 May 2023): recruitment incentives
- Let's Join Forces (WA Police Force): Diploma in Policing (25 May 2023)
- SAPOL: Recruitment process
- SAPOL: Eligibility
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: Entry requirements
- Tasmania Police Recruitment: University of Tasmania and Tasmania Police
- NTPFES: Constable recruitment page
- AFP: New recruits pathway
- AFP College
- Charles Sturt University: AFP members get credit (21 November 2007)
- ATO: Study and training support loans rates and repayment thresholds
- ATO: Study and training support loans indexation rates
- Department of Education: Cutting student debt by 20 per cent
Related guides
Joining the police
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.