The NSW police pay deal at a glance
Three gazetted rises, a shorter pay scale and a new injury scheme, all in one award.
NSW police pay is set by the Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award. It operates from 1 July 2024 and stays in force until 30 June 2027 (cl 95.2). It was the biggest change to NSW police pay in years, because it didn't just add a percentage: it rebuilt the scale that decides how fast you move up it.
Probationary Constable
$92,576
base $83,028 + 11.5% loading
Senior Constable L1
$115,290
loaded, from 1 Jul 2026
Sergeant L5
$157,203
loaded, from 1 Jul 2026
Retention payment
$5,400
one-off, eligibility varies
The current pay table took effect on 1 July 2026. It's the last one written into the award. Everything after that depends on a new award, which is why NSW is one of the forces to watch on our national pay deal tracker.
Free email alerts
Get an alert the day the next NSW Police pay offer is published
No rise is gazetted after July 2026 and the award ends on 30 June 2027. Be first to know when talks start, what's offered and how the vote goes.
- ✓NSW offer and vote alerts
- ✓Gazettal and back pay dates
- ✓Unsubscribe in one click
How the 2024 award was won: dates, the vote and the approval
The deal was put to members of the Police Association of NSW in late 2024. It was accepted in November 2024 by a large margin and back-paid to 1 July 2024. The award was then published in the NSW Industrial Gazette in May 2025 and corrected by a variation later that year.
- 1
Offer put to members
Late 2024PANSW's offer summary described pay rises, a restructured scale, a retention payment and a 26.26% increase in shift penalties over the agreement (PANSW's figure, not verified by us).
- 2
Members accept
November 202410,364 of 10,822 votes were yes: 95.77%. Rises were back-paid to 1 July 2024.
- 3
Award published
9 May 2025Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 397, 9 May 2025 (Serial C9945, pp 1238-1334).
- 4
Second rise
1 July 2025NCOs 4%, Inspectors 3%, Superintendents 3%.
- 5
Variation made and published
Sep to Oct 2025Made 12 September 2025 and published 28 October 2025. It renamed 'Year' to 'Level', corrected the 1 July 2025 Detectives table, replaced the parental leave clauses and updated travel, meal, remote-area and special-operations allowances.
- 6
Third and final gazetted rise
1 July 2026NCOs 5%, Inspectors 3.5%, Superintendents 3%. Probationary Constable loaded pay reaches $92,576.
The government described the package as 19% on base pay over four years for NCOs, with total increases of 22.3% to 39.4% for NCOs and 20.5% to 27.1% for commissioned officers once the restructure is counted. Those totals are the government's, measured over the full four years. Inside State Government reported the package at $697.6 million; that figure isn't in the government's own release.
Every scheduled rise, with dates
Different rank groups got different rises. Non-commissioned officers (Probationary Constable to Senior Sergeant, including detectives and prosecutors) got the largest. Rises apply from the first full pay period starting on or after each date, so the first payslip showing a July rise usually lands in mid to late July.
1 July 2024
- NCOs
- 4%
- Inspectors
- 4%
- Superintendents
- 3.5%
- Status
- Gazetted, back-paid
1 July 2025
- NCOs
- 4%
- Inspectors
- 3%
- Superintendents
- 3%
- Status
- Gazetted
1 July 2026
- NCOs
- 5%
- Inspectors
- 3.5%
- Superintendents
- 3%
- Status
- Gazetted, current
1 July 2027
- NCOs
- 5% (announced)
- Inspectors
- Not stated
- Superintendents
- Not stated
- Status
- Not gazetted: inferred from government figures
| Effective from | NCOs | Inspectors | Superintendents | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 July 2024 | 4% | 4% | 3.5% | Gazetted, back-paid |
| 1 July 2025 | 4% | 3% | 3% | Gazetted |
| 1 July 2026 | 5% | 3.5% | 3% | Gazetted, current |
| 1 July 2027 | 5% (announced) | Not stated | Not stated | Not gazetted: inferred from government figures |
Source: the award (cl 95.2 and pay tables) and the NSW Government release. The 2027 row is not in the award.
Four rises of 4%, 4%, 5% and 5% compound to about 19.25%, which is where the "19% over four years" description comes from. Only the first three are law today: together they compound to 13.57% on the new scale. The fourth would need a new award or a variation.
The 11.5% loading rises with every increase
NCO salaries in the award carry an 11.5% loading paid as salary (cl 40). It replaces weekend penalties and annual leave loading, and because it's a percentage of base, each rise lifts it too. All NCO figures on this page include it unless they say "base".
What each rise is worth at your rank
Calculated from the award's own tables, so these are the real dollar changes, not percentages applied to a guess.
Probationary Constable Level 1
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $84,777
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $88,169
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $92,576
- 2025 rise
- +$3,392 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$4,407 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $170
Constable Level 5
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $95,973
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $99,811
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $104,802
- 2025 rise
- +$3,838 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$4,991 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $192
Senior Constable Level 1
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $105,577
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $109,800
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $115,290
- 2025 rise
- +$4,223 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$5,490 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $211
Senior Constable Level 5
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $127,919
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $133,037
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $139,688
- 2025 rise
- +$5,118 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$6,651 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $256
Sergeant Level 1
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $131,163
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $136,409
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $143,230
- 2025 rise
- +$5,246 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$6,821 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $262
Sergeant Level 5
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $143,958
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $149,717
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $157,203
- 2025 rise
- +$5,759 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$7,486 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $288
Senior Sergeant Level 3
- From 1 Jul 2024
- $151,835
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $157,909
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $165,804
- 2025 rise
- +$6,074 (4%)
- 2026 rise
- +$7,895 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $304
Detective Level 1 (base)
- From 1 Jul 2024
- not published
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $88,021
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $92,422
- 2026 rise
- +$4,401 (5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $169
Inspector Level 1
- From 1 Jul 2024
- not published
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $172,675
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $178,719
- 2026 rise
- +$6,044 (3.5%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $232
Superintendent Level 1
- From 1 Jul 2024
- not published
- From 1 Jul 2025
- $222,763
- From 1 Jul 2026
- $229,446
- 2026 rise
- +$6,683 (3%)
- 2026 rise per fortnight
- $257
| Rank and level | From 1 Jul 2024 | From 1 Jul 2025 | From 1 Jul 2026 | 2025 rise | 2026 rise | 2026 rise per fortnight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Probationary Constable Level 1 | $84,777 | $88,169 | $92,576 | +$3,392 (4%) | +$4,407 (5%) | $170 |
| Constable Level 5 | $95,973 | $99,811 | $104,802 | +$3,838 (4%) | +$4,991 (5%) | $192 |
| Senior Constable Level 1 | $105,577 | $109,800 | $115,290 | +$4,223 (4%) | +$5,490 (5%) | $211 |
| Senior Constable Level 5 | $127,919 | $133,037 | $139,688 | +$5,118 (4%) | +$6,651 (5%) | $256 |
| Sergeant Level 1 | $131,163 | $136,409 | $143,230 | +$5,246 (4%) | +$6,821 (5%) | $262 |
| Sergeant Level 5 | $143,958 | $149,717 | $157,203 | +$5,759 (4%) | +$7,486 (5%) | $288 |
| Senior Sergeant Level 3 | $151,835 | $157,909 | $165,804 | +$6,074 (4%) | +$7,895 (5%) | $304 |
| Detective Level 1 (base) | not published | $88,021 | $92,422 | – | +$4,401 (5%) | $169 |
| Inspector Level 1 | not published | $172,675 | $178,719 | – | +$6,044 (3.5%) | $232 |
| Superintendent Level 1 | not published | $222,763 | $229,446 | – | +$6,683 (3%) | $257 |
NCO figures include the 11.5% loading. Detective, Inspector and Superintendent figures are base salary. 'not published' means that table wasn't captured in our source: the 2024 Detectives, Inspectors and Superintendents tables. Per fortnight = annual ÷ 26, before tax.
A Senior Constable Level 1 on the loaded rate gained $5,490 a year from the July 2026 rise alone, about $211 a fortnight before tax. At a 32% marginal rate (30% plus Medicare), that's roughly $144 a fortnight in your account.
These tables don't show progression. Moving up a level each year is worth far more than the annual rise in the early years: Constable Level 5 to Senior Constable Level 1 is a jump of $10,488 on 2026 rates. See every level on the NSW police salary page.
See the 2026 rise in your actual take-home pay
Choose NSW, your level, your B shifts and overtime. The calculator uses the 1 July 2026 award table and the award's shift allowance formula.
What else the award changed: scales, allowances and conditions
The pay rise was only part of the deal. The award restructured progression, added new allowances and changed the injury and insurance arrangements officers rely on. Some changes help almost everyone; a few are trade-offs worth knowing about.
A shorter pay scale
The new Table 1b has Probationary Constable, then Constable Levels 2 to 5, then Senior Constable Levels 1 to 5. Each level needs at least 12 months plus competency requirements such as defensive tactics, first aid and a policing knowledge test (cl 64). Leading Senior Constable is no longer a rank in Table 1b; it survives only as a preserved legacy rate.
New and updated allowances
A new field training allowance pays Field Training Officers 10% of the Senior Constable Level 3 hourly rate per ordinary hour rostered with a probationary constable (cl 41), about $3.97 an hour from July 2026 on our calculation. The September 2025 variation updated travel, meal, remote-area and special-operations allowances. Specialist allowances such as the detectives' special allowance ($2,456 a year from July 2026) rose each year.
Insurance and the retention payment
Police Blue Ribbon Insurance was replaced from 1 October 2024 by the Enhanced Police Support Scheme, and bringing it into government ownership helped fund the deal. Senior officers also got a one-off $5,400 leadership retention payment. PANSW says it covers senior constables, sergeants and commissioned officers; the government says "senior officers completing training".
What officers gained
- ✓Top Senior Constable pay reached years sooner
- ✓EPSS tops up workers comp to 100% of salary for 0 to 9 months, then up to 75% for up to 7 years
- ✓Off-duty income protection extended to 3 years (was 2)
- ✓Parental leave clauses rewritten in 2025: 14 weeks paid, plus 2 bonus weeks in some cases
Trade-offs to know
- ✕EPSS has no TPD lump sum, which PBRI had
- ✕Officers contribute 1.8% of salary to EPSS (0.88% for SASS/ABC members)
- ✕Leading Senior Constable no longer exists as a rank
- ✕Only three rises are gazetted; the fourth isn't guaranteed
The shift allowance change, worked through
NSW shift allowances are paid on the Sergeant Level 5 salary for everyone, so each pay rise lifts every officer's night rate.
Under cl 50, the shift allowance is S × 1/52.17857 × 1/7 × 1/8 × R × H, where S is the Sergeant Level 5 base salary, R is the rate (10% for C shifts, 15% for A shifts, 17.5% for B shifts) and H is hours. It divides by 56 hours, not 38, so don't shortcut it with your own hourly rate.
1 July 2024
- Sergeant L5 base (S)
- $129,110
- C shift per hour
- $4.42
- A shift per hour
- $6.63
- B shift per hour
- $7.73
- 8-hour B shift
- $61.86
1 July 2025
- Sergeant L5 base (S)
- $134,275
- C shift per hour
- $4.60
- A shift per hour
- $6.89
- B shift per hour
- $8.04
- 8-hour B shift
- $64.33
1 July 2026
- Sergeant L5 base (S)
- $140,989
- C shift per hour
- $4.83
- A shift per hour
- $7.24
- B shift per hour
- $8.44
- 8-hour B shift
- $67.55
| From | Sergeant L5 base (S) | C shift per hour | A shift per hour | B shift per hour | 8-hour B shift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 July 2024 | $129,110 | $4.42 | $6.63 | $7.73 | $61.86 |
| 1 July 2025 | $134,275 | $4.60 | $6.89 | $8.04 | $64.33 |
| 1 July 2026 | $140,989 | $4.83 | $7.24 | $8.44 | $67.55 |
Our calculation from the award formula; the award doesn't print these hourly figures.
For an officer working four 10-hour B shifts a fortnight, the night allowance is worth about $8,782 a year on 2026 rates, up from about $8,042 on 2024 rates. Because every officer's allowance is based on the same Sergeant salary, it's worth relatively more to a probationary constable than to a senior sergeant.
About the 26.26% claim
PANSW's offer summary said shift penalties rise 26.26% over the agreement, reflecting a switch in the base salary used for the allowance. The old base isn't in our data, so we can't check that figure; what we can show is the rise from July 2024 onwards in the table above.
How back pay worked, and how it would work next time
Because members voted in November 2024 but the award ran from 1 July 2024, every officer was owed the difference for the months in between. Back pay is calculated pay period by pay period: your new rate minus what you were paid, for ordinary hours, plus anything worked out from base salary, such as overtime.
- 1
The new rate is loaded
FirstPayroll applies the new table from the first full pay period on or after the operative date going forward.
- 2
The gap is recalculated
ThenFor each past pay period, payroll works out what you should have been paid on the new rates, including overtime on base salary and allowances tied to salary, such as the shift allowance.
- 3
A lump sum is paid
FinallyThe total arrives as back pay, taxed under the ATO's back payment method. Your annual tax is still based on your actual income.
To show the scale, here's an illustration, not a forecast. If a 5% rise dated 1 July 2027 were gazetted late and reached payroll 9 fortnights after its start date, a Senior Constable Level 1 would be owed about $1,995 in back pay before tax ($115,290 × 5% ÷ 26 × 9), plus any overtime adjustment.
Back pay is only owed if the new award says the rise starts before it's made. That date is worth checking in any offer.
What happens when the award ends on 30 June 2027
The award's pay tables stop at 1 July 2026. Any further rise needs a new award or a variation through the NSW Industrial Relations Commission. As at 9 October 2026 we found no evidence of new award negotiations or a pay dispute. Our research didn't cover the NSW Government's current wages policy, so we can't say what limits it would set.
The government has said a Probationary Constable will reach $97,206 and a Senior Constable Level 1 $121,054 "by 2027". Both match the 2026 loaded rates plus 5%, so a fourth 5% rise from 1 July 2027 looks intended. Here's what that would mean, on our calculation:
Probationary Constable Level 1
- Now (loaded)
- $92,576
- If +5% from Jul 2027: base
- $87,179
- Loaded (+11.5%)
- $97,205 calc
- Increase
- +$4,629 (5%)
Constable Level 5
- Now (loaded)
- $104,802
- If +5% from Jul 2027: base
- $98,693
- Loaded (+11.5%)
- $110,043 calc
- Increase
- +$5,241 (5%)
Senior Constable Level 1
- Now (loaded)
- $115,290
- If +5% from Jul 2027: base
- $108,569
- Loaded (+11.5%)
- $121,054 calc
- Increase
- +$5,764 (5%)
Senior Constable Level 5
- Now (loaded)
- $139,688
- If +5% from Jul 2027: base
- $131,545
- Loaded (+11.5%)
- $146,673 calc
- Increase
- +$6,985 (5%)
Sergeant Level 5
- Now (loaded)
- $157,203
- If +5% from Jul 2027: base
- $148,038
- Loaded (+11.5%)
- $165,062 calc
- Increase
- +$7,859 (5%)
| Rank and level | Now (loaded) | If +5% from Jul 2027: base | Loaded (+11.5%) | Increase |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Probationary Constable Level 1 | $92,576 | $87,179 | $97,205 calc | +$4,629 (5%) |
| Constable Level 5 | $104,802 | $98,693 | $110,043 calc | +$5,241 (5%) |
| Senior Constable Level 1 | $115,290 | $108,569 | $121,054 calc | +$5,764 (5%) |
| Senior Constable Level 5 | $139,688 | $131,545 | $146,673 calc | +$6,985 (5%) |
| Sergeant Level 5 | $157,203 | $148,038 | $165,062 calc | +$7,859 (5%) |
Calculated by us: 2026 base × 1.05, then × 1.115. The government's figures differ by a dollar or two because of rounding. Not in the award: treat as announced only.
Don't budget on July 2027 yet
Until a new award or variation is gazetted, the 2027 rise is a statement of intent. If you're planning a loan application or a move around mid-2027, use the current table. Your association, PANSW, will be the first to confirm the terms.
NSW police pay news timeline
Every item in our NSW data file, newest first.
- 1
Class 369 attests: 353 recruits, the largest class in 14 years
21 August 2026The first class from the Western Sydney University ADAP attested at Goulburn. The minister cited a 70% increase in applications.
- 2
5% pay rise for NCOs takes effect
1 July 2026The final gazetted rise under the 2024 award: NCOs 5%, Inspectors 3.5%, Superintendents 3%. Probationary Constable loaded pay is now $92,576.
- 3
Class 368: 349 recruits attest
May 2026Reported, not yet confirmed in an official document.
- 4
Class 367: 341 recruits attest
December 20251,255 additional recruits since the Nov 2024 pay rise, and more than 1,000 attested in 2025.
- 5
Award variation published
28 October 2025The variation made on 12 Sep 2025 renamed 'Year' to 'Level', corrected the 1 Jul 2025 Detectives table, replaced the parental leave clauses and updated travel, meal, remote-area and special-operations allowances.
- 6
2,472 police vacancies revealed at budget estimates
September 2025Authorised strength about 18,400 with about 15,900 posts filled; 3,150 officers on leave, about 1,300 of them on workers compensation.
- 7
Second 4% rise under the 2024 award
1 July 2025NCOs 4%, Inspectors 3%, Superintendents 3%. The 2024 deal (accepted Nov 2024 with 95.77% yes) gives NCOs 19% base over four years, NCO increases of 22.3%-39.4% and commissioned 20.5%-27.1%, a $5,400 retention payment, and is funded by bringing PBRI into government ownership as EPSS. Inside State Government reported a $697.6m package (not in the government release).
Recruitment numbers are part of the pay story. The government reported 1,255 additional recruits joining after the November 2024 pay rise (to December 2025), and Class 369 in August 2026 was the largest in 14 years. Budget estimates in September 2025 still showed 2,472 vacancies.
How the NSW deal compares with other forces
NSW's last gazetted rise was in July 2026, the same month as WA's last scheduled rise. Both deals end on 30 June 2027, so NSW and WA officers will be bargaining for new deals at about the same time. Other forces are mid-way through longer deals.
NSW
- Rises in the current deal
- 4%, 4%, 5% (NCOs)
- Deal ends
- 30 June 2027
- Details
- This page
Victoria
- Rises in the current deal
- 3% Schedule A steps to June 2027, plus phased allowances
- Deal ends
- 31 May 2028
- Details
- Victoria pay deal
Queensland
- Rises in the current deal
- 3.5% (after CPI uplift), 2.5%, 2.5% minimum
- Deal ends
- 30 June 2028
- Details
- Queensland pay deal
WA
- Rises in the current deal
- 5%, 4%, 3.75%
- Deal ends
- 30 June 2027
- Details
- WA pay deal
AFP
- Rises in the current deal
- 4.5%, 4%, 2.7%
- Deal ends
- 9 December 2027
- Details
- AFP pay deal
| Force | Rises in the current deal | Deal ends | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW | 4%, 4%, 5% (NCOs) | 30 June 2027 | This page |
| Victoria | 3% Schedule A steps to June 2027, plus phased allowances | 31 May 2028 | Victoria pay deal |
| Queensland | 3.5% (after CPI uplift), 2.5%, 2.5% minimum | 30 June 2028 | Queensland pay deal |
| WA | 5%, 4%, 3.75% | 30 June 2027 | WA pay deal |
| AFP | 4.5%, 4%, 2.7% | 9 December 2027 | AFP pay deal |
Headline percentages don't tell you who earns more, because the pay bases differ. NSW salaries include an 11.5% loading; Queensland's are base pay with a 21% shift allowance on top for most front-line officers. Compare like with like in the national police salary guide or the pay comparison calculator.
How to check you're being paid the right rate
Payroll errors happen, especially after a restructure. Work through this list with your latest payslip and the award table; it takes ten minutes.
- ✓ Your level matches your service and competencies under Table 1b (at least 12 months on each level, cl 64).
- ✓ Your base salary matches the 1 July 2026 table: Probationary Constable $83,028 base, Senior Constable Level 1 $103,399 base.
- ✓ Your loaded salary is base × 1.115 if you're an NCO.
- ✓ B shift allowance uses the Sergeant Level 5 rate, not your own (17.5% for shifts starting 16:00 to 03:59).
- ✓ Overtime is worked out on base salary plus super-attracting allowances, excluding the 11.5% loading.
- ✓ If you held Leading Senior Constable or an old Senior Constable step, check which Table 1a legacy rate applies until your next increment.
- ✓ The EPSS contribution is 1.8% of salary (0.88% for SASS/ABC members).
If something doesn't match, raise it with NSWPF payroll first and PANSW if it isn't fixed. Model the figures yourself with the overtime calculator.
Free email alerts
Get an alert the day the next NSW Police pay offer is published
The current award ends on 30 June 2027. We'll email you when negotiations start, when an offer is put to members, the vote result, and the day a new award is gazetted, with what it's worth at your level.
- ✓Offer details and vote result for NSW
- ✓Gazettal date and back pay timing
- ✓Your new rate at each level
Frequently asked questions
What pay rise did NSW police get in 2026?
Non-commissioned officers (Probationary Constable to Senior Sergeant) got 5% from the first full pay period on or after 1 July 2026. Inspectors got 3.5% and Superintendents 3%. A Probationary Constable's loaded salary rose to $92,576, and a Senior Constable Level 1's to $115,290.
Is there a NSW police pay rise in July 2027?
Not in the award as it stands. The award's tables stop at 1 July 2026 and it ends on 30 June 2027. The government has said a Probationary Constable will reach $97,206 'by 2027', which matches a further 5% rise, but that hasn't been gazetted. Treat it as announced, not guaranteed, until a new award or variation is published.
How long does it take to reach top Senior Constable pay in NSW?
Under the new Table 1b scale it's Probationary Constable plus Constable Levels 2 to 5, then Senior Constable Levels 1 to 5, with at least 12 months on each level and competency requirements. The government says that's about 10 years (previously 16); the Police Association and media say 9 years (previously 15).
Did NSW police get back pay for the 2024 award?
Yes. Members accepted the award in November 2024 and the rises were back-paid to 1 July 2024, the start of the award. Back pay covers the difference between the old and new rates for every pay period in between, including overtime calculated on base salary.
What happened to Police Blue Ribbon Insurance?
It was replaced from 1 October 2024 by the Enhanced Police Support Scheme (EPSS), and bringing it into government ownership helped fund the pay deal. EPSS tops up workers compensation for on-duty injury and keeps death cover, but has no TPD lump sum. Officers contribute 1.8% of salary (0.88% for SASS/ABC members).
Is Leading Senior Constable still a rank in NSW?
Not in the new Table 1b scales. Leading Senior Constable survives only as a preserved legacy rate in Table 1a for officers who held it, which applies until their next increment after 1 July 2024.
Why does the NSW Police recruiting site show lower pay?
As at 9 October 2026 the recruiting site's salary page still showed the 1 July 2025 rates (Probationary Constable $88,169). The award rate from 1 July 2026 is $92,576. The award is the legal source, so use it.
Who negotiates NSW police pay?
The Police Association of NSW (PANSW) bargains with the NSW Government. Members vote on the offer, and the award is made through the NSW Industrial Relations Commission and published in the NSW Industrial Gazette.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 397, 9 May 2025, pp 1238-1334 — pay tables, loading, shift allowance formula, term (cl 95.2)
- Variation to the Crown Employees (Police Officers - 2024) Award, made 12 Sep 2025, NSW Industrial Gazette Vol 398, 28 Oct 2025, pp 421-442 — Level renaming, Detectives correction, parental leave, allowances
- NSW Government media release: Historic award agreement accepted by NSW police officers — deal summary, 19% over four years, 2027 figures
- Police Association of NSW knowledge base KA-01420 (award ballot result) — ballot result and retention payment
- Police Association of NSW knowledge base KA-01397 (offer summary) — offer summary, shift penalty claim
- PANSW / NSWPF Enhanced Police Support Scheme FAQ v2 (21 Aug 2024) — EPSS replacing PBRI
- Inside State Government: Historic pay offer for NSW police — $697.6m package figure (secondary)
- NSW Police Force recruitment: Salary and benefits — recruiting site rates (out of date at 9 Oct 2026)
- NSW Government ministerial release: Police recruitment hits new high as third record-breaking class attests at Goulburn — recruitment after the pay rise
- AAP News: Thin blue line as police force struggles with vacancies — vacancies at Sep 2025 budget estimates
Related guides
Pay
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.