Where the SA Police pay deal stands in October 2026
There is a proposal, not a deal. Here's the difference, and why it matters for your pay.
On 16 September 2026 the Police Association of South Australia (PASA) announced it had secured the terms of a proposed new enterprise agreement for SA Police. PASA President Wade Burns called it "a generational agreement". It covers pay rises from January 2027 to January 2030 and a package of new allowances and conditions.
None of it applies yet. The agreement must first be voted on by members and then approved by the South Australian Employment Tribunal (SAET). As at 9 October 2026 we hadn't found a vote date, a vote result or a tribunal approval. Until those steps happen, your pay stays at the January 2026 rates, and no further rise is scheduled.
Your pay today
Jan 2026 rates
Probationary Constable $83,398
Next step
Member vote
date not yet published
Then
SAET approval
before the agreement binds
Don't budget on these rises yet
Everything on this page about 2027 to 2030 describes a proposal. Figures for those years are calculated by us at the 4% floor, and they could change if the final text differs, if members vote it down or if the tribunal doesn't approve it.
Latest
SA police pay vote 2026: what the proposed 4% a year deal is worth at every rank, and how the members' vote works.
Free email alerts
Get an alert the day the next SA Police pay offer is published
We'll email you when the member vote on the proposed SAPOL agreement opens, when the result is announced and when the SA Employment Tribunal approves it. Each email includes the new pay rates for your rank.
- ✓Vote dates and the result, the day they're public
- ✓New pay tables and back pay dates for your increment
- ✓The front-line allowance and on-call amounts once they're published
How SA police pay got here: the 2021 EA and the 2024 deal
SA Police pay is set by the South Australia Police Enterprise Agreement 2021, read with the Police Officers Award. SAET approved it on 23 March 2021 (matter ET-21-00375) for a three-year term from the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2021. Its salary schedules were varied on 13 April 2023 and again on 27 February 2024 (ET-24-00737).
The agreement's nominal term ended around January 2024, but it didn't stop working. It continues to operate, and pay since then has been topped up by a separate two-year deal between the SA Government and PASA, announced on 16 December 2024.
- 1
EA 2021 approved
23 March 2021SAET approves the SA Police Enterprise Agreement 2021 for three years from January 2021. It sets the shift loadings, the 23% Response Allowance, the 18.5% Flexible Shiftwork Allowance and the Hard to Fill country scheme that still apply today.
- 2
Salary schedules varied
April 2023 and February 2024The 2021 agreement's salary schedules are varied twice, the second time by SAET order ET-24-00737.
- 3
Two-year attraction and retention deal
16 December 2024The Government and PASA agree 4% from January 2025 plus a $2,500 police-specific retention salary increase, then 4% or adjustment to the national midpoint (whichever is higher) from January 2026 plus a $3,500 one-off payment. Junior cadet rates are abolished, and the deal commits to reforms of the extended-hours roster, travel and on-call allowances and regional incentives.
- 4
January 2026 rise paid
January 2026The second rise under the 2024 deal lifts a Probationary Constable to $83,398. SAPOL doesn't say which ranks got 4% and which got the higher midpoint adjustment.
- 5
New agreement proposed
16 September 2026PASA announces the terms of a proposed new enterprise agreement with four rises from January 2027. Subject to member vote and SAET approval.
We haven't found vote figures for the 2024 deal, and earlier pay tables (January 2025 and before) aren't in our sources, so this page doesn't show rate-by-rate history before January 2026.
What PASA's proposed agreement offers
PASA's announcement sets out four pay rises and a list of changes to allowances and conditions. The pay rises are clear. The allowance changes are described in words only, with no amounts or percentages published yet.
1 January 2027
- Proposed change
- 4% from the first full pay period on or after 1 Jan 2027
- Status
- Proposed only
1 January 2028
- Proposed change
- 4% or the police-specific inter-jurisdictional midpoint, if greater, from 1 Jan 2028.
- Status
- Proposed only
1 January 2029
- Proposed change
- 4% from 1 Jan 2029.
- Status
- Proposed only
1 January 2030
- Proposed change
- 4% or the midpoint, if greater, from 1 Jan 2030
- Status
- Proposed only
| From | Proposed change | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 1 January 2027 | 4% from the first full pay period on or after 1 Jan 2027 | Proposed only |
| 1 January 2028 | 4% or the police-specific inter-jurisdictional midpoint, if greater, from 1 Jan 2028. | Proposed only |
| 1 January 2029 | 4% from 1 Jan 2029. | Proposed only |
| 1 January 2030 | 4% or the midpoint, if greater, from 1 Jan 2030 | Proposed only |
Each date is the first full pay period on or after 1 January of that year. Source: PASA, 16 September 2026. Not ratified.
The conditions package
- A new percentage-based allowance for experienced uniform front-line operational police.
- Substantially improved specialist allowances.
- A redesigned on-call model.
- Better regional and remote incentives, including Level 3 Hard to Fill incentives for Coober Pedy.
- Improved career progression, flexible and extended-hours rostering, family and work-life changes, long service leave cash-out and fatigue protections.
The pay rises are written down. The allowances are only described. Ask for the numbers before you vote.
What the proposed rises would be worth at each rank
Calculated by us from SAPOL's January 2026 rates, at the 4% floor for every year.
The table applies four 4% rises in a row to the current rates, rounding to the dollar each year. In 2028 and 2030 the real rise could be higher if the midpoint is greater, so treat these as the minimum the proposal promises, not a forecast. SAPOL only publishes the lowest and highest increment of each rank, so we show those rather than guessing the steps in between.
Probationary Constable
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $83,398
- Jan 2027
- $86,734
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $90,203
- Jan 2029
- $93,811
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $97,563
- Total gain
- $14,165
Constable, increment 1
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $86,125
- Jan 2027
- $89,570
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $93,153
- Jan 2029
- $96,879
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $100,754
- Total gain
- $14,629
Constable, increment 7
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $102,491
- Jan 2027
- $106,591
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $110,855
- Jan 2029
- $115,289
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $119,901
- Total gain
- $17,410
Senior Constable, increment 6
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $117,542
- Jan 2027
- $122,244
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $127,134
- Jan 2029
- $132,219
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $137,508
- Total gain
- $19,966
Senior Constable 1st Class, increment 6
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $120,453
- Jan 2027
- $125,271
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $130,282
- Jan 2029
- $135,493
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $140,913
- Total gain
- $20,460
Sergeant, increment 5
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $135,363
- Jan 2027
- $140,778
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $146,409
- Jan 2029
- $152,265
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $158,356
- Total gain
- $22,993
Senior Sergeant, increment 5
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $149,806
- Jan 2027
- $155,798
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $162,030
- Jan 2029
- $168,511
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $175,251
- Total gain
- $25,445
Inspector, increment 1
- Now (Jan 2026)
- $168,670
- Jan 2027
- $175,417
- Jan 2028 (min)
- $182,434
- Jan 2029
- $189,731
- Jan 2030 (min)
- $197,320
- Total gain
- $28,650
| Rank and increment | Now (Jan 2026) | Jan 2027 | Jan 2028 (min) | Jan 2029 | Jan 2030 (min) | Total gain |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Probationary Constable | $83,398 | $86,734 | $90,203 | $93,811 | $97,563 | $14,165 |
| Constable, increment 1 | $86,125 | $89,570 | $93,153 | $96,879 | $100,754 | $14,629 |
| Constable, increment 7 | $102,491 | $106,591 | $110,855 | $115,289 | $119,901 | $17,410 |
| Senior Constable, increment 6 | $117,542 | $122,244 | $127,134 | $132,219 | $137,508 | $19,966 |
| Senior Constable 1st Class, increment 6 | $120,453 | $125,271 | $130,282 | $135,493 | $140,913 | $20,460 |
| Sergeant, increment 5 | $135,363 | $140,778 | $146,409 | $152,265 | $158,356 | $22,993 |
| Senior Sergeant, increment 5 | $149,806 | $155,798 | $162,030 | $168,511 | $175,251 | $25,445 |
| Inspector, increment 1 | $168,670 | $175,417 | $182,434 | $189,731 | $197,320 | $28,650 |
Base salary only; shift loadings and allowances are paid on top. Four 4% rises compound to 16.99%. Not ratified: these figures apply only if the agreement is approved as announced.
What the first rise means each fortnight
Probationary Constable
- First rise, a year
- $3,336
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $128
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $87
Constable, increment 1
- First rise, a year
- $3,445
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $133
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $90
Constable, increment 7
- First rise, a year
- $4,100
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $158
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $107
Senior Constable, increment 6
- First rise, a year
- $4,702
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $181
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $123
Senior Constable 1st Class, increment 6
- First rise, a year
- $4,818
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $185
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $126
Sergeant, increment 5
- First rise, a year
- $5,415
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $208
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $127
Senior Sergeant, increment 5
- First rise, a year
- $5,992
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $230
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $141
Inspector, increment 1
- First rise, a year
- $6,747
- Per fortnight, before tax
- $260
- Per fortnight, after tax
- $158
| Rank and increment | First rise, a year | Per fortnight, before tax | Per fortnight, after tax |
|---|---|---|---|
| Probationary Constable | $3,336 | $128 | $87 |
| Constable, increment 1 | $3,445 | $133 | $90 |
| Constable, increment 7 | $4,100 | $158 | $107 |
| Senior Constable, increment 6 | $4,702 | $181 | $123 |
| Senior Constable 1st Class, increment 6 | $4,818 | $185 | $126 |
| Sergeant, increment 5 | $5,415 | $208 | $127 |
| Senior Sergeant, increment 5 | $5,992 | $230 | $141 |
| Inspector, increment 1 | $6,747 | $260 | $158 |
Fortnightly figures divide the annual amount by 26. After-tax uses 2026-27 resident rates and the 2% Medicare levy, with no HELP debt, so it's a guide only.
The rise is a percentage of base salary, but any allowance paid as a percentage of salary rises with it. Take a Senior Constable on increment 6 working the metropolitan Response Extended Hours Roster, which pays a 23% all-inclusive Response Allowance on base salary (EA cl 31). Base plus allowance is $144,577 now and would be $150,360 after the first rise: $5,783 more a year, not just $4,702.
See your own SAPOL take-home pay
Pick SA, your rank and roster, and add overtime. The calculator shows what lands in your account each fortnight under 2026-27 tax.
The midpoint clause, and why PASA quotes 28% to 31%
Two of the four proposed rises, January 2028 and January 2030, are "4% or the police-specific inter-jurisdictional midpoint, if greater". In plain terms, SA's rise in those years is meant to keep pace with what police in other states are being paid, with 4% as the floor.
PASA's announcement doesn't publish the midpoint formula: which forces it compares, which ranks, or when the comparison is measured. The 2024 deal had a similar test for January 2026 (4% or adjustment to the national midpoint), and SAPOL doesn't say which ranks got more than 4% under it. That's a good reason to ask how the new test will be measured and published.
Four proposed rises at 4%
17.0%
Jan 2027 to Jan 2030, compounded
Six rises at 4%
26.5%
Jan 2025 to Jan 2030, compounded
PASA's total
28.11–31.48%
Jan 2025 to Jan 2030, by rank
Why is PASA's figure higher than six 4% rises? The January 2025 rise came with a flat $2,500 retention salary increase, which is worth more in percentage terms to lower-paid ranks, and the January 2026 rise could exceed 4% under the midpoint test. That's our reading of the gap: PASA hasn't published its workings. The release also refers to a separate $3,500 retention payment. The 2024 deal included a $3,500 one-off payment in January 2026, and it isn't clear whether the release means that payment or a new one.
Allowances, on call and regional incentives: what would change
The allowance side of the proposal could matter as much as the percentages, particularly for country officers and long-serving patrol members. Here is what applies now under the 2021 agreement, so you can judge any new figures when they appear.
On call, single night or between shifts
- Current amount
- $33.65 per on-call period (rate from 1 Oct 2019; current indexed rate not verified)
- What the proposal says
- A redesigned on-call model; details not published
On call, weekend, public holiday or day off
- Current amount
- $58.85 per on-call period (rate from 1 Oct 2019; current indexed rate not verified)
- What the proposal says
- As above
Long-term patrol, Tier 1 (8+ years in 24/7 patrol)
- Current amount
- $1,613 a year (from 1 Jan 2024)
- What the proposal says
- A new percentage-based allowance for experienced uniform front-line police; whether it replaces this is not stated
Response Allowance (metro REHR)
- Current amount
- 23% of base salary, all-inclusive
- What the proposal says
- Not mentioned specifically
Hard to Fill Level 1 lifestyle payment
- Current amount
- $3,334 (from 1 Jan 2024)
- What the proposal says
- Better regional and remote incentives
Hard to Fill Level 2 lifestyle payment
- Current amount
- $7,902 (from 1 Jan 2024)
- What the proposal says
- As above
Hard to Fill Level 3
- Current amount
- Attraction and retention payment (amount uncertain in our scanned copy)
- What the proposal says
- Level 3 incentives extended to Coober Pedy
| Current allowance (EA 2021) | Current amount | What the proposal says |
|---|---|---|
| On call, single night or between shifts | $33.65 per on-call period (rate from 1 Oct 2019; current indexed rate not verified) | A redesigned on-call model; details not published |
| On call, weekend, public holiday or day off | $58.85 per on-call period (rate from 1 Oct 2019; current indexed rate not verified) | As above |
| Long-term patrol, Tier 1 (8+ years in 24/7 patrol) | $1,613 a year (from 1 Jan 2024) | A new percentage-based allowance for experienced uniform front-line police; whether it replaces this is not stated |
| Response Allowance (metro REHR) | 23% of base salary, all-inclusive | Not mentioned specifically |
| Hard to Fill Level 1 lifestyle payment | $3,334 (from 1 Jan 2024) | Better regional and remote incentives |
| Hard to Fill Level 2 lifestyle payment | $7,902 (from 1 Jan 2024) | As above |
| Hard to Fill Level 3 | Attraction and retention payment (amount uncertain in our scanned copy) | Level 3 incentives extended to Coober Pedy |
Allowance amounts in the 2021 EA run to 1 January 2024; later indexation isn't confirmed. On-call rates shown are the 2019 base rates, which are indexed, so the amounts paid now are higher.
What looks promising
- ✓A percentage-based front-line allowance would rise with every future pay rise, unlike a flat dollar amount
- ✓On-call rates set in 2019 have long been a sore point, and the 2024 deal already committed to reform
- ✓Coober Pedy moving into Level 3 incentives is a concrete regional change
What's still missing
- ✕No allowance percentages or dollar amounts have been published
- ✕Eligibility for the front-line allowance (years of service, roles) isn't defined publicly
- ✕Fatigue protections and LSL cash-out depend entirely on the clause wording
How the deal becomes binding: member vote and SAET approval
SA Police are covered by South Australia's state industrial system, not the federal Fair Work Commission. That means the proposal goes through SA's own process before it changes your pay.
- 1
Terms agreed in principle
DonePASA and the Government settle the headline terms. This is where things stood from 16 September 2026.
- 2
Final agreement text
Watch for itThe terms are written up as a full enterprise agreement. The detail of the new allowances, the midpoint formula and the operative dates will be in this document.
- 3
Member vote
Date not publishedMembers covered by the agreement vote on it. PASA hasn't published the timetable in its announcement.
- 4
Application to SAET
Tribunal testIf members approve, the agreement goes to the South Australian Employment Tribunal. Under the Fair Work Act 1994 (SA), the tribunal must be satisfied that a majority of employees gave informed and genuine consent, that the agreement is in their best interests and that, as a package, it isn't inferior to the award.
- 5
Approval and first pay rise
Proposed Jan 2027Once approved, the agreement applies. The first proposed rise is from the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2027.
What happens if members vote no
The current agreement keeps operating, as it has since its nominal term ended in early 2024, and pay stays at January 2026 rates until a new deal is reached. In other states, rejected offers have gone back to the table: Tasmanian officers rejected two offers in 2025 before accepting a third, and NT members voted 81% against an offer before backing a better one. See the Tasmania Police pay deal and NT Police pay deal for how those played out.
Back pay and timing: what happens if approval runs past January
The first proposed rise is tied to a date, the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2027, rather than to the date the tribunal approves the agreement. If the vote and the SAET hearing finish before then, the rise should simply appear in your first January pay.
If approval runs into 2027, the question is whether the rise is still paid from January, as arrears, or only from approval. PASA's announcement doesn't say. That depends on the agreement's operative-date wording, so check it in the final text.
If back pay applies, check that it covers
- ✓ Base salary from the operative date, not the approval date
- ✓ Percentage allowances calculated on salary, such as the 23% Response Allowance, the 18.5% Flexible Shiftwork Allowance and shift loadings
- ✓ Overtime worked in the arrears period, which is calculated on the salary rate
- ✓ Higher duties and acting pay
- ✓ Anyone who left, retired or was promoted during the arrears period
Back pay is taxed when it's paid, using the ATO's method for back payments, so a single payslip can look heavily taxed. It evens out at tax time. To see the steady-state effect of a rise on your fortnightly pay, use the take-home pay calculator with the new salary.
What to check before you vote
The proposal sets your pay rises until 2030, so it's worth reading closely. These are the questions this proposal leaves open, based on what PASA has published so far.
- ✓ The midpoint formula for 2028 and 2030: which forces, which ranks, and when it's measured
- ✓ The front-line allowance: its percentage, who qualifies and whether it replaces the long-term patrol allowance
- ✓ The on-call model: the new rates and how often you can be rostered on call
- ✓ Regional incentives: Hard to Fill amounts by level and which stations move level
- ✓ The operative date and whether the first rise is backdated if approval is late
- ✓ The agreement's end date and when bargaining for the next one must start
- ✓ Whether the $3,500 retention payment PASA mentions is new money
- ✓ LSL cash-out rules and any limits on fatigue protections
A percentage floor is a guarantee. A midpoint test is only as good as its formula.
How the SA proposal compares with Tasmania, the NT and the AFP
The smaller jurisdictions have taken very different routes in the last two years. SA's proposal is the only one of the four not yet in force, and the only one that runs to 2030.
SAPOL
- Instrument
- SA Police EA 2021 + Dec 2024 two-year deal
- Last rise
- 4% or national midpoint, Jan 2026
- Next rise
- None scheduled. Proposed 4% from Jan 2027 is not agreed
- End of deal
- Proposed new EA would run to Jan 2030 rise
- First-year constable base now
- $83,398
- Instrument
- Police Award No. 2 of 2026
- Last rise
- 3%, Dec 2025
- Next rise
- 3% from first full pay period on or after 1 Dec 2026
- End of deal
- Last scheduled rise 2.75%, Dec 2027
- First-year constable base now
- $73,518
- Instrument
- NTPF Consent Agreement 2025
- Last rise
- 4%, about Aug 2026 (date inferred)
- Next rise
- 3%, about Aug 2027 (date inferred)
- End of deal
- 3% or CPI if higher, about Aug 2028
- First-year constable base now
- $87,005
- Instrument
- AFP Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027
- Last rise
- 4.0%, 9 Dec 2025
- Next rise
- 2.7%, 9 Dec 2026
- End of deal
- Nominal expiry 9 Dec 2027
- First-year constable base now
- $72,317
| Force | Instrument | Last rise | Next rise | End of deal | First-year constable base now |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAPOL | SA Police EA 2021 + Dec 2024 two-year deal | 4% or national midpoint, Jan 2026 | None scheduled. Proposed 4% from Jan 2027 is not agreed | Proposed new EA would run to Jan 2030 rise | $83,398 |
| Tasmania Police | Police Award No. 2 of 2026 | 3%, Dec 2025 | 3% from first full pay period on or after 1 Dec 2026 | Last scheduled rise 2.75%, Dec 2027 | $73,518 |
| NT Police | NTPF Consent Agreement 2025 | 4%, about Aug 2026 (date inferred) | 3%, about Aug 2027 (date inferred) | 3% or CPI if higher, about Aug 2028 | $87,005 |
| AFP | AFP Enterprise Agreement 2024-2027 | 4.0%, 9 Dec 2025 | 2.7%, 9 Dec 2026 | Nominal expiry 9 Dec 2027 | $72,317 |
First-year figures are base salary before loadings or allowances, so they aren't like-for-like. NT dates are inferred from the agreement's start date.
At 4% a year, SA's proposal would be ahead of Tasmania's 3%, 3% and 2.75% and the AFP's final 2.7% rise. The NT's 2025 agreement front-loads 5% and 4% and then drops to 3%. Read the AFP pay deal page for the Commonwealth picture. For the other four forces, see the police pay deal tracker, which shows the status of every agreement in Australia, and compare current pay scales in police pay in Australia 2026.
SA police pay news timeline
Pay and workforce news for SAPOL from our data file, newest first. We update this page when the vote opens and when SAET rules. For recruitment, pay and conditions in one place, see our South Australia Police hub.
- 1
27 more experienced officers sworn in
9 October 2026207 officers have now graduated through the SAPOL Transition Program in two years, averaging 8+ years' frontline experience, with 43 serving regionally. STP Course 11 includes Met Police officers posted to Coober Pedy.
- 2
PASA secures terms of a proposed new enterprise agreement
16 September 2026Four increases of 4% (or the midpoint, if greater, in 2028 and 2030) from Jan 2027 to Jan 2030, a new front-line allowance, a redesigned on-call model and better regional incentives. Subject to member vote and SAET ratification; not yet in force.
- 3
SAPOL reaches 200 experienced recruits
28 June 2026SAPOL reported 200 experienced international and interstate recruits, 800+ officers sworn in since 2023, full establishment for the first time since 2018 and (its own claim) the highest sworn police per capita of any state.
- 4
Second increase under the 2024 deal
1 January 20264% or adjustment to the national midpoint (whichever is higher), plus a $3,500 one-off payment. Probationary Constable now $83,398.
- 5
SAPOL Recruitment Test simplified
14 April 2025Spelling and numeracy were removed, leaving reading and writing, and exemptions were widened.
- 6
First experienced officers graduate from the transition drive
4 March 2025The first 15 experienced officers from the international and interstate drive graduated after 15 weeks; the target was 200 experienced officers.
- 7
Government and PASA agree a 2-year pay deal
16 December 20244% from Jan 2025 plus a $2,500 retention salary increase; 4% or the national midpoint from Jan 2026 plus a $3,500 one-off payment; reforms to the extended-hours roster, travel and on-call allowances and regional incentives; junior cadet rates abolished.
Free email alerts
Get an alert the day the next SA Police pay offer is published
We'll email you when the member vote on the proposed SAPOL agreement opens, when the result is announced and when the SA Employment Tribunal approves it. Each email includes the new pay rates for your rank.
- ✓Vote dates and the result, the day they're public
- ✓New pay tables and back pay dates for your increment
- ✓The front-line allowance and on-call amounts once they're published
Frequently asked questions
Have SA Police accepted the new pay deal?
Not as at 9 October 2026. PASA announced the terms of a proposed enterprise agreement on 16 September 2026, but it must go to a member vote and then be approved by the South Australian Employment Tribunal before it applies. We hadn't found a vote result or tribunal approval by 9 October 2026. Check PASA for the vote timetable.
How much is the SA Police pay rise in 2027?
The proposal is 4% from the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2027, if the agreement is approved. For a Probationary Constable on $83,398 that would be $3,336 a year. For a Senior Constable on the top increment ($117,542) it would be $4,702. These are our calculations from SAPOL's published January 2026 rates.
What is the 'midpoint' in the SA Police pay offer?
In 2028 and 2030 the rise is 4% or the police-specific inter-jurisdictional midpoint, whichever is higher. PASA's announcement doesn't publish how the midpoint is calculated or which forces it uses. The previous deal had a similar mechanism for January 2026 (4% or the national midpoint). Ask PASA for the formula before you vote.
Will SA Police get back pay if the deal is approved late?
PASA's announcement doesn't say. The first proposed rise is dated from the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2027. If the agreement is approved after that, whether the rise is paid back to January depends on the agreement's wording. Check the operative date clause in the final text before you vote.
What is the PASA 28.11% to 31.48% figure?
PASA says total salary growth between January 2025 and January 2030 is at least 28.11% to 31.48%, depending on rank and increment. That counts the two rises under the December 2024 deal (including the $2,500 retention increase) as well as the four proposed rises. Six straight 4% rises compound to 26.5%, so the flat $2,500 and any midpoint adjustments make up the rest (our reading).
What new allowances are in the proposed SAPOL agreement?
PASA lists a new percentage-based allowance for experienced uniform front-line operational police, improved specialist allowances, a redesigned on-call model, better regional and remote incentives (including Level 3 incentives for Coober Pedy), more flexible rostering, long service leave cash-out and fatigue protections. No percentages or dollar amounts have been published.
What do SA Police earn now?
From January 2026, a Cadet earns $71,872, a Probationary Constable $83,398 and a Constable $86,125 to $102,491. Shift loadings and allowances are paid on top, such as the 23% Response Allowance for metropolitan response teams.
Who approves an SA Police enterprise agreement?
The South Australian Employment Tribunal (SAET). Under SA's Fair Work Act 1994, the tribunal must be satisfied that a majority of employees gave informed and genuine consent, that the agreement is in their best interests, and that, as a package, it isn't inferior to the award. The current agreement was approved by SAET in March 2021.
Evidence
Sources and how we checked them
Every figure on this page comes from the sources below, read on 9 October 2026. Pay rates and rules change when new agreements are made, so check the source for the date you're reading this. Where we couldn't confirm something from an official source, the page says so instead of guessing. Spotted an error? Read our corrections policy.
- PASA via Medianet: PASA secures landmark enterprise agreement for South Australia Police (16 Sep 2026) — proposed rises, PASA's 28.11-31.48% total, the conditions package, the vote and SAET steps
- AGD SA: New agreement to attract and retain police (16 Dec 2024) — the 2025-2026 deal
- South Australia Police Enterprise Agreement 2021 (SAET ET-21-00375) — current allowances and conditions; scanned PDF read by OCR
- AGD SA: ET-24-00737 SA Police Enterprise Agreement 2021 Variation — February 2024 salary schedule variation
- SAPOL: Career progression and salaries — January 2026 pay rates
- SAPOL: International applicants FAQ — dates the Probationary Constable rate to 1 January 2026
- Law Handbook SA: Enterprise agreements — SAET approval tests under the Fair Work Act 1994 (SA)
- ATO: Tax rates for Australian residents 2026-27 — after-tax value of each rise
Related guides
Pay
More in this series
General information, not advice. This guide explains published rules and rates. It doesn't consider your personal circumstances and isn't financial, legal, tax or credit advice. Confirm anything you rely on with your force, your police association, the ATO or a licensed professional.